We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

Very nice room, even though it didn't have much of a bay view, which we paid extra for. This hotel is walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Very convenient. It also sits across the street from a very good restaurant. Too much hassle to set up internet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepsee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    459
    179
    45
    31
See reviews for
226
620
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

Yes you can see the bay if your room is on top of the hill!
Room with lovely corner gas fireplace, comfortable bed, quiet, and a breakfast room buffet kept fresh by a friendly attendant. Good value in a pricey town!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerdian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFBayArea, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

I didn't expect too much from this motel, but did expect better based on the reviews here on TA. The property was beautifully maintained and in a great location. (Within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants as well as the beach!) The room was clean and somewhat tastefully decorated but a little on the small side. As for the most important part of the room - the bed - I'm really not sure what people are used to sleeping on, but I would have to strongly disagree with the reviews that state "comfortable beds." This was honestly one of the top 5 worst mattresses I have ever NOT slept on. In addition, the "queen size" bed seemed to be closer to a full size. I travel to this area several times a year and would have loved to have made this property my home base, unfortunately I need a good night's sleep, so that won't be happening.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

Had a 2 night stay here. The room was large, with good facilities. The extra $ to upgrade to an ocean view was well worth the money. Familiarise yourself Carmel, a very quaint town with no chain stores. There are some hidden gems to be found. An ideal base to discover the Monterey peninsular and a good place to stop after driving up Route 1 along the Big Sur coast.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemper_Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

My wife and I only stayed one night but this place gave us exactly what we were looking for......a very fair price, great location, quiet room and complimentary breakfast. Our room was number 33. Among other things, the larger than normal room offered.... carpet that looked brand new, crown moulding, plantation shutters and Kohler plumbing fixtures. I did not use the internet, so I can't comment on that. The breakfast was nothing special but very adequate.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

Literally, if you're in town for a night and you plan on spending most of your time out and about enjoying the city and not lounging, this place is good enough. Expedia for $102 all in.

Most B&Bs require 2 night stays and average around $175 to $250 for a place you can stay in. BW was clean, new digs, couple of lounge chairs, and a queen bed. Cable internet is free (no wifi) was a plus. And there is covered parking. We splurge the savings on a nice(r) dinner.

The room itself, room #30, was OK sized - again, it's not somewhere you can lounge and hang out. But everything was clean to shower and sleep in. Floors were clean. There was an odor in the room, but we suspect it may be from the gas fireplace (not romantic at all).

The only other thing is that the walls are thin - good at night but if the neighbors or staff is up early and cleaning, it could get pretty loud, But we were up anyways and getting ready.

We stayed in the extended bungalow so not sure if it's better/worse or cheaper/more expensive for the attached apartment ones.

It's only a hop and a skip (literally one block to the first street of downtown). There is also a market right next door to get food and supplies.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ike301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

For the price, this place is pretty average! Clean enough but my white socks did get a bit dirty walking across the carpet. The bathroom was very clean which was nice. I would like to suggest that they change the bedspreads. The ones they have look like they have been used since the place opened and just really were aesthetically unattractive.

The parking is great though and the front desk staff very pleasant.

Stayed April 2010
Helpful?
Thank redovergreen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing