We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

On our 3-day-drive from LA to SFO we stayed the 2nd night in Carmel. When we arrived at Rio Road we were a bit shocked about the outside look of the 'Carmel Mission Inn'. It look a bit like a Motel from the 60's. But then it turned out to be a positive surprise!

Check-in was friendly and fast, got the instruction how to drive to our room. We had a room on the 3rd floor, with a nice balcony. The room itself was nicely renovated. Only when you open the curtains you see the old aluminum-framed windows and the older AC - but nothing to worry about.

The only two negative points are
- Internet very, very slow
- price a bit too high for what is offered

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is such an enjoyable hotel. They have great deals which include breakfast unlike many hotels in the area. The rooms are decorated great and are a very good size. There are also many lovely golf course near by.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My family and I recently spent three nights at the Carmel Mission Inn, our second time staying here. It's an older property, but has been nicely redecorated and is very well maintained. The hotel is conveniently located near a number of eating and shopping choices, and is mere steps away from The Barnyard shopping complex where we ate on two occasions. The swimming pool is nice and, although heated, it still not quite warm enough for a swim on a cool Carmel spring day.

I asked for a quiet room away from the elevators when I booked my room, and they delivered without me having to ask a second time. The rooms are standard-sized motel rooms, are in good condition and have obviously been revamped at some point. We had difficulty getting warm air from the heater, but they sent someone up quickly to fix this. My only complaint regarding the room has to do with the remodeled bathroom. First, the original door has been replaced with a sliding door that leaves a small gap even when closed, compromising privacy. Second, the original tub has been replaced by a shower stall with no door on it, so that if you point the showerhead in the wrong direction, the floor outside the shower gets soaked. Despite these issues, we slept well and found the room comfortable.

The in-room wifi is not terribly fast, and occasionally drops connections, but it wasn't as bad as some I've experienced. The kids were able to see each other's devices and play Minecraft PE over the network, so it was good enough for us. We paid for the breakfast buffet one of the mornings we were there. It was good, certainly better than the free breakfasts many hotels serve. I would recommend buying the breakfast voucher at check-in, however, because it gives you a discounted price and I would have been disappointed if I had paid more than the discounted price.

Overall, I would recommend the Carmel Mission Inn if you are okay with the caveats I've listed. We would stay there again if we return to Carmel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VenturaKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The fact that this hotel is pet friendly may explain the strong smell of air freshener that is overwhelming in the room. Maybe there is a way to have some rooms that are not pet friendly. I have allergies and would prefer a non-pet friendly room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Begic3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. I must correct the inaccuracy of your statement however. Yes we are a pet friendly hotel but these rooms are limited and restricted to certain areas only. Thus not all rooms are pet friendly. For anyone traveling to our hotel if you suffer from any allergies please let us know and we will make every effort to insure your comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed at the hotel this past weekend. The front desk agents were a little frazzled when I was trying to check in but they were friendly. The room was nice for our one night getaway. Loved the shower head. This is a perfect hotel if you are looking to stay near Carmel and not directly downtown. It is a short 1.5 mile drive to downtown. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nygirl437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Arriving early for check-in, but tired, having driven from San Francisco, we were extremely happy to be welcomed by George on the desk at the Carmel Mission Inn... His great attitude was the beginning of a wonderful stay... A room was ready for us, and was very well appointed and comfortable.
The complementary appetiser buffet and happy hour in the bar and dining area had a terrific atmosphere, with lots of guests and locals enjoying the place... we thoroughly enjoyed our evening; going on to also enjoy dinner in the restaurant. Deirdre was a friendly and knowledgeable staff member in the restaurant, and really made our evening very special...

Room Tip: Ground floor was good with close car access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband, my dog, and I completed our drive across America at the Carmel Mission Inn. The room was large with a warm, sophisticated ambience, not to mention a comfortable bed and fabulous shower. The price, more than reasonable, included a delicious breakfast in a beautiful restaurant.

Carmel is not very far from our home in Berkeley, so we plan on taking more mini vacations here. Houghton, our Aussie, loves running at the Carmel beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzi5245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
910 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
618 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.3 mi away
Carmel Bay View Inn
Carmel Bay View Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $132 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel
Carmel Mission Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing