We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“now we know why the room rates are low”
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hofsas House Hotel
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Bay area, CA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“now we know why the room rates are low”
Reviewed June 29, 2005

The rooms are in pretty poor shape - everything was cheap. Cheap furniture, cheap carpeting, cheap paint. The only thing going was the gas fireplace. And we got one of the cottages!

You should skip this place. Spend an extra $50/night and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    172
    69
    30
    11
See reviews for
98
189
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2005

First, this was booked two days in advance, looking for accommodations for two couples for one Saturday night in June - hopefully without too high a price. Carmel on summer weekends is usually a two-night minimum and prices are always on the high side. We called Hofsas House and booking was a delightful experience. One night was fine and they had a suite available with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths $250. Acceptable for a room right in Carmel proper.
The location is really good, just a couple of blocks off Ocean Avenue and the very center of Carmel - peaceful and quiet. The staff is genuine and charming. The suite's rooms were comfortable and clean and very large, but furnished sparsely with dated 1970s furniture (in good repair) and very little decor which left a somewhat bland impression. (It did appear that paint and carpet were very recent. We peeked in other rooms and saw that they had more charming interiors such as wallpaper. Are they still refurbishing?)
Be warned about a couple of not-so-great things. The entrance into parking is a daunting bit of downhill and the parking is tight and not plentiful. The property is built down the hillside in a wide variety of levels, connected by many flights of steps and decks - most of this and many rooms overlook directly the pool and the parking lot although beyond you do have the Carmel Pines and a glimpse of the sea. If there are a lot of children present using the pool, you will hear them.
Some of the truly great things include the staff and the breakfast of coffee, juice and the best french pastries!
This is a Carmel classic of another age, a family-oriented motor lodge owned and operated by a family that cares. It should be recognized and respected for that. Its location and value makes it a good choice for travelers looking for those two things. If you're looking for a first-rate romantic getaway by the sea, consider looking elsewhere and paying more.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank outofthewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2004

We began staying at the Hofsas House, "Room 40", with our children twenty years ago and could not resist going back again and again. One of our sons returned to celebrate his first wedding anniversary at the Hofsas House. Their children have stayed with us in "Room 40" on many of our Carmel trips. the Hofsas House. There is an Ocean view from "Room 40" as well as a view of the tree tops. The hotel is perfectly located to walk two blocks to see many galleries and another block to shop downtown and yet just far enough away to avoid the traffic. The beach is a short walk from the Hofsas House Hotel. Part of the fun and excitement of staying at any of the great places in Carmel is the quaintness and charm of each. For us that special place in Carmel is the Hofsas House . And, yes, we have stayed at other Inns in Carmel.

Helpful?
12 Thank llfost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 16, 2004

Just returned from spending two nights. Rooms are large, but dated. Brady bunch wallpaper and thin walls. Noisy. Front desk staff were friendly though.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 10, 2004

Friends and family filled ten rooms at Hofsas House for a recent wedding. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the service very personal. We were well taken care of. We would stay there again.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 28, 2004

When we arrived we found our room at the top of 4 flights of stairs. Considering that we had asked if there were stairs when the room was booked, we were surprised that the staff wasn't forthcoming with the truth. The room smelled very musty, the light fixtures were covered with cobwebs, and screens also were missing from 2 of the windows. However, since it was so hot in the room, we had to open them anyway and let the bugs in. In addition, the floor felt like the termites had eaten enough of it that we could have put our foot through it in spots, if we had only tried. There also was a crawl space access ladder in our room-and considering that we had our 2 year old with us, we weren't sure which was more important-keeping her off the ladder or keeping her from crawling out the screenless windows. The place also is very old and in need of updating-I have seen similar bathrooms in a Motel 6. For $210 per night, we were extremely disappointed, but with their 72 hour cancellation policy, we were on the hook!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 17, 2004

We stayed at the Hofsas House for three nights at the begining of concours d' elegance, and could not have found a friendlier place to stay. Clean, great location, pet friendly and pleasant owners...

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
593 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Property: Hofsas House Hotel
Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing