We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$189
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$219
$200
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $457/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$187
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quail Lodge & Golf Club(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$355
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $314/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$599
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$854
$600
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$711
$629
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveler rating
251
296
108
35
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
296
108
35
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun deckgreat locationbreakfast roomwithin walking distancecarmel by the sealeave your carsmall poolroom was clean and comfortablewould stay here againtwo blocksfree breakfastthe main streetrestaurants and shopsart galleriesocean avenuebeautiful townyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 709 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Best Western Carmel’s Town House Lodge

We stayed two nights here in early January. On arrival, we were greeted very pleasantly and checked in efficiently. The clerk also recommended several restaurants and told us he would be available to answer any questions we might have during our stay. He also explained about the breakfast that was served in the office area.

This is a typical older motel like so many others in Carmel. It is being upgraded with bath remodeling, new carpets and updated furniture. Ours was a king room in the rear building beyond the swimming pool. It was comfortable except for the wall furnace that kept turning on and off all night, but never quite got the room warm. The room was larger than many others we have stayed in at other places. The bed was good, but only had one blanket and it did not keep us warm enough during the cool January nights. I looked for an additional blanket, but did not find one in the room. Had we asked, I assume that another one would have been furnished, but we were busy and never got around to asking. The sink was in the sleeping area and the toilet and bath were in a separate room. We like this configuration. The water temperature in the shower was a little difficult to adjust and the hot water was set at a scalding temperature. Care was necessary to get it properly adjusted.

The breakfast room had only three tables for guest use and filled up as soon as the room opened at 8 am. We decided to go out to local restaurants for breakfast. We did notice that hot waffles were available. Not all motels in Carmel offer anything more than cold cereal, pastries and fruit. The coffee was good.

There seemed to be enough parking for all the units. This is not always the case in Carmel. The parking for our unit was accessed from the street behind the motel and was directly under our unit. Parking is tight and getting in and out of the carport may have been a little difficult if other stalls were full, but we had a three car area all to ourselves and could maneuver our truck into a stall without too much trouble.

The motel in about 2 ½ blocks from the main street of Ocean Ave. so it is a short walk to most of the shops. There are also several galleries and other shops between the motel and Ocean Ave. Not a lot of restaurants in Carmel serve breakfast. Two of them are a short distance from this motel, Friar Tuck’s and Em Le’s are just a short walk from the motel on Dolores St.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TahoeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were very pleasantly surpised by the view of the sunset over the ocean as we entered the room and the up-market look to the decor. The outside of the hotel made me think the rooms might be a little shabby, but this was not the case at all. Two queen beds in a normal sized room despite from the outside the rooms appearing small. A good selection at the self service breakfast saved us paying for breakfasts as well. Carmel is a lovely town with lots of good restaurants and shops. It was the perfect place for a couple days exploring the magnificent coast. The beach in Carmel is really gorgeous too. Excellent hotel for $100 a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view (over the other buildings).
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Checkin was fine and we were given a ground floor room. Parking was a bit tight, room was fine and a reasonable size although closet and bathroom were pretty cramped. Closet would also have benefited from a light. Breakfast was pretty limited and not too healthy so we skipped it. Coffee was available in the room which also had a fridge. Wifi and Lan access were fine. Price was on the high side for Friday and Saturday but was about half the price on Sunday. Would probably stay here again if price was better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Excellent location for a few days in Carmel. Room was spacious and very comfortable. Staff provided excellent service. Easy access to everything in Carmel and a pleasant place. The rooms on the Dolores St side are very privateand added to the quality of the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jal9556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, General Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and the best praise our dedicated staff can receive is when our valued guests indicate their intent to return. I'm please you enjoyed our convenient location and our facility and by leaving a feedback you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We’ve been going to Carmel-by-the-Sea for many years, and each time we stay at the Carmel Town House. It’s a good value for the price and the hotel management will do their best to quickly accomodate your needs. We’ve stayed in several rooms, but our favorites are 328–331, which are located on Dolores St. It’s a quieter area as compared to the rooms on San Carlos St. There’s also covered parking beneath these rooms.

The rooms have been updated with modern furnishings, new carpeting and flat screen TVs. The rooms also include a safe, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, and coffee maker. The rooms do not have A/C, but there is a fan for circulation. We visit every Thanksgiving, but have stayed here often during the summer months. We found that A/C during our summer visits wasn’t necessary, since it was cool in the evening.

The hotel serves a continental breakfast in their small lobby area. There’s a decent selection of pastry, cereal, juices, etc. It’s tight and sometimes difficult to move around. However, the management recently acquired some office space on the corner and will be converting it into a breakfast room in early 2012.

The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and dining, and is about a 10 minute walk to the beach. The entire town is situated on a hill, so uphill climbs can be strenuous.

We can attest to the quality, cleanliness and value of this hotel. In fact, we’ve already made reservations for next Thanksgiving!

Room Tip: Request Dolores Street rooms. If not available, request a 2nd floor room. There are 2 nice family suites as well.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1TravelMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, General Manager at Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2011

Thank you for your recent review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews