We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK-Could be great with some adjustments-Call and ask!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK-Could be great with some adjustments-Call and ask!”
Reviewed September 28, 2009

This Carmel hotel is hard to rate because of the delta between it's potential and where it is right now. I would call and ask on my complaint items before you book! Otherwise, it could be a great place! The location and the size of the rooms are excellent, as is the cleanliness. The complaints I had were:
1. Terrible lighting--ridiculously low wattage! Impossible for shaving and make-up application. Such an easy fix, but will they do it? We did speak to the manager on duty about this as a suggestion that basically disqualifies this hotel for future stays for us.
2. Slippage in the tub/shower. This needs addressing for safety.
3. Construction at the lot next door--when will this be done in relation to your travel dates?

Based on these issues, I had to give the place a 3, wish I could have done 2 1/2! With just a couple tweaks, (and the construction issue if you want quiet between 8-5--not a big deal for us as we were site seeing during the days), I would give the place a 5!! Big difference I know!

The updates to the hotel were stylish, the bed comfortable, the room exceptionally roomy for the price point. The vanity area was a retrofit into an old closet alcove--too deep and not appropriately lighted, even if the wattage was increased. You can't get near the mirror as the vanity is beautiful, but very deep. Someone forgot to factor in functionality with their redeco design! Other lighting is dim, but OK. They need non-skid strips or mat in the tub/shower area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsie_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    273
    102
    31
    16
See reviews for
235
260
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Stayed here for a brief stopover for the night. Rooms are basic but have everything you need and have been recently refurbished. You're one block from the main street and about 4 from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andres1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest ,UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Stayed here just the one night and found it to ideal for our purposes. The room was recently refurbished and much nicer than the exterior suggested. The kids enjoyed the pool and we could walk to the beach and shops easily. Complementary breakfast was fine. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Had no problems using the free wifi . Motel style meant than we had some noise from late arriving neighbours but overall a great stay for the money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LentonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

This hotel is in a fantastic location really close to Ocean Ave and the beach. It is great value; the room appeare to have been recently decorated in a styish manner and was clean and well appointed. Was in a room at the back of the hotel and had a parking space just beneath the room - perfect (Rm331). Didn't go in the pool which while small looked prefectly fine. Was impressed from start to finish. Also has benefit of being able to book one night on the weekend where other hotels in the town require a 2 night booking at the weekend. Breakfast was adequate, laid out in teh reception area, but you coudl take it back to your room, so that was just fine.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJK4803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

this is simply a great value hotel in an ideal location - just blocks away from the heart of downtown, as well as the beach. don't be put off by the outside, which looks a little dowdy - the rooms have been refurbished in a nice modern style and were very comfortable. sam at the front desk was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurelleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

Great location, reasonably priced, room was small but comfortable and clean

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

This property is the definition of value for price paid. The location is ideal - walking distance to everything in Carmel. I would recommend this establishment to any price and value conscious traveler planning to stay in Carmel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 25 in Carmel
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge

Property: Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing