We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected, very nice rooms, close to everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than expected, very nice rooms, close to everything.”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was a great place to stay. The rooms and bathrooms were super clean and spacious.
Quick Breakfast (yogurt, banana, danish, waffle machine, coffee, juice) was included but its kind of a small space. They were accommodating for rooms (but I wish they took pets! - they don't). Beds are comfy, but pillows and sheets could use updating. I didn't like the shampoo/cond./lotion in the room, it dried me out. I didn't see an elevator, but there are only two floors, from the outside it looks like an old 'motel'. Parking was free, but there wasn't enough spaces so we parked right on the street, which was fine. Everything in Carmel is so close (restaurants, beach, and shopping) within short walking distance to this hotel, which I loved!

Usually I like to stay in 3 or 4 star/diamond hotels, but I needed a place last minute. They chose very contemporary nice decor for the rooms that made me feel very comfortable in a nice room, so I would definitely recommend this, especially for the price, if you are looking for a very nice room in Carmel, inexpensive, with breakfast, and close to everything. They exceeded my expectations. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmelissaleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time here at out lodge, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

It is an honor for us to read you enjoyed our facilities we offer, It is thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    265
    100
    31
    16
See reviews for
225
257
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I booked a suite to share with my dad and was incredibly disappointed. Usually a suite is arranged so that you enter into a common room and the bedroom is accessible via an interior door. Here, the outer door opened into the bedroom and there were glass-paneled french doors (no curtains) leading into an 8'x10' space with a fold-out couch, two chairs, a coffee table, and a side table. All the furniture made it feel cramped and the fold-out couch was very uncomfortable. The suite was also right next to the pool on the same level so the room had a very strong odor of chlorine as well. The parking lot spaces are incredibly small. The continental breakfast was adequate. Front desk staff were all polite but ultimately didn't care because I'd booked through Travelocity. So I learned two things: avoid Best Western hotels (based on another bad experience on the same trip) and avoid making hotel reservations through a third party.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHJCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
ear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor; also we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge with our future guests.

Our guests’ observations are very important for us, because thanks to your notes we can learn, know about your experience and improve our service, your comments have been sent to the departments involved in order to verify our process and take the proper measures.

We regret if we did not impressed you with some of our services, we assure you this is not a common situation in our Lodge, and in no way represents the commitment with our valuable guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, to change your first impression and make you live the real Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having only two days in Carmel, it was great to be able to be right in the heart of town. We could walk everywhere and leave the car parked. This property is older; but beautifully maintained. Our room was small; but cozy with very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank booful73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time here at out lodge, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

It is an honor for us to read you enjoyed our facilities we offer, It is thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a two bedroom room very close to the stairs. A bit noisy because teenagers going up and down for a period of the night, but nothing that would make me move to another hotel. Breakfast included and ok. Very clean. Clean staff very helpful. Easy check in an check out. Very good localization. Would stay there again for sure.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SilBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time here at out lodge, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

It is an honor for us to read you enjoyed our facilities we offer, It is thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thundersley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good location to explore the town of Carmel as all in walking distant. Motel room was clean and a fair size, but it wasn't the "best" Best Western I've stayed at for the price! Cost well over £100.00 for the night, also discovered Carmel is an expensive area for eating too! So visited the local Deli in the town which had a range of lovely breads & salads. Breakfast was inc. and the food offered was good, but the small room which only sat about 18 people was packed out - obviously went in at the wrong time - 8am!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

It is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASSILLON, OHIO, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel was in a great location...easy to walk all around town. The room was clean and comfortable. There was ample parking and the breakfast was well presented and tasty. Most importantly, the manager and staff were professional, courteous and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Owner at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time here at out lodge, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

It is an honor for us to read you enjoyed our facilities we offer, It is thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The price was great for the room. Big bathroom and clean room. The walls were thin but we liked the motel style while still feeling modern. Good service and location. We loved Carmel in general but most of the hotels were ridiculously fancy and pricey. This one was 80-100 for two queens and worked just fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time here at out lodge, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

It is an honor for us to read you enjoyed our facilities we offer, It is thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge

Property: Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing