We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and Dreary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hard to think you pay this kind of money to stay in a room of this caliber. The front office man, and I use that term because he was NO gentleman, was very rude. I ask two very basic "check-in" questions and he responded with his back to me and his head down....needless to say I could not understand one word. The room was very dark and musty smelling. There is no air conditioning in the hotels so you have to open the windows, Early the next morning we awoke to construction workers just outside our door. We decided to get dress and go to breakfast. When we finally found the breakfast room it was not open.....7:55 a.m. And they don't start serving until 8:00 a.m.! The room seated approximately 15 people and this was supposed to accommodate the entire hotel. The lady that was working put out a certain amount of food, left, and we never saw her again. We stayed for 2 nights and decided to leave and take our chances at finding another place. Was NOT a pleasant experience

Room Tip: It would be hard to find a room that I would consider good at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patteyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 674 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

I felt that the room was small, furnishings were dirty and there was no privacy as it was facing the parking lot on the first floor. The cost of the room was similar to many other places in the area that are much nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Knowing we only had one night to spend in Carmel enroute from San Francisco to San Diego, my wife and I searched the internet at the last minute to find a charming B&B in hopes of making our short stay worthwhile. In spite of the high ratings awarded to some B&B's, most of them were either beyond our price range, full, or had received some negative comments interspersed with otherwise high ratings. We were unsure of whether to risk paying top dollar for a B&B that could potentially have a disappointing room and/or meal for the price. We felt that the BW, while not fancy, was a known quantity with a convenient location and at a price that, while higher than average BW prices, was reasonable by Carmel standards. The room lacked special ambiance but was clean and convenient to the town itself, which more than made up for the ambiance we were hoping to find. In short, we were pleased with the predictably basic value that met our expected needs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeePeeEmDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic and incredibly detailed response!
It is our pleasure to acknowledge that we have helped you discover Carmel's with our given location and the value we are able to provide
We are very thankful for the amazing location Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge has, so we work as a team to maintain the beautiful balance between our grounds and our Hotel. We will make sure to share your kind comments with our Staff.

We will be very pleased to hear that we will be welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I came from another hotel that did not have a room with enough space for my wheelchair. Best Western had a room with plenty of room to maneuver, at a better location, and for less money. I saved $100 over the 2 nights!! The staff was friendly, the rooms clean and they had waffles for breakfast. The location was perfect with restaurants and shops within blocks. The staff went out of their way to get me the room that I needed. I wish I could give them higher recommendations then just excellent. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We thank you for the kind words you conveyed about our hotel. To us the most important thing is that we deliver superior customer service. In addition, to provide you with a value as our staff works very hard to try to make the guest experience as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was the best hotel we stayed in during our trip. The location is perfect for exploring Carmel's shops and visiting the beach. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. There is a swimming pool...useful as you're not allowed to swim at the beach!!!!
Breakfast is in a room on the corner of the hotel and at first it seems as though you are going to a separate building. The breakfast room was clean and airy and there was a good selection of food and beverages.
A big thank you to the receptionist who was very helpful and spent time suggesting places to visit and helping us get our bearings on the map.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool also overlook a refuge collecting area I believe. I was woken early by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We thank you for the kind words you conveyed about our hotel. To us the most important thing is that we deliver superior customer service. In addition, to provide you with a value as our staff works very hard to try to make the guest experience as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Although a motel, the rooms a really lovely with lots of those extra touches! We enjoyed the convenience of the parking as we had lots of bags and the ground floor was welcome. The hotel is so close to the town it was a simple stroll to enjoy all of the festivities. The breakfast "cafe" provides an ample selection of options and offers some privacy whilst being able to watch the world go by.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinecones_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We thank you for the kind words you conveyed about our hotel. To us the most important thing is that we deliver superior customer service. In addition, to provide you with a value as our staff works very hard to try to make the guest experience as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Very quiet for a motel with a parking in front the window!
The room is big and clean .
Mattress and pillows are comfortable.Towels soft and very clean.
Breakfast is served in a private room overlooking the street.so you have a feeling of a small cafe.
Convenient location to many restorants and shops .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalinaM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We thank you for the kind words you conveyed about our hotel. To us the most important thing is that we deliver superior customer service. In addition, to provide you with a value as our staff works very hard to try to make the guest experience as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#3 of 25 in Carmel
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $138 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing