We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean and friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST ! ! !
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A nice property a little away from downtown Carmel (5 min by car) but next to a large shopping area with a Safeway, Starbucks, gas stations and assorted shops and restaraunts. Pool and hot tub and nice staff make this a good place to stay. The rooms are large enough, clean and well furnished.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larryw696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    641
    198
    54
    45
See reviews for
442
671
39
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stopped here for 3 nights as a family of 4 and shared a room with 2 queen beds in. It is right by highway 1, so we found it very noisy. The air con was also very noisy, as was the drinks machine in the corridor outside. However the room was clean, beds quite comfy, shower good. There is a couple of outside malls right on the doorstep - with gas, a Safeway, some restaurants. The hotel have made a real effort with the outside communal areas, with lots of plants and flowers and good outdoor seating which makes it all look very attractive. The staff we dealt with were very helpful. There's a pool which we didn't have the chance to try out as we were so busy when there. The lift is a bit slow and we didn't have any trouble with the parking. I would eat elsewhere though, for the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GusGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great welcome, sorted out our lost booking and honoured our rate (thankfully) Good standard of rooms, super beds, great shower, quiet even though ours was by the outside whirlpool no sound penetrated & hotel full the first night of our stay. Air Con efficient, Gym small and ok if no demand otherwise forget it! Superb array of restaurants & 2 big supermarkets nearby (several charity shops as well if you are looking to get holiday clothing/loose stuff you have to a good cause) and Carmel just down the road is chocolate box perfect and very Doris Day! Breakfast pre purchased at reception, fair and I suppose worth the $10 if you eat well if not don’t. Definitely stay again at the right rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taizhou, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel locates just besides the highway. So you need to drive several minutes to the heart of carmel. But it is definitely not a problem. And to some extent, it is much more convenient since there are supermarket and gas station around.

The hotel is very beautiful. The room is very well decorated. I enjoy the stay very much.

The breakfast costs 10USD/person. But I didn't purchase.

Since the hotel in the heart of carmel is really expensive, the hotel is a good choice for budget control.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEI Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Cannot wait to stay again but next time I will be bringing my pup. Staff was excellent. Buffett in the morning was great. Very fresh with a great variety. My only complaint, if it is even a complaint, was we went out for dinner on the Saturday night we stayed there and when we came back to the hotel parking was very limited. Wish 1 spot would have been marked for the room we were staying in.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have been staying at this hotel off and on since the 1970's when the hotel opened. Through several changes it was always a little better. I think that what they are doing now has made an old location look and feel 'new'. We have enjoyed the stays there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We love staying at this hotel. It has a lovely relaxing feel to it surrounded by lush green hills and the rooms are spacious and well maintained. The pool and jacuzzi is lovely to relax by and shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Monterrey is just a short drive and Carmel right at the doorstep. This location is superb for visiting Point Lobos State Park, Carmel Valley and even Santa Cruz is an easy and pleasant drive.

The hotel staff are very warm and friendly and I found them very responsive if I needed anything such as extra pillows etc. We have stayed at this facility for 15 plus years and it feels like coming home each and every time. It is one of the nicer places to stay in the area but the Central Coast is known for its beauty and the hotels are not 'City luxurious' but it offers all the comforts of a well run facility, is clean,maid service is very good and location is excellent. It is also in a quiet location and I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are visiting the area.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice and well situated. I prefer higher floors and there is elevator access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltrekker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#17 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#18 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing