We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place To Stay In Carmel-By-The Sea”
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hofsas House Hotel
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome. The desk clerk took time to show us our room, which was an impressive start to our visit. We decided to stay on the top floor because we wanted a view of the ocean. We were not disappointed! The view from our room, #45, was gorgeous! As there were tables & chairs on a the small deck, we decided to enjoy the sunset from the hotel. A little deli was within 2 blocks and we had a wonderful meal on the china plates from our small kitchen, which had a mini fridge, coffee maker and microwave. Everything about this hotel says they were glad we stayed with them. From the specialty shower gel, soaps, shampoo, coffee, and wonderful fresh pastries in the morning, we couldn't have been more pleased. The linens were first class, the antique furniture was charming, and the room was very large. We especially enjoyed the fireplace with the two duraflame logs which we burned in the evening. Before we left, the desk clerk made suggestions to help us enjoy our trip along the coast south of Carmel. Attached is a photo we took from the balcony in front of our room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have wonderful views of the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travelOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We are happy you enjoyed the location and the friendly staff and, of course, the wonderful views! We sincerely hope you stay with us again next time you are in Carmel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 412 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

We took a group of golfers for a week in the beautiful Monterey Peninsula area and Carmel. We got a recommendation for this hotel. We were not disappointed in the overall experience. The price was very good for the value. We were able to walk all over Carmel for dinner and shopping...no need for a car in town. It is an older hotel and the furnishings and rooms need updating. There was an annoying sound like a "running toilet" one night but the staff found the problem once several of us complained. Carrie, the owner, and her staff were very accommodating, gave us lots of suggestions for things to do, etc. It is a dog friendly hotel so be prepared for a few barking dogs. The walls are a little thin.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loves2adventuremore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

We are happy you enjoyed a lovely stay with us! We hope you stay with us again next time you are in Carmel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the start of October. It was the final leg of our trip so we were looking for a few calm days and this was the perfect spot. When we arrived we were welcomed warmly and told we had an upgraded room. This is always a great start.
The room was on the first floor so we did have to cart all our stuff upstairs but it was worth it because it had a real log fire in the room! How wonderful. We were able to light it in the evening and fall asleep to the flickering firelight and it really did warm the room up too.
The overall look of the place is very individual. Some would call it twee but it didnt phase us and the facilities were just what we needed. We had spent the past two weeks living on hotel, restaurant and cafe food so to have a fridge, kettle, toaster and microwave it was heaven. We were able to eat simple food. The bathroom seemed a bit lacklustre on first appearance but do not let this deceive you, the shower is the best one out of all the hotels we stayed at. I even liked the complimentary toiletries.
Breakfast is a simple continental affair served in the tiny reception room but they are more than happy to give you a tray so you can take what you need to your room. On the day we checked out they even offered to wrap up some for us to take on our journey back to San Fran.
I would highly recommend this place. It is great value for money, great service and in a great location to explore Carmel on foot or by car.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 43. If we ever go back I would ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank G00BY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

We are happy you enjoyed a great stay with us! The fireplaces are always a nice treat this time of year. We hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A big 4 story motel in a good location only couple blocks from the restaurants and few block from the beach. Rooms were like a cheap motel, with paper thin walls and floor. We ended up requesting another room after first night because the room above us had a stomping dog, who never stopped walking around. (pet friendly like everything in Carmel). TV was a old tube TV in both rooms. the bathroom in the second room was updated and had clean tiles.
Bed was hard but my husband did not mind that.
Sauna was lukewarm dry one. Pool OK small. staff was accommodating and friendly.
Breakfast was typical continental, but pastries were actually fresh and quite good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFneito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are happy you enjoyed the location and the friendly staff and sorry you did not enjoy your accommodations more. We sincerely hope you stay with us again next time you are in Carmel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Listing the best things first, Hofsas gives excellent value for the price, has a good location with easy walking into the main part of town, has a nice Old World charm that is lacking in many other places in Carmel, and the Front Desk was very friendly and accommodating. On the downside, the walls are very thin, and the room heat (good baseboard heating) is completely controlled from the main bedroom, so the bathroom (which was very clean and relatively modern) stayed quite cold -- it didn't have heat lamps, which would be a great improvement.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eclectic80498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the great location and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Carmel..what can you say, it has it's charms. Dogs and children, if you are like W.C. Fields you'll want to steer clear of here. This dog friendly and family friendly motel has a lot of rooms stacked 4 floors high. A small warm pool and decent breakfast plus the clean rooms make this attractive. The downside is the walls and floors are quite thin, you can hear dogs and kids pacing above and next to you ( Hint: get a room as high up as possible& Bring the ear plugs)) The wooden stairways creak and shake also. We had to move our room after the first night , we could hear a dog running around the room even when the owners were gone.UGH! I saw no elevator, the 4 story motel is built on a really steep hill, parking is awkward, in 3 different lots. it's a challenge getting around.But you can walk right into the center of town in about 5 minutes. The rooms have been redone with radiant heating in the very clean bathroom floors( very cozy), rooms have firm beds, very small tube TVs, only 3 lamps and not many electric outlets. The locks on the doors are old and flimsy , the keys have difficulty opening some of them. Cute Kitsch:The doors have a 2 part, farm style split across the middle, so you can hang out with the lower half closed, and the upper half open while you chat with Elsie and borrow a cup of sugar or suntan lotion.
Breakfast is really fresh artisan style pastries fruit , yogurts and good coffee and juice. not bad. This would not be my first choice unless I had a animal or small kids.But on a budget you'll probably be fine if the above drawbacks do not bother you.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible to avoid noise from neighbors above or ask for a room with no one abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed the great location- we hope to see you again soon & thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We dropped off our bags early at the Hofsas House as we needed to pick up friends at the Monterey Airport. When we returned to check-in the staff had already delivered them to our room. The Front Desk personnel is most welcoming, cordial and attentive, like family.

This unique hotel is perfectly situated off the main drag in downtown Carmel, walking distance to everything with plenty of on site parking. They also have a heated pool with plenty of lounge chairs. Every morning they serve great coffee, orange juice, perfect pastry's, fresh fruit and yogurt.

Clean and quaint lodging with updated bathrooms added to our comfort. Quality bath towels and bed linens and a little refrig to keep our wine and cheese cool were also appreciated. We especially like the balcony rooms and enjoy the Dutch door looking out toward the treetops and sea. Hearing the sound of the ocean just blocks away made our visit extra special. We loved our three night stay and look forward to returning before the end of the year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed the great location and our friendly staff! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $137 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing