We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Amazing Stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
salt lake city
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most Amazing Stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This property is absolutely breathtaking---came to stay for one night and absolutely LOVED IT! If we could have stayed longer we would have extended for a week. So much to do, but felt so calm and peaceful. Staff was so gracious and friendly with great suggestions and offers everywhere we turned. Rooms were STUNNING.... not to mention one of the best nights sleep I've ever had. Beautiful pool with cabanas and the evening smores are such a fun touch. Close to lots of wineries--- clubhouse with pools, tennis courts etc were beautiful. Definitely want to come back with family and spend much longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie_lee96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    219
    81
    31
    22
See reviews for
430
508
28
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here sadly for only 2 nights on our recent trip. We were met by helpful staff through-out our stay and the eye to detail was really first class. The accommodation was wonderful and all, of the facilities were also first class.
The location was great and whilst staying at the resort we saw a variety of wildlife. We had a meal in the restaurant and it was the best steak we had both ever had! The resaturant was a lovelly place to have a special meal and it was also wonderful to be taken back to our accommodation rather then driving.
A wonderful place and one we would strongly recommend, we do not beleive that you will be disappointed!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our latest visit to Carmel Valley Ranch was excellent! Although our trip started off on a negative note, management and staff members went out of their way to accommodate our every need and transformed our stay into pure serenity. We would like to extend a special thank you to Mr. Brian Gipson for his outstanding guest relations and attention to detail. We also would like to thank Mr. Thomas Schwarting, Ms. Gabrielle Wagemakers (hello Roxy) and the rest of the staff for their excellent service. We look forward to visiting them again very soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roulaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

A bit out of the way - the rooms are very nice - typical for this price point... Very pottery barn like.

Service is included in room rate ...

Definately request a outer room - or you will like your in a fish bowl - privacy = romance :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriefBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I just spent 4 wonderful nights at the Lodge at Carmel Valley Ranch. It was more than expected and had the most friendly people. Every need was attended too in the most professional way. Our stay was one we will deffinitely repeat.

Room Tip: Choose a hilltop suite with a view. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

this was everything we wanted as a purple and we are quite fussy
best food on our entire california trip
service and staff good
lacked a bit in atmosphere at night because it was so quiet in the restaurant
though Dave kept us in conversation both nights
rooms bed bathroom all great
loved it

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Archie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Design and location of the hotel is wonderful however the positioning of some of the lodges means that people can see into your bedrooms/bathrooms/balconies which is not really what you want on a romantic break and next doors AC unit buzzing away under your balcony is not what you want when you sit outside on the balcony.

It's a bit like a marketing team sat down and wrote a checklist of all the components for a great hotel, gave it to a design team but didn't actually explain what the outcome was they wanted. With just a small amount of effort more it could be incredible. Theres no real lounge to sit and relax in and the restaurant is all but in the lobby which doesn't really work. Breakfast was a huge disappointment and as we stayed during Pebble Beach we went out and had breakfast in a different place every day.

When we booked I was expecting to have a lot more organic food fresh from the garden with recipes of the day based on what was freshest from the garden. the sea that day. A bit like you would expect in Italy. Instead theres a pretty generic menu and rooms service is even worse with about a dozen choices on it max. Though getting it to you hot seems more difficult than it should be and theres no table in the rooms or at least we weren't offered one and eating off a coffee table doesn't work ! The kitchen really needs a superstar chef to give it a make over at this price point.

The pool is very cleverly arranged but the kids/health club pool does not really offer any choice of fresh produce to eat it's ribs and burgers which again wasn't what I was expecting.

The location is great for a base to work form but as another reviewer says its not one thing thats wrong its the whole thing thats just 'not quite right'. I'd love to go back but only under new management and after a rework on the catering.

Room Tip: Try and get a resort map and figure out if you are overlooked and where your next door neighbours AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your honest and thoughtful review. It is always an encouraging opportunity when a guest takes the time to share specific key areas of improvement and doable improvements as well! I admit I was surprised by your dining experience however, as our menu reflects exactly what you described – items from our very own organic garden, combined with fresh fish caught from the sea that very day! I only wish you had been here on a day when you actually had the chance to meet our fisherman – as he has often stopped by and greeted our guests and employees alike. And while my own children always choose the burger at River Ranch café, I have opted for one of the mouth watering salads – with produce from our garden! Regardless, I regret that was your experience and can assure you that your comments and suggestions are taken to heart by the current management – ones that truly care about our guest’s experience! Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
2.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Property: Carmel Valley Ranch
Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing