We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine place to stay!”
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hofsas House Hotel
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A fine place to stay!”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed at teh Hofsas House during the US OPEN at Pebble Beach, so needless to say it was the only hotel we could get - or afford. But we were satisfied. Room decor and bedding was older but fine for 2 nights. Large bathroom and we had all the needed amenities. The pool is heated, but we didn't have time for it. The hotel is on the outskirts of carmel, but i was 20weeks pregnant and the couple of extra blocks to walk was not a problem for me. It was still within walking distance to everything and it was very quiet. We could see a bit of the ocean from our door. Parking is a bit tricky so I recommend a small car. The staff was super nice and very helpful. The free tour trolley also stops right in front of the hotel. If you're looking to stay in the lap of luxury - this is not the place. But if you just need the basics - it's perfect!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake&Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    172
    69
    30
    11
See reviews for
98
189
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We chose Hofsas House after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. We arrived about 7pm after a long drive and the receptionist was very helpful. We got checked in no problems and had a room upgrade which was nice. We were given advice on where to eat, maps & info on Carmel which was great. Our room was on the top floor looking over the pines to the ocean - very pleasant. The complimentary breakfast was adequate and you could either sit in the lounge or take a tray back to your room. Hofsas House is ideally located for walking into the center of things and is only a few blocks from the fab beach. We made use of the pool which was nice and in a quiet area of the hotel. Overall it was a pleasant place to stay and would stay there again if back in Carmel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigHScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

The 2 main reasons we chose this hotel:
1) Dog Friendly without paying a high price
2) Great Value/Price for the location and amenities; walking distance to town & beach, has 2 saunas & pool

FYI: The "Continental Breakfast" is pretty lackluster; packaged pastries and cookies.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralValleyCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stumbld upon the Hofsas House in Carmel and fell in love in love with its European charm and helpful staff. My wife and I spent the weekend in a charming ocean view room with a fireplace. The weather was perfect for sipping wine on the balcony watching the ocean at sunset. We highly recommend the Hofsas House.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenoM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2010

This hotel has got to be one of the worst I have stayed in. The rooms are old, decor dated and there was a terrible sewage like smell around the rooms located at the far end of the building. The TV didn't work and the 'heated' pool was cold and had seen better days. It did have two redeeming qualities, the frendliness of the staff and it's location. Would this be enough to make me want to stay there again? Absolutely not.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dozza68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

My wife and I went to Carmel for our 30th anniversay. The Hofsas House was perfect in every regard. We stayed in room 33 -- King Bed w/ patio and kitchenette.
Full refregereator and 10 cup coffee maker!
Walking distance to most of carmels shops. A bit of a walk if you want to go to the beach-- about 1/2 mile downhill. Coming back would be all uphill -- and steep!

The staff were very friendly and informative -- offering discount coupons and local insite as to where to eat and dress codes-- as well as local 'trivia'.

I've read the reviews that say this place is old and in need of repar. I discount that and say it is an older place- true -- but it is clean, well run and a great location for the price.

The room we had was large, with a separate kitchenette w/ a table and full size refrigerator and a full size 10 cup coffe maker. The kitchenette also had silverware and dishes-- although we did not use them.

The room looks out over the parking lot to the ocean. Great view.

For Carmel this is a jewel of a place and a great rate!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamminj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

I have been traveling to the town of Carmel since 1970 and have noticed that much of the area has changed. Still, residential houses still have no numbered addresses (really); the roads make no sense at all at night; and last I checked the beach still had the silky white sands. Finding that "old school Carmel charm is something that I like to do, and the Hofsas House is perfect for that. My family and I have stayed in Carmel houses -- and the Hofsas House was constructed by the same architects that built many of the surrounding homes. Conveniently located just blocks from excellent food, art galleries and shopping, it is clean, very budget orientented and has a swimming pool. Consider this: continental breakfast is included; staff will greet you and smile; the rooms are sized comfortably; many rooms have balconies (top floors can see the ocean); parking is convenient and included (for shoppers). Fireplaces in some rooms. If you want to sleep in a charmless chain hotel, perhaps try staying in San Jose. Locals don't travel to Carmel to watch TV. Remember that.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEKonrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
593 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Property: Hofsas House Hotel
Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing