We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place in Carmel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Vancover, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place in Carmel”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We are glad we selected the Town House Lodge. The room was very comfortable, and the proprietor was very accommodating and helpful. We could easily walk to the center of the village. We tried one of the restaurant recommendations (Dametra) and were delighted with it. This was the ideal place to stay for a quiet, midweek, off-season, vacation in the Monterey area. The breakfast area was small and the choices were limited, but plenty of alternatives were nearby. We'd happily return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    265
    100
    31
    16
See reviews for
225
257
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I found this hotel through AAA and we got a great rate for President's Day weekend. We reserved a double room and it was more than enough to accommodate our family of 4. It is a tad bit tight in there but once you put away all your luggage, it's okay. They provided us with a pack 'n play for our 18 month old which was nice. I really don't like those rollaway cribs. My husband and I slept separately alternating with our 5 year old. This hotel is pretty central to a lot of shops and restaurants which was nice. It's only a few blocks walk to the beach which was also very convenient. I like that the parking was free but you should make sure to park there before 6 PM because their parking lot is small. Wifi was free and you get free continental breakfast. Don't expect too much for breakfast although it was enough to fuel us for the day's activities. The breakfast area is also in the lobby so it's pretty small but we just brought our food into our room and it was fine. The service was good. They answered all our questions and they were really helpful. I highly recommend this place if you just want a place to sleep and want to stay close to all of Carmel's restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunflowergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff,it's a motel but the rooms have had an upgrade and are a great standard.
The breakfast is a typical American motel breakfast,pastries,cereal and coffee,nothing too exciting but you are not paying very much and with so many great places in Carmel to eat I wouldn't even bother eating at hotel.
It's in the centre of Carmel and great to park car and stroll around the charming town.
It's so close to Pebble Beach Golf resort which is well worth a visit for the views and lunch!
Would definitely stay here again when exploring Californian coast!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovenyc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I wish we stayed more than one night at the BW Town House Lodge. The rooms are nicely remodeled and very comfortable. Many properties in Carmel have the same decor that they've had for years and are a bit tired looking, but this property is fresh and up to date. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. My only slight complaint about the room was that there was only 2 bath towels in the room. I know we could of called house keeping for more but we didn't.
It's in a great location for walking to restaurants and we walked to the beach a couple times as well. We didn't eat the free breakfast, but I'm sure it was fine although the breakfast room area looked really cramped.
Our stay would of been perfect but housekeeping was very noisy in the rooms next door way too early in the morning, around 8:30. I would stay there again the next time we need a quick get-a-way but I'll bring my earplugs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scincalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great location. Good value. Plenty of parking and very quiet even though hotel seemed to be full. Clean, comfortable and quiet room. The room we had worked well with 2 young children. Staff was very pleasant and professional. They had accurate recommendations regarding the local dining. I don't think we will bother to look anywhere else the next time we need a hotel in Carmel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

You can not beat this location in Carmel. We didn't have the breakfast as there are so many wonderful placers to go in Carmel for breakfast. Beds were comfortable. Hotel was very quiet even though we were next door to the lobby. Only major complaint was the creeking floors. Our floor creeked really bad and occasionally heard the room above us. Would just recommend a second floor room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank modestonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stay at this hotel whenever we are in Carmel and we are never disappointed! I wrote a review last year and still echo the same accolades! As with every stay, hotel management was friendly and quickly responded to our needs. The rooms are modern and very clean. The continental breakfast is a nice touch and has a variety of quick breakfast items.

However, the personalized service card in our room was something new. Guests need to complete the card by selecting the housekeeping services desired – fresh towels, bed made, trash removal, room vacuumed, etc., and leave the completed card on the bed.

We still like the rooms behind the main hotel - #328 – 331 on Dolores St. It’s quieter than facing the busier San Carlos St. There’s also covered parking beneath these rooms. I’ll be returning to Carmel next year and already have my reservation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1TravelMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge

Property: Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing