We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT hotel - especially for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Dallas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT hotel - especially for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

Great hotel, clean and very comfy beds. Location is great for shopping/dining. Our room had a "beach view" which was essentially a little bit of ocean you could see past the trees. But considering how tight the area is and how inexpensive this hotel was compared to others with the same view (a couple hundred cheaper) it was a great deal.

Use the 15% off coupon from the hotel to go to Portabella's - great food, rated well by NY Times. Can't lose! (discount also applies to alcohol!)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollergirlusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    457
    179
    45
    31
See reviews for
226
618
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

Carmel is so lovely. Bay View is Perfect for the experience.
We are down town Carmel what a treat .Their is so much to experience with the proper preparation . The hotel doesnt have alot of amenities but serve the purpose perfectly.

Would stay again.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danielreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

When we checked in, our room was so cold we could see our breath. We had intended to work before dinner, but when we also discovered that the DSL didn't work, we turned up the thermostat (it had been set below 40 degrees), went out, and found a place with WiFi where we could sit. When we returned at 9:30pm, the room was still frigid--someone had left a window open behind the curtain in 35-degree weather. The desk clerk was utterly uninterested in helping with Net access. He argued with us and denied that the reservations clerk could have promised us Internet connections--I had asked particularly because I knew we were going to need to use it for work that night, and I had been told that the hotel provided free broadband in all rooms. No manager was available; the DSL helpline said the problem was the hotel's, which the day clerk confirmed the next morning. Breakfast was minimal--bad coffee, watery orange juice, cold muffins, and cold cereal. In summer, the pleasant view would be an attraction, but it doesn't add much in the dark.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

We only had the one night in this hotel in early November. When booking in Carmel this was one of the most reasonable hotels we found. Location-wise it's great, Carmel seems pretty small anyway, but this is one block from the main street.

The check in was good and the room was a good size. There's a small swimming pool on site and complimentary breakfast is included in the price. My only criticism was that our room was drafty. You could see daylight around the door and as the night we stayed there was chilly, we woke up cold. I guess in the summer this wouldn't pose a problem.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLonelyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, PA
Level Contributor
306 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

We enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was very good but don't often see the server placing a tip jar alongside the food. There was only one public computer in a very bare uninviting front office and it was there I heard the desk clerk quote a room price that was clearly below mine. I questioned my internet rate at check-out and was told oh well, that was the rate then. My persistance got my amount due lowered so always call anonymously right before you arrive and re-verify the going rate. You might save a few bucks.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2seniorcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

We stayed here in September 2009 while in town for a wedding and ended up in a room right over the office. There was no soundproofing at all and we could hear everything from downstairs and other guests walking around the parking lot. Barely got any sleep. Only after checking in did we find that this hotel sits right on a truck route (so if you like listening to trucks this is the place for you). After complaining we were relocated to a room on the back side of the hotel (major improvement). On the plus side the hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RooRoo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Carmel is expensive and this Best Western is consequently higher priced than a comparable property in Bakersfield!

What this property offers are nice touches of colorful flowers adorning the railings, creatively folded towels in the bathrooms which for some reason is a nice touch, a tasty continental breakfast with bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee and a swimming pool which needs to be cooled down from its bathtub temperature. The stairwell's are old and a bit on the miniature golf (carpet) cheap side. You drive around the block to reach the balcony room parking lot. There is only slow elevator access to the upper floor and breakfast room. One guest who was claustrophobic had to walk around the block because she could not handle the confines of the elevator!

Four of us stayed in 2 rooms on the fourth floor in the "balcony" building. We enjoyed an evening bottle of champagne and hors' d'oeuvres for a toast to Mr Sun Ball for providing a beautiful day as he set over the Pacific. We were in rooms 53 (balcony) and 54 (no balcony) for about $200 inclusive of tax per night. There is a premium for the balconies, so we suggest the other rooms if you do not take advantage of them. Request, first rooms 46 & 47, then 58 & 59, for the larger balconies.

The location is terrific, just off the beginning of Ocean Avenue. Next door is Bruno's Market & Deli (room provisions, picnic, hiking supplies) and it is a very short stroll through the park to the shops and galleries starting on Ocean Avenue or restaurants like Casanova's (highly recommend the interior patio for lunch) or Christopher's On Lincoln for a nice simple dining experience.

So "comparatively" we saved on sunset cocktails at Traps in the Inn At Spanish Bay, breakfast at The Cottage Restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed a more than adequate stay in this wonderful location called Carmel-By-The Sea!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrandsDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing