We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmel Valley Ranch
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$159
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$150
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$139
$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$605
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$549
$529
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,650)
Filter reviews
1,650 results
Traveler rating
1,149
274
129
56
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,149
274
129
56
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursegarland suitefamily poolcarmel valleywild turkeysorganic gardenadult poollodge restaurantinfinity hot tubbee keepinglavender fieldsfitness classesgreat resortspa treatmentsthe main lodgehiking trailsoak trees
Filter
Updating list...
1,500 - 1,505 of 1,650 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our first impressions.... Nice friendly gate people which considering we turned up on Harley's covered in dust and very scruffy was a nice surprise... Lovely grounds surrounded but lavender bushes and beautiful wooded hills.

The Lodge / reception is very pleasant, the staff helpful and courteous, they concierge has a British Bull Dog called Roxy who wanders around like she owns the place (very cute) .. Great if you a dog lover not ideal if you aren't.

The restaurant (excellent quality food), Bar (well staffed and friendly) Adult only pool area, hot tubs (with lovely view), spa (marvelous) and gift shop (friendly and helpful staff and some lovely retail items) all housed in The Lodge which was great for 4 Adults but not sure how nice it would be for families... (Kids/families have their own pool and snack restaurant a little way from the main Lodge) The grounds are large and hilly but we made the most of the shuttles which are available on request and very quick to turn up.

The rooms are more like mini cabins very nicely designed, good big, comfy bed, full size fridge, free wireless internet, complementary water and a few snacks, a very nice bathroom with lots of fresh towels and dressing gowns and good quality Body Bliss products. Our balcony looked out onto the golf course, Carmel valley, woodland, the occasional deer and wild turkey, our view was slightly obscured but an overgrown tree but I guess that might have been for privacy. Not all rooms have a view as nice as ours, worth checking when you book.

There's loads of great fitness opportunities for free, Flow Yoga, Hiking Trails, golf the list is very long daily. TOP TIPS! Do the honey bee tour, its free, fun and informative.
The (newly build) Spa was a good as any I have been to around the world, not cheap but not much is in Carmel. Every night 7- 9 the the staff light open fires and supply baskets of marshmallows, crackers and chocolate!

There are only a few very small downsides to the Carmel Valley Ranch: The restaurant / bar closes quiet early. There was a corkscrew in our room but no wine glasses and only very small tumblers for drinking water in the bathroom which wasn't great, especially as I'm sure thats were people soak their false teeth. The bar staff gladly supplied glasses which was fine but not terribly convenient and not very 4/5 star.
For more than $400 per night + tax and Hotel fees I would have hoped that at least minimal continental breakfast would be included especially as the coffee and tea in the rooms was fairly limited.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loubylou_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We love this hotel! Everything was great,from the staff to the room to the service and we really enjoyed the restaurant and wine selection too. We will for sure go back whenever the weather permits. It's the most beautiful and peaceful area in Carmel.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAY1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here for one night, but I could have stayed a week. The area is beautiful, the service outstanding, and everything about the resort was just so relaxing (even though we were there with our toddler!) We were in a suite: separate living room, big bathroom, balcony and large bedroom. We ate at the restaurant twice: awesome breakfast and dinner, with a kid's menu and crayons that kept our daughter happy. Could be a drawback for some that it's about 7 miles out of downtown Carmel, but it was easy to drive in to town (parking can be a challenge--just try the side streets.) We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Perfect place to stay with a family! We stayed here for 3 nights and wanted to check out the local area from here (Carmel, Big Sur, Monterey). Quit hard to leave the property since there's so much to do (tennis, golf, pools, great hikes, activities etc.). Rooms are spacious, clean & new..make sure you get a view though (looking at the parking lot is not too relaxing I guess). Resort adresses needs of children & adults alike with lots of activities (some complimentary).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YVRtraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

we were on a road trip to los angeles and wanted something top notch outside san francisco - unfortunately this place is not it - except at check out time when you need to pay the bill.
my wife got sick from food at kids pool bar and had to stay in bed all day.
we turned on the fireplace in room - but could not turn it off - room got hotter and hotter - and when we at 1 at night called front desk all they said was - turn the off buttom, that´s what we do ?, not a big help -i had been doing that for 3 hours )

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank smussencom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

Dear Mr. Rasmussen, Thank you for your feedback and please accept my sincerest apologies for the experience you had in your short stay at The Ranch. It greatly concerns me as the response to our recently opened River Ranch Cafe has been unequivocably positive. To hear that your wife felt ill, and that your evening was spoiled by a too warm room, is understandably not the experience you had planned for in your brief visit to the property. I would welcome the chance to discuss this with you further, to see if there is an opportunity to welcome you back for a much different stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly at (831) 626-2458 or via email at mcooke@carmelvalleyranch. I would also be happy to reach out to you if you would like to provide the best way to do that and most convenient time to contact you. Once again, my sincerest apologies. Sincerely, Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews