We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hofsas House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $449/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$187
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quail Lodge & Golf Club(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$355
$249
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $296/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$599
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$600
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$710
$629
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveler rating
134
182
74
32
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
182
74
32
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastriesbavarian styledutch doorstop floorbit datedcontinental breakfastcoffee and juicetwo bedroom suiteview of the oceanthe main streettwo nightsquaint hotelfew blocksbeds were comfortablecarmel by the seashops and restaurantsgas fire
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 433 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We loved our stay at the Hofsas House. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was spotless and cheerful. We loved that it was walking distance to the shops and the ocean. We stay there atleast once a year.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawaiiannana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We only decided to take a short weekend trip to Carmel. Since we were only staying Saturday night, we didn't expect we would get a whole lot of choices. Hofsas House was available and was very reasonable priced. So, we booked.

We were pleasantly surprised and delighted how centrally located Hofsas House and yet it was in a very quiet part of town. When we checked in, we were told by Carrie that we were upgraded to a suite. Don't expect too much. It's not a suite as you would expect at a traditional hotel. However, I was awed by the view and added amenities in our "suite".

Overall, my companion and I had a great experience, especially waking up to the beautiful sun and view of the ocean outside our window.

Yes, indeed, it's a motel, inn, lodge, bed and breakfast, etc. It's basically not a hotel. But in Carmel-by-the-Sea, it's pretty awesome without paying an arm and a leg.

I would definitely recommend it if you are not looking for anything fancy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magsney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

This visit was our second visit to Hofsas House. We returned because of the affordability, the proximity to the delights of Carmel, and the gracious hospitality of the staff. We enjoyed the views as well, and took a short walk to eat at The Forge (which we found quite affordable with very good food).

Carrie and the entire staff work very hard to make their guest's stay a pleasant experience...we appreciate them for ensuring our stay was pleasantly memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemanSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We arrived in Carmel without any reservations and the Hofsas House was the first hotel we came to. They offered us a king room for $99 or a larger room with fireplace and view of the ocean for $130 which we accepted.

Although we were there in July it was quite chilly at night so we did actually use the fire. The room was ok but the bathroom could do with being updated.

There is no breakfast room so you have to go to reception to collect breakfast and take it to your room which was ok as there was a large table in the room. Breakfast consisted of pastries, fruit, juice and coffee. Basic but ok although it would be nice to have an alternative to the high fat/high calorie pastries e.g. bread or bagels.

For the price we paid, it was good value. Not sure how it compares to other hotels in Carmel.

Carmel is amazing but the restaurants are very expensive. We had a good value meal in Brophy's sports bar, just across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fnwcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

While the room was quite sizable for our party of four + doggie, the beds were quite uncomfortable, and the heater was not working properly. It was fixed after a few calls, but just barely.

Their dog policies are also a bit stringent, with a "no dogs allowed on beds or furniture" as part of the contract. If your dog is used to lolling on the furniture or sleeping in bed with you, how do you break him of it in a few days? We stayed at two other "dog-friendly" hotels on our trip--one a major chain; and it did not have such policies written in.

The final straw was when the clerk ran the entire three nights charge on my debit card on the first night, rather than authorizing the first night, as was specified. This screwed up our limited funds big time, and when I complained at the front desk on checkout and asked for them to fix it, the accounting woman acted as though I had asked for her first-born child, and was almost resentful that she had to correct what was, in our eyes, their mistake.

I cannot recommend the place, as there are cheaper, and much more amenable places to stay across the bridge in Monterey. It's also a more active town. Carmel is beautiful, but that's about it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews