We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Value, Comfort, Clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value, Comfort, Clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Three families with children ranging in ages from 3 - 14 enjoyed this inn very much. The weather was perfect, spent a lot of time at the pool (with our dog too.) We had the King Suite with adjoining double Queen room. The King Suite has TWO flat screen t.v.'s - one in the bedroom second in the seperate livingroom area.
A major plus the two minute walk across the parking lot to the "Barnyard" - an outdoor shopping "mall" with lots of restaurant choices. The beautiful meandering paths through little gardens, fountains and a fire pit was great for our large group. Our dog was welcomed everywhere - including dinner Robata Sushi's outdoor patio.
The price can't be beat - the staff wonderful and friendly. It's an easy 5 minute drive to downtown Carmel and a beach is right down the road

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Service Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
It is always a good feeling when our efforts are appreciated and we thank you for your review. Our goal is to provide a memorable experience in a sincere and humble manner at a great value. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates, packages and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    664
    203
    58
    46
See reviews for
465
687
42
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Unexpectedly nice. Great value. Comfortable for my husband,dog and I.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattnMarcyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Service Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Thank you for the review and I am truly glad we exceeded your expectations. As we strive to provide an outstanding value we will always be guide by a sense of humility combined with genuine care for our guests. We look forward to your return and thanks for choosing the Carmel Mission Inn. Please remember to contact us directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

Great modern rooms - excellent for the price (we paid $79). We had a level 4 room with a balcony. Spotlessly clean. Facilities included a massive flat screen tv and free wifi. Great location - only a 10 minute walk to Carmel Mission. Only complaint was the airconditioning unit was a little noisy. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berrnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

Had a very nice one night stay at the Carmel Mission Inn. Very modern interiors and updated grounds. We had the breakfast package with was 105 per night. Breakfast was quit nice as well. They accept dogs in there ground floor units for a 35 dollar per night fee. The fee is one of the more expensive we have paid. Our dog Jessica had a great time in Carmel. We will return. Great restaurants behind the hotel in the Barnyard. Try Lugano Swiss Bistro. It was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpperkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, guest service manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2010
We are pleased that you were able to experience what some consider the most beautiful place on earth and find a great value at the same time. Our goal is to be recognized as an outstanding hotel value in Carmel. Where you book your room is important so remember to call the hotel directly for the best rates, packages and service. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

This is an older property that has been nicely refurbished and well maintained. Clean, quiet, comfortable, convenient location, and safe. An excellent value if these things are important to you. We always stay here Sunday - Thursday when the rates are more reasonable and usually off season. Like all resort areas, Monterey/Carmel accomodations are very pricey Friday/Saturday and during the warmer months.
We intend to stay here many times in the future especially if the off season promotions continue.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Big_Kahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, guest service manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2010
We thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel Ca. hotel. We pride ourselves in providing an excellent value for our area and more and more travelers are discovering this. Where you book your reservation matters so please contact the hotel directly for the best rates, packages and service. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

We were not sure what to expect as this hotel is not in central Carmel. However what a find! We booked a King size superior room on the 4th floor which, along with the bathroom, was of a great size and well decorated. At $90. - Great value.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, guest service manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are glad that you were pleasantly surprised. Our convenient location has many benefits and our recent renovation conveys a chic, retro feel not found in most area hotels. In these trying times we strive to provide a "great value" to our guests and we appreciate your business. Always contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

I came down with the kids soccer team and we had a great time. The service was excellent and they accomodated special requests. I expected to pay an arm and a leg for breakfast. Instead I had a delicious omelette with organic eggs and fresh veggies for about ten dollars. It was great value and very reasonably priced. Now I must say if you were for there for a romantic getaway it might have been a bit noisy.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, guest service manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. The soccer teams were well behaved and blended well with the many bike riders on their Big Sur Hwy and Camel Valley trips. The romantics were just enjoying our recently renovated rooms. I'm glad you enjoyed our B&B package which is a great added value. Thanks for your business and please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates, packages and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing