We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very large comfortable bedroom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very large comfortable bedroom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Ok, so this hotel/motel is not in Carmel-by-the-sea, but once you get over that fact and as long as you have a car, you can enjoy this 4 star property and the fact that you are not paying twice the price to be in a less modern and comfortable property in the seafront village. We loved our large room with king-size bed and lovely bed linen. The bathroom was excellent and also large. We did not make use of the heated outdoor pool and hot tub, but other people did. The breakfast was included in our rate and was fantastic. There were at least 10 hot options to choose from including American breakfast, pancakes, omelets and french toast. Across the road from the hotel is a Starbucks, cvs, safeway and small outdoor shopping mall, there are also a collection of shops behind the carpark at the back of the property. Best place to eat in Carmel-by-the-sea for lunch is La Bicicyclette, and best place for dinner is Mission RANCH (Clint Eastwood's place). The Prime Rib is delicious, the cocktails are good and piano player and local singers make for a great night out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our hotel and we are pleased that you enjoyed the guest room. Sounds like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is a great deal. We appreciate your business and hope you will return. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for those exclusive offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    642
    198
    54
    45
See reviews for
444
673
39
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Carmel Mission Inn Thanksgiving night through the weekend for a wedding. Upon check in we had to provide the ID for the person who's card held the room even though that wasn't the card that we were paying for the stay with. It wasn't a problem as we were both there however I've never been asked for this before and would have been quite put out had someone reserved the room and not been with us at check in. The room was clean. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was very nice and well appointed, it even offered bathrobes. The grounds are overflowing with beautiful flowers which gives it a wonderful feel, not like a cookie cutter hotel. The pool was nice and there was a lovely fire pit in the courtyard that provided a nice place to gather and stay warm once the sun went down. Right off Hwy 1 and 5 mins into downtown Carmel and the beach. I slept well and would gladly go back. For the price you can't beat this in Carmel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and didn't have any hot water problems as another reviewer did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff and the garden areas. Knowing that you would return is a great vote of confidence. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

For a roadside Motel/Hotel this place is really good. Situated just outside of Carmel center close to Highway 1, this place is a good base to explore the area if you don't want to spring for one of the more posher options around. The rooms seem recently renovated in a somewhat wacky, retro americana style. The staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed here on a very cold weekend and the heater didn't work in our room. Even though it was late at night, the maintenance came right by and figured out they couldn't fix it, So they switched us to another room with no hesitation. Would stay again, good option if you don't expect a super high end place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmodrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and your acknowledgement of our friendly staff. We appreciate your business and knowing that you would stay with us again. We hope to see you again soon and please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed one night at the Mission Inn. Check in was smooth and front desk staff friendly and efficient. Room decor and furnishings were nice, room and bathroom were clean. On the surface it appeared the hotel was a well run operation with staff, rooms and grounds. However, I went to take a shower and my positive thoughts about the property went all downhill.

I turned the shower on and waited for the water to get warm, we were on the 4th floor and thought it may need a minute to get warm. Unfortunately, the water only went to luke warm at best and really stayed cold.

If the hotel could improve / fix the water heater that serves the 4th floor it would be a good little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oak01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments and acknowledging our friendly staff. We apologize for the inconvenience with the hot water. We did have a roof leak impacting the hot water and it has been addressed and fixed. We hope you will stay with us again and please remember to contract the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Staff efficient and friendly on arrival with good knowledge of local area and restaurants.
Large contemporary quiet room, clean with good facilities, lovely bathroom. Very good complimentary breakfast, (only a tip required).
Plenty of free parking on site. Good restaurants within walking distance.
Short drive into Carmel.
Definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monsters_Ink_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for specifically mentioning our friendly and efficient staff. We are very proud of them. I'm also pleased that your enjoyed our breakfast and I hope you took advantage of our bed & breakfast package which is our best deal. We hope to see you again and please remember to contact us directly or visit our website for that exclusive deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is one of the original Holiday Inn's but now a WONDERFUL boutique hotel. The rooms are decorated very appealing and "Happy". The staff is helpful, breaksfast delicious and the fireplaces in the evening so inviting! Great Place to stay! We were in room 428!

Room Tip: Great location to downtown Carmel, Monterey, and Big Sur!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandprincess28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was unsure what this hotel would be like, as it looked a little basic. I hadn't paid a lot for it so really wasn't expercting a lot, just a bed for the night. I was pleasantly surprised. At check in we got a free upgrade to a balcony room, which over looked the pool and the beautiful mountain view in the background. The receptionist was so helpful, and spent a lot of time recommending restaurants and places of interest. Behind the hotel is a place called the Barnyard. At night there are some lovely restaurants to chose from and shops to have a wonder around. Its located around a 5-10 minute drive into Carmel. This area is stunning, and has a quaint and quirky old English feel to it. The beach is beautiful!! This was our favourite hotel throughout the whole of our flydrive holiday. I would definitely go back and wished I'd spent more than 1 night here.

Room Tip: The Balcony rooms were lovely, I would definitely pay for one of these next time. Perfect location f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairesjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#15 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#19 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing