We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort within 100 miles of the Bay Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, California, United States
1 review
“Best resort within 100 miles of the Bay Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went for a weekend to celebrate a birthday, and it was hands-down, the best resort experience we've had since our honeymoon in Bali. From the quality of the rooms, to the beautiful and tranquil grounds, to the fantastic food, to the outstanding service (from every single employee), there was absolutely nothing to complain about. Here we were, 10 minutes from Carmel-by-the-Sea, and we had absolutely no desire to leave the resort.

We didn't have our kids or dog with us, but they're friendly to both, and I think we may bring the whole crew next time.

Best weekend stay-cation ever if you're in the Bay Area. Period. And we're not even golfers. We will most definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Go for the hilltop & valley view suites - great views and a short walk to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    193
    64
    29
    18
See reviews for
372
448
19
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A wonderful retreat for us - they were very patient as we moved 3 times while my wife looked for the perfect view, and she found it!! Staff were incredible, if we are ever back to Carmel this is where we are staying!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was out first visit to the Carmel area and we were blown away. The facility is in great shape and the grounds are absolutely spectacular. Unfortunately, we did not plan enough time to take advantage of even 10 percent of what the ranch had to offer. The weekend was way too short and we will definitely return. The best way to describe this is that it allows you to structure a camp experience for who ever you are with - spouse, friends or family. Whether it be golf, tennis, hiking, spa or just lounging, it is all available on the grounds. Views are incredible and despite being inland from the coastline, it is convenient to get there if you want. The pools are beautiful. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The fireplace in the bedroom was a very nice touch. The bed is very comfortable and the furnishings are perfect to maintain a comfortable but casual elegance. We did have a small problem with the light switches but maintenance was there very quickly to replace the switches. Unfortunately , we noticed it late at night. We enjoyed spa treatments; its staff was very professional and again conveyed a casual elegance so that everything was fun, relaxed and well worth the prices. Views and the farm to table philosophy is inspiring and makes you feel good as well. If you plan to go, try not to leave and enjoy all the ranch has to offer. We will return to do even more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I visited Carmel Valley Ranch as a little getaway as well as the opportunity to explore Carmel, Monterey and drive along the coast. We arrived at the ranch after spending much of the day in Carmel-By-The-Sea only to arrive at a beautiful property with gorgeous views from virtually everywhere. We checked into our room which was spacious and again, provided incredible views from the balcony in our bedroom. The fireplace in the bedroom gave an amazing ambiance as well as provided a little heat. The large bathroom with great amenities in addition to the snacks provided in our suite were all little unexpected extras. The "living room" as well as the bedroom had large flat screen tvs which did provide happiness to my husband when we were in the room and he wanted to watch some football. We also found that the location was extremely convenient for exploring so many wonderful places in the surrounding area. The grounds are beautiful and the walking paths allowed us to explore and enjoy the natural beauty. There are beautiful pools, workout facilities and an abundance of activities. The services in the spa were extraordinary and the service from all of the employees that we encountered, amazing! We had an issue in our suite with some light switches and they immediately sent someone to remedy the situation. The property also offers shuttle service within the property.

What an incredible experience! Would definitely return and recommend that anyone looking to relax, enjoy and get away take advantage of all of the things that the Carmel Valley Ranch has to offer.

Room Tip: Definitely suggest that you stay in the bluff suites. The views are incredible! It is extremely qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBLBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This resort is quite fantastic. We returned for a second visit and it was well worth the trip. Great walking trails to help you feel less guilty about eating so much lovely food! The rooms are large and luxurious, the dining is top notch and the breakfast buffet with an abundance of fresh fruit etc is excellent. It is a few hours from SFO, but well worth the trip - every time!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank abracadabra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I escaped for the weekend to Carmel, our first time to the area, and stayed at the Carmel Valley Ranch based on the recommendation of my brother. The hotel was amazing, it was remote but still convenient - if that makes sense, the staff was very friendly and accommodating we had a mix up with our room on check in and the bell man helped solve the problem right away without having to return to the Lodge. The Resort itself is one of the most beautiful placed I have ever been...and I live in Santa Barbara! They are amazingly pet friendly which was awesome - in fact the entire town is very pet friendly! The bed was heavenly, the room we booked was incredible value for the space, the fire place in the bedroom was our favorite and most used amenity and the deep soaking tub was perfect for the first night to truly start the relaxation. From the moment we arrived we were already planning our next trip - can't wait to return to Carmel Valley Ranch!

Room Tip: We stayed in the low 300's - the rooms had the BEST views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our first stay at the Carmel Valley Ranch and we enjoyed every aspect. The suite fit our needs for 3 of us, the view spectacular, the golf course is fine for an executive resort course and the lodge restaurant very good and not over-priced.

Go-stay and enjoy

Room Tip: be close to the main lodge but the outlier rooms have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wjj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Property: Carmel Valley Ranch
Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing