We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, otherwise pretty average motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Let's start with the positive things. The hotel is very nicely located in carmel within literally blocks from the main quaint downtown. There are tons of nice quaint shops, cafes, and restaurants within walking distance.

The rooms are clean, simply appointed. There is a deskspace for computer, TV, closet, and average bathroom. Parking is on-site and free, it's a bit tight but given its location that's fine.
We came on a weeknight so the room rate was attractive, it jumps up on weekends or holidays making it probably no better or worst than other places. I would think of this place more along the lines of a motel. There is a swimming pool, small but the rooms look like converted apt units into a motel.

Breakfast is complimentary - but the area it is served is extremely cramped, there is barely 1-2 tables fitted into it. There is an assortment of muffins, cereal, bread, and english muffins. Quality is average , looks like bought from costco. Some juice/coffee is also provided. Oatmeal as well. With such a cramped space, you really can't grab much breakfast or enjoy it.

As in most hotels, internet is advertised as free - and it is but the pace of it is slow. Unlike other chains, this hotel is wired - they do provide you with a cable to connect - but the connection is probably slower than my 3g iphone so if you really need to access the internet or have business needs, this is not the place for you.

overall, the location is ideal - close to carmel, walking distance, etc. breakfast is worth skipping, parking is cramped, rooms are average = motel quality but clean, internet is sluggish to slow and would be less than ideal for those with business uses. i would probably NOT come back and prefer staying farther out of the city at a cheaper cost or paying a little more.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Trekkersocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 667 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2010

What a warm welcome to such pleasant surroundings! It had "almost " been raining all the way up the coast, and we were so pleasantly surprised at the lovely place we had chosen to stay! We couldn't believe the price, and were so impressed that we changed our itinerary to include another day in our beautiful room.

The management was particularly gracious. Great recommendations for dining and sightseeing were given, as well as faultless directions. (I can get lost on a straight street!)

I can't say enough! I am looking forward to booking another stay after the crowds of the summertime subside. Tending to be an off season traveller, I will wait anxiously for my next visit to the Best Western Carmel's Town House. What a great stay!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohpeaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Nice facility. Excellent value. Booked two rooms/one night. Hotel is clean, comfortable, conveniently located, and the front desk personable and helpful. Seemed to be in the center of town; nice walk to the water and seeing the shops. Only negative; the heater motor is our room (123?) was loud and a bit distracting. But other than that, we enjoyed our stay. Ate at Hog's Breath (one block away, good pub-style food, sat outside by fireplace). Enjoyed Carmel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kucu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2010

Dear Lior:

Let me start by thanking you for leaving us a review on your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 831-624-1261.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

JD DESAI
Hotel Manager
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stay here every New Years Eve....its close to everything in the village. Walk to all of the shops and restaurants in the village (and only two blocks from Katy's on Mission). I will be back next New Years, if I have anything to say about it!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byoung3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2010

Dear Lior:

Let me start by thanking you for leaving us a review on your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 831-624-1261.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

JD DESAI
Hotel Manager
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We were just stopping over enroute to San Luis Obispo and wanted to see Pebble Beach Golf Course (we had breakfast there before we headed out again). We arrived late, the manager waited up for us, I know this because as soon as we were checked in the office was closed. Our king size room was a pleasant surprize, very comfortable bed, very clean and tidy and the price was fantastic given the destination. Nicest room we had this trip. Next time, we will spend a few days at Carmel By the Sea so we can enjoy the area and we'll have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyjwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We will definately stay here again when we return to Carmel

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjrj3985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Clean comfortable room in beautiful Carmel. Staff friendly and informative. Plenty of parking. Easy walking to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wichogomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
595 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $142 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing