We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was the best hotel we stayed in during our trip. The location is perfect for exploring Carmel's shops and visiting the beach. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. There is a swimming pool...useful as you're not allowed to swim at the beach!!!!
Breakfast is in a room on the corner of the hotel and at first it seems as though you are going to a separate building. The breakfast room was clean and airy and there was a good selection of food and beverages.
A big thank you to the receptionist who was very helpful and spent time suggesting places to visit and helping us get our bearings on the map.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool also overlook a refuge collecting area I believe. I was woken early by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We thank you for the kind words you conveyed about our hotel. To us the most important thing is that we deliver superior customer service. In addition, to provide you with a value as our staff works very hard to try to make the guest experience as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    269
    102
    31
    16
See reviews for
230
259
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Although a motel, the rooms a really lovely with lots of those extra touches! We enjoyed the convenience of the parking as we had lots of bags and the ground floor was welcome. The hotel is so close to the town it was a simple stroll to enjoy all of the festivities. The breakfast "cafe" provides an ample selection of options and offers some privacy whilst being able to watch the world go by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinecones_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We thank you for the kind words you conveyed about our hotel. To us the most important thing is that we deliver superior customer service. In addition, to provide you with a value as our staff works very hard to try to make the guest experience as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Very quiet for a motel with a parking in front the window!
The room is big and clean .
Mattress and pillows are comfortable.Towels soft and very clean.
Breakfast is served in a private room overlooking the street.so you have a feeling of a small cafe.
Convenient location to many restorants and shops .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalinaM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We thank you for the kind words you conveyed about our hotel. To us the most important thing is that we deliver superior customer service. In addition, to provide you with a value as our staff works very hard to try to make the guest experience as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

They are going through renovations, but didn't realize this upon my arrival. The lobby was pretty sparce so I wasn't expecting much upon arriving to my room. Actually, I was more than a little nervous. BUT, to my surprise, the bed was extremely comfortable. The new furniture was very nice. Flat screen TV's. Bathrooms had new tile, sinks, bath tub, the works! It was elegant looking. I was pretty surprised especially after I saw the lobby. There was parking in back as well, that we didn't even know about. Overall we were very happy with our stay and what a nice surprise it was to have a newly remodeled room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kym M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We thank you for the kind words you conveyed about our hotel. To us the most important thing is that we deliver superior customer service. In addition, to provide you with a value as our staff works very hard to try to make the guest experience as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May for a couple of nights. The hotel was pretty booked, so the only room they had was a "accessible" room on the ground floor. They did not tell us it was accessible but we figured it out. Not a good spot right in the (on-site) parking lot. They were able to give us a nice room on a higher floor for a few dollars more the next night, so that made up for it. We have stayed off Ocean Ave. before, which we preferred, but it was still in a good location to walk to the grocery store and other places in the village. It was clean with good amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2traveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My recent stay in Carmel at the Best Western Town House Lodge was okay. Hotel is clean, rooms are ok, location is very good. Hotel lacks a bit of "detail"...if the rates were a bit less, it would be just fine, but not worth the $$$. Since it was my first time in Carmel, I was unsure of where to stay. If I ever return, I would definitely check out the "Inns". Part of the "Carmel Experience" is to stay at a "cozy inn"...would be worth it to spend a little more to have that overall experience. This hotel is no frills, basic, nothing to rave about- it is a place to sleep and shower, if that is all you are looking for, it is fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Location was very convenient to get around on foot to the beach, supermarket and cafes around town. The rooms were comfortable and clean, like most Best Western hotels I have been to. The pools looked great, but the weather was not warm enough for a swim.
The breakfast was standard, for a Best Western, although the breakfast room was rather tight. There were no servers on site to replenish the finished items and we had to wait for coffee refills. The manager (the man) was very friendly and attentive, but the lady there seemed rushed ( a couple of times, we had long waits at the lobby which was odd, because she finally appeared from a door behind the front desk). She only appeared after another waiting customer called the office from her cell phone (right there at the desk)
Renovations were still going on despite the ad that stated they had been completed in May, 2013 (we were there in mid July, 2013). With the Lobby still unfinished, there was nowhere to sit and no 24hr coffee.
There was no microwave in the room and so we had to toss out left over food from a nearby restaurant that we otherwise could have warmed up and eaten.
We were not impressed with our stay, but Carmel is a beautiful city to visit and we hope to be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeline n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor; also we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge with our future guests.

Our guests’ observations are very important for us, because thanks to your notes we can learn, know about your experience and improve our service, your comments have been sent to the departments involved in order to verify our process and take the proper measures.

We regret if we did not impressed you with some of our services, we assure you this is not a common situation at our hotel, and in no way represents the commitment with our valuable guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, to change your first impression and make you live the Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
578 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge

Property: Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing