We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend but read..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Recommend but read..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is my 2nd stay here so I recommend it if you're looking for an nice but economical hotel in Carmel.

First stay was December 1.5 years ago for a diving trip to Point Lobos & Monastery Beach.

This time was for a quick weekend getaway to relax and enjoy the weather.

So.. I recommend this hotel if you plan on doing activities outside of your room.

Location - close drive to nearby activities.

Clean - it's clean.

Room - BRING EARPLUGS for your kids! Walls are paper thin! No need to explain further.
- nice shampoo, conditioner and soap (big deal for me)
- upgraded to have a balcony. It's nice for fresh air but the view of the roof below us & road wasn't great. But again, it's an economical hotel so I'm not complaining.
- towels are hard and rough (now I'm complaining.)

Pool/ hot tub - eh. Go to the beach

Staff - didn't see any other than checking in. Nothing to say about this, good or bad.

Restaurant - there is one but didn't eat there so I have no feedback.

Overall - I recommend this hotel for a quick getaway trip that includes outside activities & earplugs. I will stay here again for next dive.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenJSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    648
    200
    57
    46
See reviews for
454
678
40
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My sweetie and I came here for a wedding anniversary. Although the location isn't the most picturesque, everything else was amazing. That said, if you want to walk to the grocery store or shops they are nearby, including the weekly Farmer's market. The hotel is super clean, well appointed, ultra-modern and stylish. We loved the oceanic colours and the fun details like the glowing light above the bed to light up the underwater mural in the dark (optional). The rooms were super quiet which is extremely important to me. We did not hear other guests or the highway noise.
We had a wonderful breakfast at the hotel each day, and enjoyed sitting on our balcony, at the pool and in the hot tub. The staff were super friendly and helpful.
We will kept booking extra nights we liked it so much, and we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool. It is a really nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moroccanmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

chose this hotel as it looked so green on pictures - and it really is! love it! beautiful room, pool, lobby. staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - i did have many questions about carmel and big sur and they were clued up and happy to answer all my queries. room has perfect facilities - showers are plush with plenty of toiletries. thank you for the tea and coffee making facilities! wish i stayed longer!
only problem - couldnt find it - tucked away behind gas station - drove past it 3 times! doh! xx

Room Tip: room 216 - perfect view of pool - just gorgeous xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were first greeted by George at the front desk, who was helpful, friendly and extremely attentive. For those of you who travel a lot, you'll know that this is not always a given. All the other front desk staff were equally helpful and friendly, so it's not a fluke...it says a lot about the work environment, the management, and the level of ownership that staff feel.

We loved the funky decor (great colours!) and the amenities were exactly what we needed for our road trip to Carmel. It is very well situated and has beautiful landscaping.

We highly recommend this Inn and thank the staff again for a great stay :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSTD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel CA hotel. Your thoughts about our friendly staff and your recognition of George will be shared with our staff. We are glad you had a "great stay" and we appreciate your business. We hope you will stay with us again and plese remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here on two separate occasions during our trip up and down the coast. Both times we had a good experience. Check in staff were friendly and helpful. Parking is virtually right outside the room. Rooms are a good size especially if you don't have a balcony but even if you do there's plenty of room to move around the room even with two suitcases on the floor.

Each room had a really comfy king size bed, desk for working, good wifi signal, fridge, coffee maker, safe and decent size (looked about 37") flat screen TV, plus a decent comfy chair to watch it in. There was also a powerful AC unit as well although we didn't need it for the second stay.

Bathrooms were slightly different in both rooms. One had a walk in shower and one had a shower over the tub - both very good. Gilchrist & Soames toiletries in the bathrooms which is a nice touch if you like that sort of thing. Both rooms were very clean which is always something I look for straight away and for me is always the main ingredient.

For $119 + tax I reckon you'd be hard pushed to find better value in and around this area. It's not convenient for a stroll to the beach or around town but then you'd hopefully know that before booking. This is a great place to stop and break your journey or use as a base for this area if you don't want to pay high $. I had some concerns before booking the first time as from the map it seems too close to the highway. This was not an issue and we heard nothing from the road.

The only negative comment I have is with regard to breakfast. If you want breakfast at the 'special' rate of $7 each you have to say so at check in. The first time we stayed we opted for breakfast as we didn't know the area and whether there was anywhere local to get something. This was a mistake. Breakfast consists of a self serve buffet style affair. Cooked options didn't look that appealing so we opted for cereal and fruit from a pretty poor choice. There was no toast or fruit juice which at breakfast I find incredible. The kicker for me is that we were served coffee at the table(there was no self serve option) and then left a check by the waitress with the gratuity option circled heavily in pen. Gratuity for what? Unacceptable.

I would stay here again but get breakfast somewhere else.

Room Tip: second floor room without balcony if you want more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justanothertourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our Carmel CA hotel and your comments will be shared with our staff. We are pleased that you found our staff "very friendly" and that you noted the cleanliness of our rooms. We stive to provide an outstanding value in our area and we appreciate you comments and your business. We hope to see you again and please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, BC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Although Carmel is supposedly such a romantic place, we found Monterey more to our liking. We stayed at the Carmel Mission Inn because it looked so inviting on the website. When we arrived (March 2011) we were told that the pool and hot tub were not operational. This is one of the things we were really looking forward to. Then the people who checked in next door to us were extremely noisy - in and out of their room many times - and the door was so squeaky it really annoyed us. We complained to the reception staff who did not care one bit and made no effort to accommodate us in a more quiet room or to make up for no pool accessibility. For the cost per night it was not worth it. Not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandSMacHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Our records indicate that the hot tub was down for scheduled repair one morning during March but was back in service shortly after 1pm. Again I apologize for the inconvenience. We hope you will choose to stay with us agian as we value all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stopped in Carmel on our way to see the Big Sur. For the area it may be a good value. Having just come from a Hilton Homewood in Sacramento it seemed pricey for what we got. We were "upgraded" in lieu of a AAA discount. Our room looked like the one pictured except that it was small and cramped. There was a door in the building that tended to slam every time someone passed through it. Our time there was punctuated by that slamming door.

I had a disagreement with staff about the key card. When we came back from dinner, my card didn't work. The man helping me with the problem strongly implied that I was too old to work the card correctly. Since I had been using a key card often for the last five days, I resented that remark. I also thought it was inappropriate. Whether or not I'm old has nothing to do with a non-working card. When I complained the next morning about his attitude, he again argued with me implying once more that I didn't know how to use it. I thought he should have solved the problem and kept his thoughts to himself.

Some of the hotel was beautifully landscaped. I enjoyed that extra touch. Dinner was available in the restaurant, but we chose to eat close by.

Would I return to this hotel? Not unless that staff person has been retrained. I thought my upgraded room was basically a 4th floor room. It was nicely done, but so cramped I could hardly move around in the space.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarilynneS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your comments will be shared with our staff. I apologize for the problems with your key card and any insinuation that the problem was related to your use of that device. We value all of our guests and sincerely hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing