We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Playa Carmel
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$159
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$150
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$183
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$147
$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$520
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$415
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (955)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveler rating
587
224
90
31
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
224
90
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne breakfastcookies and milkfree shuttleevening wine tastingshuttle servicewaffle stationno elevatorgarden roomhotel barbeautiful hotelocean viewtwo blocksbreakfast was amazingbeautiful groundsthe hotel offersluxury hotelcommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
867 - 872 of 955 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel was the perfect base for a Carmel,Big Sur and Monterey Photography Vacation.It reminds me of a different era- a classic timeless property with all the modern amenities.The staff was unobtrusive and gave all the privacy I wanted- but they were there for help with dinner resvations and trip planning when I wanted it.They just opened after a renovation.My room was beautiful and the view was great.The Gardens are truly inspirational,Great pool.Breakfast is great and the Bartender Joe was a standout.I will be going back

Room Tip: Corners Have a great view of the gardens
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ghostdancin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Apparently this hotel just went through a complete renovation and they did a phenomenal job. They kept some of the original antiques and artwork and combined them with one of the most comfortable mattresses I've ever slept on. The grounds are just beautiful- flowers, pool area, courtyards and the staff was fantastic.

A very unique homemade breakfast is included in the rate and is served on a terrace with an ocean view! We walked about a block down the hill and were on a beautiful beach and were able to walk maybe a half mile to Pebble Beach and watch the golfers.

I only wish we had more time to enjoy all this charming hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hard2please9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at La Playa. The room was beautiful and new without losing any of the charm. The grounds are fabulous and the courtyard in the back is great. Breakfast came with the room and everything was fresh and delicious. They couldn't do enough to make our stay terrific.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mamamareaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

A wonderful place to step back in time. Beautiful grounds, amazing Holiday brunches and overall pleasant experience out of the bustle of downtown Carmel.

Room Tip: Make sure you direct an inside room and let them know you don't want a room that is too small. Some of the rooms are just too tight!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gourmands155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

When we booked this hotel we thought it would be in the main lodge but it was actually off the property in a little group of villas(hotel's term for small separate rooms). It was an older room that was on the second floor with a drop ceiling. I felt very small in there. The room did not have anything updated. The bed was hard and the bathroom was cold with a bath/shower combination. The floor was carpet and I think it had gum stuck to it. For the amount of money spent on this I would expect better service. The only good thing about this hotel was that it was 2 blocks away from the beach and 3 blocks off Ocean drive.

Room Tip: Stay @ main hotel because the swimming pool is there and so is the room service. We ordered ours and it took a while to get to us. Food quality and tatse is ok.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BorenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews