We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We booked three nights at Carmel Valley Ranch through Jetsetter as we were attending a wedding in Carmel and originally thought we'd need a suite. When our older daughter was unable to attend the wedding, we found ourselves with a very roomy unit at an incredibly beautiful resort. The Ranch is about ten to fifteen minutes outside of downtown Carmel and it was a very easy drive for us to the wedding events as well as the shopping and dining areas in the village of Carmel Valley. There are wild turkeys and deer on the grounds of the resort and the view from our unit was breathtaking. We had breakfast at the resort's main restaurant and used the exercise facility and were pleased with both. Our unit was modern and luxurious and used the natural lighting very well--and the fireplace was used and appreciated during our stay. We certainly got our money's worth at the Ranch and would recommend it to anyone that wants the resort "feel" and doesn't need to stay in Carmel proper.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scogor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We are thrilled that you stumbled upon us in your search for your wedding weekend, and even more so that you enjoyed your stay so much! As an all suite property, all of our guests get the spacious surroundings you mentioned as well as the beauty of our 500 acres. Thank you again for choosing to visit us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    220
    81
    31
    22
See reviews for
430
508
28
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

What a unique experience! It was like grown-up summer camp!

I had so much fun and the staff was great. Kudos to the golf cart guys who are ALWAYS available. If you get a chance to do the bee experience, do it. Kids and adults alike will love this unique experience!

The linens are 5 star and the rooms are lush. Loved the fireplace in the bedroom and the ammenities in the bathroom.

I almost proposed marriage to Craig in the spa. Best massage ever. Don't miss it.

I'm terribly bummed I didnt have time to do hilltop yoga but I heard it was wonderful.

Oh, and be on the lookout for celebrities. We had a well-known rock artist staying at the resort with us. And he did the bees!!!

If you're on the fence, just book your stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quse56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for noticing our environment similar to summer camp! It is truly what we had in mind when creating all of our offerings and activities - but of course with less discipline and more play! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our Signature Bee Experience, and you will have to return to try our Horseback Trail Rides (coming in July 2014) as well as participating in our first wine harvest - also expected this year. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience here. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We took our one 8 year old daughter here for spring break and loved it! There was so much to do with kids -- pool, hikes, s'mores every night, visits with the bees, and tons of classes offered by the Lodge. We did the candle making class, which had fabulous instructors and wonderful candles to take home. The quiet and beautiful adults only pool was also a plus for those moments without kids. They had tons of kid camps and activities should you want to keep your kids busy without you. Most notable was the setting. The hundreds of acres are set in a stunning area and are kept in impeccable shape. It is luxury in a natural, yet elegant manner. The rooms are filled with normal (not miniature) lotions , body wash, and hair products made from things they grow on property (such as lavender). Not to mention that the rooms are incredibly spacious.

With its captivating setting, gracious staff, numerous rope swings throughout the property (adored by our daughter), and the fact that it is minutes from Carmel by the Sea, Monterey, and numerous wineries definitely makes it an ideal location. I do not hesitate to recommend this Lodge to families and couples alike!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent Spring Break vacation here. We work hard to be the place that you can return to year after year - and continually create special memories with your family and loved ones. We hope to welcome you back this summer - it promises to offer many more new activities (horseback riding in July!) and lots for your family to experience together. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights for our honeymoon. We live in LA and got married in Las Vegas and decided we wanted a honeymoon that didn't require us to fly anywhere.
We took the long drive up the PCH - it was beautiful and worth the extra time.
When we finally arrived at the ranch we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who checked us in, provided us with a list of activities and a map of the property.
We stayed in a Garland Suite - it was lovely! We had a beautiful view of the property. It was peaceful and romantic.
We never did venture out of the Ranch because there was so much to do there. We took our Siberian Husky on hikes and walks through the property. Took advantage of some Yoga on the Hilltop and a Barre class at the fitness center. I also got some spa treatments (both of which were lovely) We also spent some time in the hot tub and pool area.
The food at the lodge was delicious and fresh!
No complaints here and we'd love to go back one day :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessik67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your review and for allowing The Ranch to be a part of this special celebration for you. Congratulations on your recent nuptials and we truly hope to be the place you return to for many anniversaries to come. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed over the busy Spring break period and the hotel was busy with many many children. Even though the weather was unusually cool we enjoyed the pool, the fabulous lawns, the bocce. The staff were marvellous and the room was very spacious. I would recommend at least a minimum 3 night stay here - it is worth taking the time to enjoy all the activities. Carmel is just a short drive away. The kids adored the old style swings - which adorn many of the low boughs of the magnificent Californian coastal oak trees.

Room Tip: The rooms are very spread out so it can be quite a walk to the pool area / reception. Take the golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi3205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Heidi - we are honored that you chose to spend your family's spring break at The Ranch. With so much to offer, you very accurately suggested at least 3 nights at the resort. This amount of extra time allows you to participate in many of the activities we offer as well as treasure the quieter moments - like a leisurely stroll through our organic garden, or taking a moment to enjoy the swings hanging from our many oak trees - as you mentioned. Thank you, and we hope to welcome you and your family back this summer. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a spectacular property located about 20 minutes inland from Carmel by the Sea -- 500 lush rolling acres with each room located with some type of view. Definitely felt as though we were out in the country - gorgeous trees abound -- peaceful walking trails that look like picture postcards -- weeping willows and full beautiful shrubbery that truly look like paradise (and I'm from southern California -- I see green all the time!). The rooms are all on one level, situated like single floor town homes - so there is no feeling of being cramped or claustrophobic. In addition, there are walking trails, a golf course, gym, swimming pool and spa. And it is pet friendly to boot -- we had our golden retriever, who was actually reluctant to leave!

Room location makes a difference if view is important to you. We stayed twice -- one night en route to UC Davis, and one night en route back home. We had a Garland Suite each trip. The first night we had a forest view with a wraparound deck -- gorgeous trees and distant valley from one side. The second night we had a bluff view --of the parking lots. Not so great -- but the room and services were so wonderful, that we couldn't complain.

The only downsides I can think of are that you are pretty much captive in the environment-- it is a 10 minute ride to the gas stations and another 15 minutes if you want to get to the ocean. If you want a beach town vacation - this isn't for you. Also --if you are staying for the first time, make sure you arrive during the daylight hours -- at night it is pitch black on the highway and easy to miss the turn --even with navigation --onto Robinson Canyon which leads to gated guard station of the hotel.

But if you are looking for a beautiful, peaceful romantic stay at a 5 star property, with or without your dog, this is it. The staff was great, breakfasts were wonderful --would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a forest or valley view --not the bluff view which faces the parking lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWLYRETIRED100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. You touched on so many of our features and described them beautifully. Being on such a large landscape allows our guests the ability to co-exist among a variety of travelers - each with their own playlist for creating a special memory during their time here. And you are correct - there is really no need to leave the resort for anything - and we hope you choose to spend all of your time here. Thank you again and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I visited the "ranch" in February, 2014 for 2 nights. It was a very relaxing experience, especially since we lucked out on the weather. The room was very nice with a relaxing fireplace in the BR. I enjoyed a fabulous massage at the spa, and the food at both dinners was amazing... they stress local produce and we could tell by the freshness of the salads and veggies. It was very quiet at night, perfect for a stroll. We were about a 5 minute walk away from the main lodge and it was pleasant walking to dinner. The paths were well lit and added to the overall ambience of the ranch. I also took a yoga class and worked out in the gym... both clean and well appointed. The beekeeping tour was top-notch. If you're visiting, make sure you take a ride through the town of Carmel, expensive but quaint architecture and fun window shopping. Though pricey, you won't be disappointed with a stay to Carmel Valley Ranch.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ja9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post your review. It was wonderful to hear you got to enjoy so much of the property, and that you also noticed so much of the little details we strive to get right for our guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
2.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Property: Carmel Valley Ranch
Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing