We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Visit to Carmel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Fairview
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Visit to Carmel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice resort but not on the level of other top resorts. Very large rooms with fireplace and well-appointed. Disappointed we didn't get upgraded suite which has never happened in our travels. Food was average and breakfast buffet needs improving. Staff were all nice and professional. We will most likely try a different resort next year.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    218
    77
    31
    21
See reviews for
415
497
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This resort is a wonderful place to visit if you don't want to travel a great distance from the Bay Area, but still want to relax and get away. We spent three nights here over Thanksgiving and couldn't' have been happier with our experience. The property is so scenic, offers nice trails for a hike and tons of activities (though we didn't really get an opportunity to experience any this trip). The nightly s'mores was a big hit with our kids, as were the tree swings, bonfires galore and in-room fireplaces that turn on with a quick push of a button and are set to a timer. Very accessible to Carmel-by-the-Sea and the Monterey Bay Aquarium and a nice place to visit with the whole family.

Room Tip: The resort is very spread out so be sure to check the map and know exactly where you are booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiersten m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

You never have to leave the resort. Great food and staff. It's all here and it's all excellent. Spent 5 nights, could have stayed a month. Carmel Valley is the place to stay while visiting Monterey/Carmel. A few miles up the valley makes a difference in weather and feel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This property is wonderful to experience. The rooms are comfortable with extraordinary views and made cozy with a fireplace. Every employee there made me feel as if I were a guest in their own home, very sincere with service!

The gem of this property is the hub of excitement happening at their activity center, The River Ranch. The yoga classes are great, and the tennis program is top notch with clinics, drill sessions, cardio tennis, a round robin and the enthusiastic staff will even put a match together with players of a similar level. This is a top notch tennis destination!

The area is beautiful with great hiking, restaurants, and beautiful coastal scenery but I was complete with contentment staying solely on the property for a few days, enjoying the comfort of the room, yoga, tennis, steam room, swimming pool, hot tub, restaurants, and panoramic views of the Carmel Valley.

I left Carmel Vally Ranch feeling healthy and with a smile!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katied326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Decided on CVR for my birthday celebration with friends. Fantastic property! Beautiful rooms and resort area! Great service - in room dining and spa treatments. Valet was attentive and speedy. Luved the Crush Package and the wine tasting recommendations. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the hilltop suites and it was sooo worth it! Breath-taking views from our balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheilasalesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Went for 3 nights to celebrate my daughter 27 birthday. We were very well impressed with the service since the moment we arrive until we left the property. Everybody is very attentive, helpful and happy to provide excellent customer care.
Stayed in Room #222 Valley Suite. Since the moment I opened the door I was impressed. Very spacious and well appointed, with attention to every single detail. The gas fireplace in the bedroom with an automatic timer was a nice surprise.The view was beautiful and serene. We have friendly wild turkeys every morning by the door.
The grounds are impeccable and tranquil. Ate breakfast every day at the Lodge and love it. The food was excellent! Yes!!!! we will love to visit again.

The Ranch is an easy drive to Carmel by the Sea with a lot of restaurants and shops. Excellent to walk around

Room Tip: Room 222!! Just have some champagne and enjoy the beautiful view. Perfect to relax and unwind
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfalgons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went for a weekend to celebrate a birthday, and it was hands-down, the best resort experience we've had since our honeymoon in Bali. From the quality of the rooms, to the beautiful and tranquil grounds, to the fantastic food, to the outstanding service (from every single employee), there was absolutely nothing to complain about. Here we were, 10 minutes from Carmel-by-the-Sea, and we had absolutely no desire to leave the resort.

We didn't have our kids or dog with us, but they're friendly to both, and I think we may bring the whole crew next time.

Best weekend stay-cation ever if you're in the Bay Area. Period. And we're not even golfers. We will most definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Go for the hilltop & valley view suites - great views and a short walk to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
2.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Property: Carmel Valley Ranch
Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing