We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Comfortable Place to Stay!”
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Value & Comfortable Place to Stay!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My best girlfriend and I ran the marathon at Big Sur and we decided to book our stay (last minute) right by the finish line! The hotel has been remodeled and the rooms are super comfortable and nicely decorated. We slept very well in the beds both nights and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet one of the mornings. I was pleasantly surprised - the food selection was very good and the service was great. The restaurant is very nice. We didn't use our drink vouchers but they offered these as well and they have live music during the weekends. I was impressed by the staff - they were incredibly nice and helpful. Lastly, the location is fantastic - right by the Barnyard and very close to downtown Carmel. We rented bikes at Bay Bikes (right behind hotel!) and biked along the Carmel 17-mile drive to Pebble Beach and Back... it was awesome! Hotel staff was very accommodating with our luggage storage too. I'd definitely recommend this place to friends and family!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for your comments about the Carmel Mission Inn indicating our hotel as a “great value”. Your comments about our staff will also be shared with them as they truly enjoy positive feedback about their efforts. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    714
    215
    60
    51
See reviews for
511
733
49
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This a beautifully maintained hotel. It has been recently renovated and the decor is of a contemporary/modern style. From the bedding to the shears, everything is beautiful. The location is also perfect. When visiting Carmel, this hotel is a must!

Room Tip: The rooms with Balconies are a little extra but certainly worth it to breath in the early morning fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebellesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Recently traveled to Carmel, CA. It was a road trip with a business associate, and his company was paying so when we checked in, he choose a room with two beds. I normally do not share a room, but again, business. So we check into the Mission Inn. I have stayed here many times as a solo or with my wife and have always found the rooms nice, clean etc.
Putting two beds in the rooms this size makes it a bit crowded. The Bath, while updated, and nice is tight again. No place for two shaving kits, etc. The BR with no workspace due to the two queen beds is not large enough for work. So my suggestion, great place for couples, good place for a singe. Very good location, nice breakfast buffet package with the room. I will return, just not with a business associate unless we have our own rooms. No problem with the person, just too crowded.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitch w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was here with some girlfriends November, 2012. We had a great time. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Bathroom was nice and clean.
I will come back again with my husband soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Loved it. We needed 2 rooms for 2 nights, so cost was a big determining factor for us. We got a really good deal here. The rooms were great. Big, nice decor and clean. Good pool. The hotel had a very hip vibe to it. Great restaurants easily walkable. We will always try to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petaluma,ca
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Im from Carmel and choose this property because it is just great. The staff-the food the pool-the dog friendly rooms and trails. You can go out the back and be at the Barnyard for dinner at Bahama Billys or go to breakfast there too. Great thrift stores-Hospice and SPCA. Cross the other way and are at the Crossroads with great shopping and dining. A quick trip to the beach-to Clint Eastwoods Mission Ranch-to the town.The rooms are redone and so cute-there is a great firepit-good bar-so nothing else left to say except go-you wont regret it!

Room Tip: grpund floor are usually for dog lovers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wells707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We was unsure about hotel when we first arrived not what we expected on first impressions, but was pleasantly surprised, helpful check in, large rooms with all the usual bits and bobs. Decided to eat in hotel restaurant on the first night made very welcome by bar staff and had a superb (probably best meal of our road trip) a rib eye beef steak which was delicious. The hotel was not far from the quaint town of Carmel and its beautiful beach. If you want a good beef burger meal and pint of Guinness check out Flanagan's behind the rear of the hotel in the shopping village.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for your review of our Carmel CA hotel. I am glad that you were pleasantly surprised about your experience. We hear that comment often and it always makes us feel good. We truly appreciate your business and sincerely hope that you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
652 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
856 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing