We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Well located for Highway 1 and San Juan Bautasta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST ! ! !
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Well located for Highway 1 and San Juan Bautasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a big hotel located by the highway and a retail park. Spacious, welll equipped and spotlessly clean rooms, a bit international in style for our taste. Rooms at the back are quieter. Excellent location to visit the Carmel Valley vineyards and for San Juan Bautista.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmills55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We appreciate your business as well as the many kind words written about our hotel. Our hard-working housekeeping staff does an extraordinary job in keeping our guestrooms clean and we thank you for recognizing their efforts. We hope you will choose to stay with us again whenever in the area and please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    641
    198
    54
    45
See reviews for
442
671
39
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Mission Inn as part of our 2nd leg along Highway 1. we only stayed 1 night but the hotel is very nice. It is right off Highway 1 so for anyone travelling on that route it's very handy. Bedrooms are very nice and spacious, and a good breakfast is a great start to the day. There is a complex next door which has places to eat, shops etc which is also nice. We ate at the italian restaurant and it was good. You need transport to go into Carmel town but it's only 5 mins away. We didn't get much time to look around but we did go to Monterey Pier which was great. Not as good as Fishermans Wharf in San Francisco but good anyway. There is a pool if the weather is good and overall wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear spacious and clean. King beds as well. Very impressed with tihs hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinnyjgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We appreciate you sharing the experience as one of our valued guests and we are glad you would choose to stay with us again. It sounds like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is truly our best value. We look forward to seeing you again and please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had a wonderful stay on a Friday night during the Monterey Jazz Festival. Room was spacious and clean, mattress and pillows were just right (a good sleep is the basic thing, right?) and the breakfast was simple but amazing (good coffee, great omelette, potatoes, bacon and chocolate cake). If it were also included in the price it would have been perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
From your comments it sounds like you got a great night sleep at the Carmel Mission Inn. Mattresses can sometimes be a very subjective experience but it sounds like you enjoyed ours. You mentioned the good breakfasts which hopefully was part of our bed and breakfast package. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

What a little gem , a very clean professionally run hotel , free wifi and lovely rooms. , a nice pool too , free parking and a lovely breakfast was a bonus , your only minutes from everything here , I would stay here again and again .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieB910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Intend to return is always very important to us and it seems like you truly enjoyed your stay at the Carmel Mission Inn. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to provide clean and comfortable guestrooms and as such we are very proud of them. It sounds like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is a great value. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for our best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

this hotel is an excellant place to stay in carmel. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. I cant say enough about the staff, from the time we checked in the entire staff was extremly friendly and helpfull. I didnt have any issues at all and would recommend this hotel to everyone. The location was perfect and the bar and restaurant was very nice. it just happened to be my birthday and they even recognized that and upgraded my room. Thank You all for a wonderfull experience and 5 star service, i will be back.

Room Tip: if you smoke get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We truly appreciate your comments about friendly and helpful staff. We are very proud of their efforts and we thank you for your recognition. We also thank you for your stating you would stay with us again. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a 2 night stop over in Carmel. Rooms were really clean and well equipped with things you might need. Staff were friendly and helpful. Located in between 2 shopping areas that were nice for a meander round and also with good and varied places to eat. Short hop down into town and the beaches so all in all a good place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Troodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We truly appreciate the many kind words you wrote about our hotel. We truly believe what separates us from the others is our great staff, who we are very proud of. We thank you for your business and hope to be able to serve you again. Please contact us directly or visit our websites for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fantastic service, very clean! There are Large stylish rooms with comfortable beds. High end fixtures and linens. Perfectly situated midway between downtown and Point Lobos Reserve. We reserved a suite thinking we'd have two separate rooms with beds however discovered one of the rooms only had a fold-out couch. Reception kindly obliged in organizing adjoining rooms for a slightly higher fee. Pool, spa and garden are all clean and well tended. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We thank you for rating us a “great place to stay” which we feel is a testament to our hard-working, dedicated staff. It seems like you visited Point Lobos which many feel is the jewel of the California Park system and a breathtaking place to visit. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#17 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#18 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing