We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmel Valley Ranch
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
$150
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$180
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Playa Carmel(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quail Lodge & Golf Club(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$147
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$459
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,624)
Filter reviews
1,624 results
Traveler rating
1,130
271
127
55
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,130
271
127
55
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursegarland suitefamily poolcarmel valleywild turkeysorganic gardenadult poollodge restaurantinfinity hot tubbee keepinglavender fieldsfitness classesgreat resortspa treatmentsthe main lodgehiking trailsoak trees
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,233 - 1,238 of 1,624 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This resort is almost perfect! I stay 1 time per year and its wonderful each time... Nice amenity options if you like those types of things... The property is so pretty and quite and relaxing. The food at the restaurant was good, service was a bit slow thus making the dining experience odd. This is just a personal preference they have a resort fee of $25.00 per day this makes me mad that after I pay $500+ per night I have to pay a resort fee for using nothing other than the room and the Spa(paid for treatments)... But overall I would return to the property!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmm641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have visited Carmel Valley Ranch three times during the past two plus years and each time we have enjoyed a wonderful stay. The property is so large and laden with beauty and amenities so we rarely get in our car during our visits. They offer a large pool for families and about a 1/4 mile uphill they offer another pool for adults (quiet). There is fantastic hiking on and adjacent to the property. We love the quiet of CVR. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. They are very dog friendly and our little pup, Bea, was treated like royalty during our most recent stay. The restaurant offers excellent food and wine and the selection is great so we can order in our room or eat in the dining room and never tire of the very delicious food. A wonderful nightly offering is the s'mores outside by the dining room. There is something so wonderful sitting around a large wood fire, making s'mores. Lastly, the people that work at CVR are so personable, gracious and helpful. It is the combination of these things that keeps us coming back and makes us look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Any room is very good, we prefer the rooms away from the lodge(s).
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ENewberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was our fifth time staying at CVR and there's a reason we keep coming back. The rooms are lovely (we stay in the hilltop rooms), very comfortable (ask for slippers the tile floor in the bathroom is cold brrrr). The restaurant's ambience, food and service is top-notch. The golf course is challenging but doable and very beautiful. All staff from housekeepers, golf pros, fitness staff and groundskeepers are the best I've encountered - you can't go wrong staying at gorgeous lavender scented Carmel Valley Ranch!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onebrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and wish we could have stayed for longer. Really lovely and spacious rooms, big balconies with great views, friendly and helpful staff who provided an excellent service, great pool options (a separate pool for kids and an adults only pool) and good sport facilities ( yoga, tennis, golf...). Really nice personal touches as well (snacks in the room etc). It was the absolute highlight of our 2 week holiday in California - we would rate it higher than the (much more expensive) hotels we stayed in in southern california.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank abc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I have stayed a number of times at this hotel, I would highly recommend it. The staff is polite, the location is remote but close enough to the town and shops. We have always enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews