We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
OC CA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is outside of the "village" but only a few minutes away by car, and close to other shops and restaurants.
The rooms are small but functional, clean and bright.

My main complaint is that the music from the bar was very loud and continued almost until midnight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    664
    203
    58
    46
See reviews for
465
687
42
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quinton, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A great place to stay. The Inn has friendly and helpful staff. We will use this place as our go to spot for Carmel. I'm a hotel snob, a tad obsessive about maintenance upkeep, clean carpets etc. At 1st glance the rooms color scheme throws you back and then you see the bathroom and check out the updated beds, by then you start to relax and settle into the experience. Carmel by the sea is a place that you will want to linger for a few days, so kick off your shoes and relax here. Dinged them for lack of accessible outlets for our electronic devices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of our PCH road trip. First impressions were good, access from highway 1 is very easy and a shopping mall directly behind the hotel provide several eatery and drinking venues plus a very large supermarket. We arrived 4 hours before the check in time but were allowed to go straight in and found our room to be large, comfortable and airy with all of the usual fittings.

Breakfast was ok and plentiful and certainly sets you up for the day. One big issue was waking up after the first night sleep only to find all of the water had been shut off to our part of the hotel due to an issue downstairs. This in turn washed mud into what looked like a nice pool and rendered that out of use. We managed a wash but some sort of apology and explanation would have been appreciated. This is why we have rated the hotel 3 stars instead of 4.

Carmel is as beautiful as the photos BUT be aware, it's about an hours walk into the town, it's quite hilly and there are no paths. We intended to walk in, have a meal and glass(or two) of wine then catch a taxi back - there are no taxis in Carmel! It is a very pretty walk but a ride home would have been the icing on the cake.

Top tips, sunset on the beach is like a dream, 17 Mile Drive is a must but take a picnic, Pebble Beach golf club is a must visit for golfers (golf very expensive, shop is fab and lunch in cafe very reasonable), Monteray is beautiful and the aquarium must be one of the best in the world.

Room Tip: All rooms seem ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMFTEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at the Carmel Mission Inn on a long awaited Girlfriend Get-a-Way. This hotel is everything we expected and more! Easy access off of Hwy. 1, and ample parking. The rooms are large and decorated in light and airy colors. The fresh hot breakfast is well worth the ten dollars. You will not be able to get a better value for a full hot breakfast anywhere. The staff and service is excellent. And the shopping across the parking lot at the Barnyard Mall was a great find. The outdoor courtyard with the firepit was a great place to unwind at the end of the day with a glass of the local wines you will find in the area. The gals will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fourmunkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We decided to go to Carmel by the Sea at the last minute and booked accommodations at The Carmel Mission Inn at the last minute. The location is convenient to Highway One and just as you enter down. Keeps you away from the busy Ocean St traffic. The rooms are a good size and decorated in Jetson colours of green and turquoise. The complimentary breakfast is good. A nice variety of offerings. We did have a light dinner one night in the bar and it was good. Stick to burgers or that kind of light fair. For the value would recommend this location. The pool area is small and located in the central courtyard. We think a tour group was there at the same time, so breakfast was pretty busy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j2b2m2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We appreciate your review of the Carmel Mission Inn. We are pleased that you find our hotel a good value, comfortable and clean. You also mentioned the complimentary breakfast which is part of our bed and breakfast package. It is our best value and only available on our website or by calling the hotel direct. We truly appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a fairly large hotel with free parking and very clean comfortable rooms. Our room was in the back of the hotel in a quiet area. When you check in, a breakfast is offered at a discounted price. Take the offer. It’s a good value for the money and very convenient. The hotel staff was great and assisted us with a problem we had with our rental car. We would stay here again if ever in the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WWLJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for the many kind words about the Carmel Mission Inn. We are very proud of our hard-working and dedicated staff. Your recognition of their efforts will be shared with them. Stating that you would stay with us again is greatly appreciated and we thank you for your business. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a big hotel located by the highway and a retail park. Spacious, welll equipped and spotlessly clean rooms, a bit international in style for our taste. Rooms at the back are quieter. Excellent location to visit the Carmel Valley vineyards and for San Juan Bautista.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmills55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We appreciate your business as well as the many kind words written about our hotel. Our hard-working housekeeping staff does an extraordinary job in keeping our guestrooms clean and we thank you for recognizing their efforts. We hope you will choose to stay with us again whenever in the area and please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing