We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, great staff!”
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice room, great staff!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at Carmel Mission Inn for one night during our tour of the California coast in August. The room was very clean and the staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful! Definitely a great option if you don't mind being a few minutes out of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the review of the Carmel Mission Inn and for acknowledging our friendly staff. They do an excellent job and we are very proud of all of them. Clean rooms are very important to us as is providing a great value to our guests. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Remember to contact us direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    717
    215
    60
    52
See reviews for
514
734
49
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Chatham, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a good, clean, roomy room with a balcony, and all the comfort we needed. 5 minutes to downtown Carmel, 10 to Monterey, and then you're back and out of traffic with a convenient shopping center across the street, but without the feeling of being in a shopping center. The only downside for us was the in-room heating system. It was a wall unit run off of a thermostat, and when the thermostat called for more heat (it was February), the unit was pretty loud.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the review of our Carmel CA hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location and clean comfortable guestrooms. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed two nights for a conference. The room was large and clean. Staff was very helpful. Their website doesn't show it, but there is a small fitness center on site, along with a nice looking pool. As another reviewer mentioned, there is a shopping center across the street with a number of restaurants. There is also one right behind the hotel. The rooms have a small safe, refrigerator and high def TV.

Although there is free Wi-Fi, the signal strength is low in some parts of the property and if too many people are logged on already, you can't log on. That's the only negative and is really not a big deal.

On check in you can pre purchase the buffet breakfast at a discount. Breakfast had the usual scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, fruit, potatoes, oatmeal and various pastries.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PelicanDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed our clean guestrooms, convenient location, and helpful staff. We are proud of our staff and they do an excellent job. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact us direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked this on Expedia with a low rate. Pulling up it looked like a pretty dodgy motel...there was a loud holiday party with rather scary looking drunk men around. Luckily we were put in the back of the hotel, which is away from the main road, very quiet and we had an upper level room with an inside entrance. The room was small but very nice and the bathroom was newly renovated, pretty tiny but very nice as well.
Perfect place to crash overnight for pretty cheap. No complimentary coffee in the morning in the lobby but they do offer 2 computers for internet.
Tip: Request a back room - away from the street/noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are glad that you found us a pleasant surprise. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come and stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a wedding near Carmel and this hotel was upon recommendation of the couple. The couple got married at the end of October 2012 during the time of Hurricane Sandy. While we were safe in the warm California sun, we were not able to return home as planned due to the storm. The Carmel Mission Inn were great about it as they extended our room each night that we were delayed.
The Inn itself is clean, simple but nice rooms with modern decor. I loved the blue light above the bed. They had a nice pool and hot tub open late. While we did not eat at the Inn, they had a nice bar. The Inn is at a premier location right near the Barn, the Mission, the village of Carmel, and off of PCH en route to Big Surl.
Even though we were there for a wedding, I really enjoyed visiting Carmel and Big Sur! While we were sad about the storm back east, we were happy to extend our stay in beautiful Carmel and the Mission Inn.

Room Tip: My room had a balcony overlooking the pool, which was nice. *On a side note, be careful driving, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of the Carmel Mission Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed our clean guestrooms, modern decor, heated pool and hot tub. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a lovely, clean, friendly hotel. The staff were so helpful, giving us lots of useful local info. There is a nice out of town shopping centre accross the road which we were directed as we arrived too early to check in. The room was huge and very comfortable. The breakfast was great although it was a bit strange having to pay $4 for a glass of juice! Thanks Carmel Mission Inn for a great stay x

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LittleSparrow81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for the excellent review of the Carmel Mission Inn. Our friendly staff goes out of their way to make sure your stay is most enjoyable. Sounds like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is a great value. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again. Please contact the hotel direct for the exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is the 4th time we have stayed at this hotel. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. The grounds and patio are well maintained -- beautiful flowers and plants !
If you stay in the off- season, the value is tremendous -- as breakfast from the menu and 2 drink tickets are included. The breakfast menu has about 10 items -- the quality was exceptional -- the servce, delightlful. Items such as omelets, huevos rancheros and eggs benedict were included.
We played cards comfortably in the bar area with our friends -- Bar tender was amenable to our game and served excellent drinks.
Needless to say, the area is also beautiful. Remember to go to Point Lobos-- just south of the hotle.

Room Tip: Try for one near the spa and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshmello4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel. Sounds like you enjoyed your trip to Point Lobos which is in close proximity to our hotel. The bed and breakfast package is truly an outstanding value and I’m glad you were able to take advantage of that. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates, packages and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
653 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing