We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our Favorite place on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our Favorite place on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A short drive but a million miles away. This is our most favorite place on earth. My husband and I come here to relax and rediscover the simple pleasures of God's glorious natural landscapes. The property is surrounded with beautiful trees, golf greens, and lush green rolling hills. We always take advantage of the salt water pools and hot tub. The spa services are luxurious and catered to meet the needs of anyone seeking refuge. This is a yearly destination for us and we countdown the days and minutes the moment we drive away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review Veronica and for being one of our repeat guests year over year! Being so close, please think of us as your own 'backyard." It is wonderful to hear how much you appreciate and love our gorgeous setting and we agree and thank you for sharing that. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    198
    67
    29
    18
See reviews for
383
453
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Great family holiday destination. Rooms were fantastic and the kids camp was such a hit with the kids that they really didn't want to leave. Golf course was good. Local attractions such as Pebble beach (dinner / drinks next to the 18th green...wow) and Point Lobos, are a must see. All in all a wonderful, all be it expensive, holiday, which I would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dufusx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It is wonderful to hear your kids loved our camps so much they did not want to leave - a true testimony! Thank you again and we hope to welcome you and your family back to the resort soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stumbled across Carmel Valley Ranch on a last minute deal and it turned out to be a real find. Although it's not on the coast this place was perfect for Big Sur and Pebble Beach - and not only that it's a wonderful hotel. It wasn't really a room that we stayed in, rather a small house which was obviously fabulous. Even by American standards the room was enormous. If you're the active type then there's tonnes to do - tennis, golf, yoga, etc... If you're not then get eating because this place has a wicked restaurant which also does a mean cocktail! Totally recommended, a proper 5 star country club retreat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Wow - what a special and meaningful review - and thank you! We also believe this is God's country and are always pleased when our guests notice this. It is truly our pleasure to share this with you and we hope to welcome you back. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

First of all, I really enjoyed my stay here - my family can't wait to go back. That in and of itself speaks volumes. The resort is really peaceful and makes you feel like you are a million miles away from everything. There are a lot of activities for families with children, but it's also a nice relaxing getaway for couples as well. I felt the food was all very good for a resort, although you are paying resort prices. The pool area for families was a little strange in that it was separate from the rest of the resort. While it easy to get to because the shuttles were always quick to do pick ups and drop offs, it still felt a little cast-off. Also the entire pool area had more of a country club feeling than a high-end resort. For example, nobody was around to serve beverages, etc by the pool. Everything about it was self-service. While the pool wasn't too crowded even on a weekend in the summer, most of the other patrons seemed to be locals who have bought a membership to use the pool and tennis facilities. Nothing in particular was wrong with that, my only point is that the pool area felt a little less like a high-end resort.

One thing to note about the rooms is that many (most?) of the suites have a living room area and a bedroom area. The layout is actually great - bathroom between the two and more spacious than I expected. However, most of those living rooms have skylights in the living room. Kind of a strange choice considering that they must know that many people may choose to have somebody sleep in that living room (the couch is a pull-out bed).

About those missteps. When I realized that the skylights were a problem, I called the front desk and asked about rooms without skylights. My issue is that the person I was speaking to seemed completely uninformed about the most basic questions about the room types (i.e. - referred to a room without a separate living room as a "one bedroom suite"). Then the front desk told me that a two bedroom suite was available and then minutes later somebody else told me that it had never been an option. Then, the front desk also failed to tell housekeeping about an issue that I had wanted fixed. I had to follow up on it myself a couple of times. I will say, that the manager Kevin really went above and beyond to make amends for the errors of the staff, which is why I still had a very enjoyable stay. I just wish that there weren't so many fumbles. I expect a more polished, informed staff from a high-end resort. But as I started out by saying, even these little issues did not stop me from having a great time and we will be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is near the main lodge but still feels remote (doesn't look upon any othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaizee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. In addition to the many wonderful things you spoke of, it is your mention of the 'missteps' that I also greatly appreciate. This is how we can continually improve and please know that your comments have been shared with our team members to ensure we are all responsible for being knowledgeable about the resort, and for providing accurate and helpful information. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutchogue, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband I stayed at this resort for our 25th anniversary. The staff was very friendly and greeted us with congratulations when we checked in. They even left us chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of wine in our room. The bed was by far the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on. The room has a view of the hills and we could sit outside on the balcony. Overall, I highly rate this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a great breakfast in the area, try Jeffrey's in a small strip mall not far from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klpaulick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Ranch for this special occasion in your lives. We hope to welcome you back for many anniversaries to come. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I love this resort. It is one of the most peaceful places I have been to. I would actually have never chosen to visit this location, had it not been for a wedding, but I am glad that I did. I hope to return sometime soon. The resort is absolutely beautiful. Perhaps the only thing better than the views are the smells. The resort is covered with fragrant flowers and herbs and you instantly relax just by driving onto the property. Lavender is one of their staples. All of the bath products are grown and made at the resort. Definitely take a visit to the hotel shop to bring home some fragrant oils and candles.

The resort is very laid back. It is quiet. Not the place to go if you are looking for a ton of party activity, but that being said, they do have activities if you wish to participate.

There are scheduled hikes, cooking tours, nature walks, yoga classes, etc. They also have events around the fire pit in the evenings and twilight rubber ducky races for the kids at the entrance.

This is a resort that has something for everyone. Golf, spa and kids activities.

The room was a rustic but luxurious "cabin" style. The finishes were very much high end, but you feel comfy and cozy as if you were staying in a friends country home. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with a huge wrap around balcony. We had coffee each morning out overlooking the valley and watched as the sun burned off the haze. Each room has a fireplace which is on a timer, so we feel asleep each night to the nature glow of the flames.

The room also included a living room and kitchenette. The bathrooms were huge and luxurious.

My only compliant about this resort is that it is so spread out. If you want to go from your room to the main building it is a bit of a hike (not so good for those having trouble walking). The resort does have golf carts that will pick you up, however you may need to wait for them, depending on the time of day.

If you wish to go to the pool or the kids area, it is a LONG walk. We drove or took the golf cart. I would guess that it is about .5miles away. Going down the hill is not so bad, but coming back up is tough especially with kids.

From a food perspective we only had room service and breakfast (besides the wedding food). Everything was great. My son's mac and cheese was perhaps the best we have had anywhere. It is the chef's special homemade recipe and it shows. Fresh ingredients kept us coming back for more.

The resort is self contained. There is not much around other than the resort. There are some farms, but the majorities of activities in this area (e.g.: Monterrey) are about 20 minutes away.

I highly recommend this resort for a 3-4 night stay for anyone looking to relax and get back to nature in luxury style.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the valley. You will have a balcony in the trees and it is a magical view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassyTraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review and for touching on so many of the things we offer and hope to achieve for our guests when they visit The Ranch. Magical, peaceful and relaxing - you said it best and we thank you and hope to welcome you back. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Ranch was the most perfect place to stay! From the moment we arrived, everyone was so friendly and helpful. The surroundings are beautiful and our room was perfect! The view of the hills was spectacular! The front desk was so helpful in guiding us to Big Sur, Carmel and other surrounding areas and offered many hints of places to go, things to do, and where to eat. We had on small issue with noise in that construction was being done right next to us...but when we called the desk to ask for the hours of the construction, we were quickly moved across the ranch to a quiet spot. My only regret was that we did not build in enough time into our stay to take advantage of all that the Ranch has to offer. We had planned to sight-see in the surrounding areas. Next time I want to come and just hang out and the Ranch and relax. I did get to walk through the lavender fields and look at the gardens. It was heavenly! This place is my absolute all time most favorite place I have ever stayed! I hope to come back some day!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you Karen for taking the time to post your review. I am happy we were able to make your stay so memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Property: Carmel Valley Ranch
Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Otel, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing