We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a stop-over!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Thundersley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for a stop-over!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good location to explore the town of Carmel as all in walking distant. Motel room was clean and a fair size, but it wasn't the "best" Best Western I've stayed at for the price! Cost well over £100.00 for the night, also discovered Carmel is an expensive area for eating too! So visited the local Deli in the town which had a range of lovely breads & salads. Breakfast was inc. and the food offered was good, but the small room which only sat about 18 people was packed out - obviously went in at the wrong time - 8am!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

It is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    272
    102
    31
    16
See reviews for
234
260
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MASSILLON, OHIO, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel was in a great location...easy to walk all around town. The room was clean and comfortable. There was ample parking and the breakfast was well presented and tasty. Most importantly, the manager and staff were professional, courteous and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Owner at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time here at out lodge, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

It is an honor for us to read you enjoyed our facilities we offer, It is thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The price was great for the room. Big bathroom and clean room. The walls were thin but we liked the motel style while still feeling modern. Good service and location. We loved Carmel in general but most of the hotels were ridiculously fancy and pricey. This one was 80-100 for two queens and worked just fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time here at out lodge, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

It is an honor for us to read you enjoyed our facilities we offer, It is thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel interior has been renovated probably to the best level it can be. The lobby is very nice, though empty. Upon check in we were given a room in the separated back portion of the hotel. You can walk by a very small pool (size of a large jacuzzi tub) and down a couple sets of stairs to what appears to be maybe old converted apartments in a back alley. The room turned out to already be occupied by someone else. When we walked into the room their belongings were set out so it was obvious. Upon returning to front desk the staff member looked surprised and as if we were making up a story or something. They made a call and found out the previous day staff had changed the room to someone else and did not update the computer system. We were given a new room only to find out the new room we received was quite a bit smaller than the room we were supposed to be in. Although renovated inside the room was small, the bathroom door, if open took up half of the bathroom counter space, there was only 1 outlet in the bathroom, which you couldn't find if the towel was on the towel rack since it hangs in front of it. There is no air conditioning, so be mindful of this, as the room is musty from being a coastal town. The parking lot is VERY small and only holds about 12 cars (mostly compacts) making it difficult to park and unload. The breakfast, though free, is very minimal (yogurt, self-made waffles, toasts/muffins, juice, coffee) and is a tiny room at the corner of the street which was so hot in temperature you could actually use it as a sauna. The pro is that the location is good for walking to a lot of options. For the price which was very high, even compared to what's listed in the rooms, it was definitely not worth it.

Room Tip: Do not accept any room in the 300s unless you want to be in the back alley. 100s are first floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor; also we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge with our future guests.

Our guests’ observations are very important for us, because thanks to your notes we can learn, know about your experience and improve our service, your comments have been sent to the departments involved in order to verify our process and take the proper measures.

We regret if we did not impressed you with some of our services, we assure you this is not a common situation at our hotel, and in no way represents the commitment with our valuable guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, to change your first impression and make you live the Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

this was the best price around and everything was just fine
nice staff, nice rooms, we had a 5th flr ocean view w a deck,
free breakfast
ocean view 5th floor is nice but check the weather report, it can be foggy there much of the timeno complaints

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamikazi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic and incredibly detailed response!
It is our pleasure to acknowledge that we have helped you discover Carmel's with our given location!
We are very thankful for the amazing location Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge has, so we work as a team to maintain the beautiful balance between our grounds and our Hotel. We will make sure to share your kind comments with our Staff.

We will be very pleased to hear that we will be welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed one night and were pleasantly impressed with the hotel. The room was clean and the decor was updated and nice. We stayed in room 104 which overlooked the pool. The pool was on the small side but being that our 3 kids were the only ones using it it was perfect. They loved that it was heated. The hotel is a 1 minute walk to the best restaurant, Casanova, and a 2 minute walk to a great breakfast spot, Katy's. The front desk gentleman was very friendly and helpful. The only complaint was the thin walls, but with earplugs in it's do able. Overall we all enjoyed our time and agreed we would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seacliff98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic and incredibly detailed response!
It is our pleasure to acknowledge that we have helped you discover Carmel's with our given location!
We are very thankful for the amazing location Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge has, so we work as a team to maintain the beautiful balance between our grounds and our Hotel. We will make sure to share your kind comments with our Staff.

We will be very pleased to hear that we will be welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had one night to stay in Carmel, and we booked this hotel because it had good reviews and reasonable rates. The front office staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. The room was small for the 4 of us (2 children), but very clean, and all we needed for a short stay. We had a view of the pool and the water in the distance. It is centrally located in town, and we walked to dinner and the beach afterwards. We think it is a good value, considering the hotel rates in the area, and would stay if we go that way again. Thank you to JD for making our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic and incredibly detailed response!
It is our pleasure to acknowledge that we have helped you discover Carmel's with our given location!
We are very thankful for the amazing location Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge has, so we work as a team to maintain the beautiful balance between our grounds and our Hotel. We will make sure to share your kind comments with our Staff.

We will be very pleased to hear that we will be welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge

Property: Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing