We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for travelers with pets”
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hofsas House Hotel
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This Hotel (motel???) is excellent for travelers with dogs. About 3 blocks from the Ocean Ave, the main street, it is the last motel on the street and a short walk to a nice small park that is also used as an informal dog park. I was invited to release my 2 golden retrievers so they could play with the couple of dogs already there.

Very quiet location. our room did have an ocean view, although about a 20 degree--not 180 degree--view. with the window open you can hear the surf at night. We also had a very nice balcony.

As others have already said, the establishment is pretty basic, clean, well cared for, with a very accommodating staff. The TV was not the best, but we only cared because of a football game we wanted to watch.

For Carmel, a very good value.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peregrineguy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Hofsas House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 405 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

We had a great stay here with our poodles. The 2-bedroom suite was HUGE, complete with a full kitchen and dining room table. We were centrally located and could walk to downtown and the beaches. The weekend we stayed, the hotel was overrun with poodles yet we never heard barking or saw any other dog-related problems. Even if you travel without a dog, you shouldn't have a problem. I've had more issues with crying babies and unsupervised hyperactive kids than dogs.

The rooms were charming and beds were comfortable. We didn't have any water pressure problems like another reviewer indicated. Bathrooms were fine.

Breakfast was lovely with delicious local pastries (oh, still thinking about that almond danish), fruit and yogurt. We used a tray to bring it back to our room.

The front office staff was so sweet. Thankfully they staffed it with pet-friendly people for Poodle Day.

We have already booked rooms for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WISCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Hofsas House Hotel. Very sweet people. I loved the charm of the hotel. Felt like I was in a B&B. Room was a bit dated, but clean. Shower could have used a bit more flow, but it worked. When we arrived we were given the choice of two rooms, which was very thoughtful of the staff. The first room (our original) was nice, but a bit floral and out dated. The one we chose had been updated. Great view of Ocean and nice fireplace. Would return to this hotel again. Only complaint is on Saturday night there was no parking available until after an event was over in the community room. The hotel is a bit loud, but to be honest, it wasn't the staff or the hotel, it was the other guests! Be respectful of other guests please.

Room Tip: Top floor has views of Ocean.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawin4cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for the great review! We make every effort to ensure that our guests are happy and we are glad to hear that you were happy with our staff. We hope you join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have stayed at the Hofsas House each time we have gone to Carmel and keep coming back. One trip we had a room that was just so-so, but otherwise we have loved the place because it's clean, friendly and a great location near town. The staff are very nice and helpful. We loved the little cottage room we stayed in on our most recent visit

Room Tip: The little cottage rooms are great.. motel rooms might be a tad noisy with people walking by your ro...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onspithia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

We are so happy Hofsas House is your choice when you come to Carmel! We believe our family owned and operated hotel offers visitors a wonderful value with a prime location. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I love the charm of Carmel. The Hofsas House is one of them. It's located at the quiet end of town, short walk to shops and restaurants, the beach, short drive to Point Lobos, Big Sur and Monterey. We had a girlfriend weekend, Hofsas House was able to accommodate all three of us in one large family room with one king (in the main room), two queen (in another room with a door) and two full bath with our own balcony with a distant view of the ocean. The spacious room have a small kitchenette and the usual amenities.

Yes, the carpet needs replacing and it's not the Sheraton or the Hyatt. This is a family-owned business where the owner is usually on site. The room decor may not be for everyone but the beds were super comfortable and there was plenty of towels for everyone. Hofsas House staff were hospitable and helpful. It felt more like a B&B or a small boutique hotel.

Breakfast includes pastries from a local bakery, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee. Take a tray back to your room or enjoyed it the cozy living room.

It is a dog-friendly place as is entire town of Carmel. It also a family-friendly hotel...the rooms can accommodate a large family including the dog.

Thank you Hofsas House for a great visit. See you soon!

Room Tip: Room 27 for the large family room with two bathroom. Own balcony to extend your eating area right ou...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glow4011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

In a lovely position with lovely views from balcony, we were disappointed with the condition of the carpets in bedrooms very stained and also we requested rooms where no pets were allowed, the rooms we were given had dog blankets and smelt, we were given another room
but felt dogs had been in there as well. If you are taking a dog perfect, but if you don't like dogs in the bedroom we would definately suggest elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shropshireLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

We are sorry you were disappointed on your trip to Hofsas House. We do allow dogs in certain rooms, but we do offer pet-free rooms for those who do not travel with their pets. We are sorry you were unhappy with your room and we are happy to relocate people whenever possible. We apologize for your disappointment on your visit and we hope you will consider us next time you are in Carmel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This hotel certainly has character, as it is painted bright pink with what appears to be Swiss motifs, and it is fairly reasonably priced. But - it is not much fun dragging suitcases up 2 or 3 flights of stairs to the communal verandah and then a medium-sized room which was none too clean. There was mould in the shower and dirty marks on the carpet. It was noisy, both from people walking along the verandah and from neighbours beside, above and below us.
Breakfast (coffee, yoghurt and pastries only) was served in the foyer with seating for about 6 people, so it seemed best to take the food back to the room where at least there was a small table and 2 chairs.
Would we stay here again? No way, especially as there are many alternatives in Carmel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do offer a complimentary breakfast and provide a convenient setup to dine in your room, although you are welcome to enjoy breakfast with us as well. Our pricing is quite competitive, especially in Carmel, and we strive to offer our guests a personal B&B style experience at our family owned hotel. We apologize for your disappointment and hope you will consider us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
595 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $138 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing