We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great family vacation resort”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

From reading good reviews, I made a last-minute reservation to stay at this resort for two nights. It was a perfect getaway for us, with three children and a dog. It was very kids friendly and pet friendly resort....the trail within the property was beautiful, we saw many deers and turkeys....the pool for the children was away from the main building, but they offer shuttle service. The pool water temperature was perfect. It was good that they separated adult-only pool and children pool. There was a man who complained that the child was splashing/jumping around the Jacuzzi but let's face it, if you did not want that, he should have gone to the adult-only pool and Jacuzzi. Other than that, people we met at the resort were all nice and Nelson at the pool cafe was very accommodating and friendly. We would definitely go back to this resort!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musashinohaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    229
    90
    32
    25
See reviews for
444
539
30
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a great spot to see the Monterey area. What I expecially love is the fact that the weather is a good 10-20 degrees warmer than by the ocean, so we would lounge by the pool or play golf and see the sights after the fog burned off. The rooms are great and staff is super-friendly. The only think that is not 5 star is the restaurant, but there are som nmany great places to eat that are less than 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We frequently have out of town guests and since we built our house intentionally with no guest rooms we recommend local hotels. Since the renovation and new ownership of Carmel Valley Ranch we heartily recommend it for everyone. It's specifically family friendly with the kids of all ages not being forgotten. Located past the fog line yet only 10 minutes from Carmel, you have the best of both worlds. The hotel, spa, restaurant are all first class. Our friends didn't want to leave the poolside for the bustle of the Concours at Pebble Beach and ended up lazing the day. We hadn't eaten in the newly renovated restaurant and we joined them for dinner one night. The attention to quality in the food and preparation and servcie was superb. One hint. Don't overdo the fresh baked bread. You could easily make a meal of this addictive introduction to the restaurant's commitment to quality. The wine list is excellent and has great depth including many local wineries. Give them another 5 or 6 years and you'll be drinking wine from the vineyards they just planted below the hotel. Produce is also grown on site as well as sourced from local boutique growers. The crab cakes were some of the best I've ever had, even though it was cake singular not plural. Portions are not large; but rather what they should be. Enjoy the bread, a crab cake, a warm beet salad and then on to one of any of the entrees on the menu. Our table tried 4 different ones with not one murmur of disappointment. Fantastic grilled chicken breast that was moist, tender, perfectly seasoned served with vegetables picked that day. A filet mignon that would have done a KC steak house proud. Incredible rack of lamb. Room for dessert? Of course. Dark chocolate decadence cake, vanilla ice cream (like grandma used to churn on the farm porch...or her Florida condo lanai) and 4 spoons. Five stars for the food and service and view. The restaurant was 3/4 full ( several dining areas and a great bar) but due to the layout was very enjoyable with wide spacing between tables for privacy and unimpeded view lines of the spectacular scenery. Patrons ranged in dress from evening formal to one gent in a sweat shirt (obviously from Michigan as his logo proclaimed "UP NORTH" on the chest) and everyone was smiling. Well, maybe not as much when the bill arrived. Given the superb service and quality food and presentation it was worth every penny of which quite a few were required. We bypassed the open pit fire and the opportunity to enjoy their S'mores. Maybe next time. Night time smells of wood burning fires, lavendar all over the grounds and a gentle valley breeze on a starry night made this a fantastic evening to join our friends. This is a luxury resort and given that it has only just reopened within the year is already operating flawlessly in the inn keeping sector as well as the usual stumbling block, the house restaurant. 100% recommendation for a very relaxing vacation spot...and a great place to stash friends visiting the Valley. Our friends loved their rooms, the amenities and raved about the staff and the friendly personal service. Sounds like the Carmel Valley Ranch has finally realized its potential after three decades of underperforming ownership.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobDogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in a two bedroom suite, with family of 5. More than enough space! Gorgeous location overlooking the adult pool, spa and golf course.
Resort set in stunning location. Not a drop of noise, wonderfully peaceful. Everywhere you look is gorgeous green hills, lavender bushes, and lots of wildlife!! Turkeys and deer are a regular spot!
The service is the best I have ever encountered. A resort fee is charged each night so you are told not to tip staff (the porter himself informed us and handed back our tip! Wow)
The rooms come with lovely details, including snacks and wonderful smelling bath products.
There is much to do here, an exciting daily menu of "play" activities for young and old is printed each day.
Food is brilliant. Two restaurants offering different food types. Breakfast delicious...either buffet or order exactly what you want from a great menu.
Weather here is also perfect. Down the road, by the sea, it is cool and there is a fog. Very normal for this time of year. It is hot up here, blue skies, not a cloud in sight!!
You can travel around the whole resort by golf cart, driven by the staff. Nothing here is too much trouble.
There is an adult only pool and another, accessible by golf cart, for children to use too. For us, travelling with no children, this was bliss. Pool empty all day.
Fire pits located around the resort with toasted marshmallows available every evening!!
Don't want to ruin the surprise for any other lucky people who get to visit here, but there are cute little touches everywhere. They have thought of everything.
If you have a chance to visit then do!! It is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeclump5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were so thrilled with our stay here but very sad it was for only one night as we passed through Carmel! Its a lovely place - we had one of our best meals ever in the restaurant (not cheap but oh so worth it!).

Loved seeing all the deer around - stayed in the most amazing lodge - they don't look anything fantastic from outside but are extremely well equipped with everything you could wish or hope for.

Staff were so welcoming, helpful and friendly. The boys used the pool while my husband and I enjoyed pool side drinks! We've promised ourselves we'll be back just the two of us for a romantic stay that this place offers!

Its not the cheapest place in Carmel but certainly worth it!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG31England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here with our two children, 9 &12 and had a fantastic time. The resort isl arge so there is a bit if getting around to do, but that also means there is plenty of space and privacy if you need it. The rooms were great and I can recommend the Garland suites, the size was perfect.
Food was great and we ate in the restaurant 3 out of 5 nights, these were the best meals we had during our stay.
The morning hike is a great way to get to see the hotel and learn what they are up to, own grown organic food and young vines.
On arrival we were greated by deer on the way to check in, you can imagine what the children thought of this and then when they saw the s'mores in the evening they were in heaven.
The location of the hotel is good, the coast , a 10min drive, often has mist during the day, but this burns off around 11 in the valley,
It's not a cheap, but in my opinion great memories outweigh everything else.

Room Tip: garland suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkeymil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We loved this hotel. I think that it was much better for families than it appeared on it's website. We had a ranch suite (1 bedroom) it was huge and very nice. They have a great pool area for kids and families. At this area there is also a little restaurant so that you can order food and sit outside by the pool. In the evening they also have a nice fire there. My husband and I sat by the fire and had a glass of wine while our kids swam in the pool. Very relaxing.
Also, Monterey was very overcast and foggy but when we drove out to the ranch it was bright and sunny ! Not sure if it is always like this.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHill70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
2.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
340 reviews
8.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Property: Carmel Valley Ranch
Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prestigia, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing