We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hofsas House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$159
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$150
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$183
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$147
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$199
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$520
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveler rating
131
181
74
32
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
181
74
32
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastriesbavarian styledutch doorstop floorbit datedcontinental breakfastcoffee and juicetwo bedroom suiteview of the oceanthe main streettwo nightsquaint hotelfew blockscarmel by the seabeds were comfortableshops and restaurantsgas fire
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 429 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Fresno
13
Reviewed January 2, 2006

We stayed at the Hofsas House for our anniversary strictly because it was "dog friendly" and we didn't know where else to stay.
Lets just call this hotel "very basic" and not kept up. The screen was off of our window (my husband fixed it), and you could hear everything outside. Obviously hasn't been upgraded in years and years. Looks like somebody vomited on the wall. Bad wallpaper. If you want a clean motel six type, this is your place. Staff are extremely friendly, that is a plus.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Maine
326
Reviewed November 20, 2005

Stayed for 4 nights at the Hofsas House in a family suite (3 adults, 2 kids). Very friendly, nice staff, good and quiet location (easy walk to downtown), very family-friendly. The rooms were huge, and we appreciated the refrigerator, microwave and full-size coffee maker. The on-site parking situation was a little tricky; and the endless staircases reminds one of the Winchester Mystery House (!). Also, there was a funky odor in our suite that, despite the staff's attempts, never went away. Overall a very friendly place -- but the quirks make us unsure if we'll stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2005

This is the 5th year we have returned to Hofsas House for the annual Changing Seasons art and wine walk. This hotel is simple but friendly. Most importantly, we always feel safe here. The staff is genuinely friendly, and afer the second year they remembered us and gave us the same room.

While the site rambles over its geography - that is part of its charm. Centrally located and yet almost in the residential area makes it a perfect spot.

It is not fancy and the furnishings are eclectic and sparse - but I find that charming. Overall it is clean, safe, intruguing, friendly, centrally located, and enjoyable.

It is not the place to stay if you want four star service and amenities - but it is the place to stay if you want comfort and quiet.

Highly recommend the Pasta House Restaurant across the street!

Stayed: October 2005
4  Thank Coleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2005

Stayed here in November 2004.

It is a Motel in theme and nature,and with none of the hospitality as would come from staying in good Irish Guesthouses.Our room was accessed by going outside from Reception area and then going down a steed drive to parking lot, and then up 2 flights of stairs.
As we are involved in the hospitality trade in Ireland, we were absolutely astonished by lack of Lifts (escalators)in vast amount of American lodgings given the constant moan we get about same,on Americans visting Ireland!!Hofsa would be a big big problem for those with mobility problems.

Room was good, considering we got a very good 2 night deal,( amazed in turn on reading what others paid!!A serious bit of R.O.U.S.A. - Rip off U.S.A.!!).
With a Queen bed ,tidy bathroom ,and facing out onto Pool,Room was very clean and tidy ,comparable with good 3* Irish guesthouse standards.One thing to note is that because of walk-way outside, noise from people tramping up and down is very loud, so (like us ) have Ear plugs packed!

Pool is no different from anywhere in the rest of the World! Cold and unusable.Stuck a toe in and that was that.Only thing missing was the usual Californian excuse to dodge heating the water, with no "out of season " sign, as found in most other places we stayed.

Breakfast is to be had within reception area and Guests could "treat themselves" to tea/coffee, some buns and a Bowl of apples! As the idea with this is not to have any Breakfast with them , this shoves cost of staying within U.S. Hotels/B&Bs/Motels up enormously compared to an Irish experiance, as you then have to go out and spend extra to have a decent breakfast.

Overall if you price it well as we did , it is a good choice and we would return on that basis.

Carmel is an odd place with an eerie ahtmosphere,both day and night.Nobody seems to live in the tiny houses,fenced and gated off from outside intrusion and only general repair and maintainance people to be found around.At night , the town has no street lighting system off the 2 or 3 main streets, and it has a very 'Horror Film' feeling. The Beach is fantastic with soft sand and very well kept and maintained.Art galleries are numerous and with price tags to open your eyes! Some tremendous Art though.

Restaurants close early during November in Carmel and we had to make do with Pub grub 1st night and eating earlier than usual next night.Would certainly recommend a 2 day minimum stay to enjoy Carmel and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pkpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2005

We weren't too sure about where to stay in Carmel for our three nights, but were glad we stayed here. The room was out the back on a second level. The barn style door took some getting used to, a sight rarely seen in Australia. The room was a cross between an Australian style B&B motel, and your normal Californian motel. The room was very clean, and was decorated with interesting furniture. Although the site here is very steep, it is easy to get around. It is also well located to the main area, including galleries and eateries.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SSThunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews