We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for a one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good enough for a one night stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel - just one night - for our trip from San Francisco to Santa Barbara. Nothing really spectacular, but there is nothing really to complain about either for what we considered our "budget" hotel for vacation. Just a couple of miles from all the neat little shops in Carmel and Pebble Beach. This hotel must be pet friendly - we heard dogs in the room next door. Clean, quiet, good breakfast, couple of computers to use next to the lobby, caters to the older crowd.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bremt06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    723
    215
    60
    55
See reviews for
522
737
49
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the Carmel Mission Inn - when we arrived we were slightly worried about the location, but it turned out to be a lovely hotel and was very quiet, despite it being behind a petrol station. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. Our teenage girls had the next door room and they had an interconnecting door with us. We had great weather (but we are English so the temperature seemed fine to us!). The swimming pool is heated to the temperature of a warm bath so was lovely to swim in during the early evening and there is a lovely, large hot spa tub to sit in too. Breakfast is served in the dining room and is a self service buffet with lots of choice.

It wasn't a cheap hotel, but we thought it was good value and was one of the nicest places we stayed in, with nice decor and lovely planting around the garden areas.

Tip - don't, whatever you do visit Allegro Pizza behind the hotel in the shopping mall! Worst meal we had in our 17 day trip!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailso5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are please that your stay was relaxing and that you found the guestrooms to be clean and comfortable. The heated pool is a favorite as well as the large spa. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and I hope you took advantage of our bed & breakfast package. We hope to see you again soon and please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best deals and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2011

A friendly place with decent rates. Close to shopping centers, restaurants. Nice room.

Room Tip: Comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your business. We strive to be an oustanding value in the Carmel area. Our staff works hard to insure your stay can be the best it can be. Although we are not perfect we are glad you appreciate the effort. We hope to see you again and please remember to call the hotel or book on our website for the best deals and service. Check out our bed & breakfast package - a great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Clean hotel, very spacious rooms, nice staff, loved the bathrobes. I wish they had enough counter space in the bathroom. It was somewhat challenging to put our stuff in there. Also wish they had an indoor pool. Carmel was freezing in August and the heater in the room was on all night.
The main issue was the internet. It was free but very unreliable. Most of the time we did not have connection, and they told us it was a common problem at their hotel. Other guests complained about it too. It was especially hard because our phones had no service inside the room.
Aside from that, we recommend this hotel. It is beautiful and clean, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoPolo555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed at Carmel Mission Inn as part of Big Sur road trip. The Inn is a motel that offers more like a hotel experience. Friendly and helpful staff.
In terms of the accomodation the room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. The Inn has a heated pool and in house bistro/restaurant. Although most guests seem to walk over the road to the out of town mall where the Rio Grill is.
I would recommend Carmel Mission Inn for an overnight stopover, nice, clean and comfortable. It's a bit out of Carmel town centre just to manage peoples expectations. 5 minute drive into the town centre. So if you want to walk to the shops, boutiques in town, you'd be better off finding one of the B&Bs in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OverSeaOverLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Apart from the initial confusion over our booking, which was sorted out after a while, our room was just fine, spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel was not what we expected - right near a busy road junction - but with a traditional motor-inn feel updated for 21st century. However, our room was quiet and perfectly good for a couple of nights stop. Be sure to try the little shopping village next door (across the car park esp the Hawaiian restaurant), we were really pleasantly surprised by the facilities on our doorstep. Great place to base yourselves for a visit to Carmel and Monterey. Great service in the hotel restaurant with an excellent wine list too. A surprisingly good stopover, if not a little quirky!

Room Tip: Away from lift, main doors and car park, pool view room was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyc0mbeWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Carmel Mission Inn during our California Coast drive. Our room was comfortable and well equipped. We thought the breakfast was very good and the staff polite, welcoming and friendly. It was a perfect base from which to explore the area, Monterey Aquarium and The Carmel Mission were two of our favourites. We would definitely recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mswheeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
660 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
872 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe

Property: Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel
Carmel Mission Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing