We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not a chain, and very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hofsas House Hotel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a chain, and very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is just north of Ocean Blvd. in a quieter area, but still an easy walk downtown. We also walked a little further to the beach, so we could avoid the hunt for parking there. The hotel is older, but rather unique, with different wallpaper and quilts in the rooms. From our second floor room, we had a glimpse of the ocean, but it you were up on the 3rd or 4th floors, you could see it quite well. There are some shared patio tables and chairs on the both the second and fourth floors. Inside the room, our mattress was rather firm, which I liked. However, the wooden window blinds were the only window coverings, which I didn't like, as I like to sleep in a dark room. Everyone has their own preferences though. The included breakfast had some great nut bread, as well as other pastries, yogurt and fruit. There are only a few seats in the front lobby to sit and eat at, so most people took their food back to their room. The front receptionists would give you a tray along with a carafe of coffee (not just cups) to take back to your room. Overall, I thought this hotel was very good for the reasonable price we paid. They are also pet friendly (in certain rooms.)

Room Tip: The ocean side of the building, away from the road is preferable. If you don't mind the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the great location and the ocean views. We are happy you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    155
    59
    27
    11
See reviews for
88
164
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Located in a quieter part of Carmel, the Pebble Beach side - easy walk to beach(downhill) - 1960's hotel - well maintained - views of ocean from some rooms - rooms clean and quaint - bathrooms updated - better than average continental breakfast with real bakery sweets - staff very friendly and accommodating - a great value would definitely stay here again - in the same family since it opened!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mebent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your kind words and we sincerely hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I reviewed many places before chosing Hofsas House. We had a little issue with our room being changed, but it was all worked out. We had a room on the front road and the end of the building. It had a fireplace (we did not need it) and a large bathroom with this room. It was quite, with no view. That was ok, since we were driving down Hwy 1 and would see lots of great views. Everything was clean and worked just fine! I walked back from dinner at dark and felt very safe.
If in town again, we would book here but stay for 2 nights and not just one. Carmel is a nice place to relax and enjoy the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room based on what makes you happy! Bigger bathroom, a view or just a good price. They w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Yes, we are a bit prejudiced, but how really can you top the Hofsas House for the $ , the view, the location? Its not the Four Seasons or the Ritz Carlton. Just a great , homey place to stay.

Stay at other places if you want, but you will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccws19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed the great location and that you keep coming back! We are happy you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

If your looking for a shiney glass palace with bright lights and 33 floors then look elsewhere. If you enjoy cosy nights in, friendly family staff and hot fresh bread for breakfast, then maybe your getting warmer. Stayed here on our honeymoon and it was lovely

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor for seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beacon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you stayed with us for your honeymoon
and that you had a wonderful stay. We hope you stay with us again next time you are in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and i stayed there in January 2011, we got the 2nd floor facing the pool and the view was great, we could see the ocean and greenery. our room was a gueen size. The bathroom was ok, the shower a little small but cute. having breakfast in your room or on the balcony was great. The whole building feels sort of whimsical. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RNA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed a great winter escape! Thank you for the review and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

A very lovely place to sleep in when visiting Carmel. Staff is friendly and the continental breakfast is good. We enjoyed here very much and even got to use the sauna (although it was too cold for the pool)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Itzik_Greenvald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the delicious continental breakfast! We hope you visit us again and thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Property: Hofsas House Hotel
Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing