We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at this motel from Tuesday through Friday last week. Our room was on the 4th floor, had a very relaxing view of the ocean, was clean and comfortable. The staff was very corteous. Breakfast was typical for Best Western, not great, but adequate. This motel is walking distance to shops and restaurant and the beach is close also. We are planning to go back this winter and then again next summer. Other reviewers mentioned the seagulls being noisy, iis true, however, the ocean and fishing is nearby. It did not bothered us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabioc795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    392
    156
    41
    27
See reviews for
197
532
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

An Older motel, but very clean, Nice sized room with gas fireplace, The bath rowels are gigantic, at least five foot long. The staff was friendly, A little noisy, but not bothersome. You could hear the maid vacuuming in the next room, but, hey, at least you know she's cleaning. Plus it only lasted a few minutes, There's a small supermarket next door. Very convenient. This motel is close to many stores and restaurants, all withun walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinman046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We've stayed here 3 times and have enjoyed every stay! The ocean view from the balcony on the top floor is wonderful. The location is perfect since the hotel is right in town. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast area is very convenient for hotel guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

What a lovely little hotel! I chose it based not only on price, but street-Googled the area and it seemed quite nice. After having been there though, any street in Carmel would have been wonderful. The room was quaint, comfortable and clean. I love the scent of the bath products and snagged the hand lotion for my purse. The young fellows at the front desk were very friendly and welcoming and seemed to really enjoy working there - rather than just putting on a good face for the guests. The beds were comfortable and I loved the little patio at the back. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. My only disappointment was that we only had one night in Carmel; I'm now planning for a week long vacation next year and will most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Love the room. Enjoy the area walk and also well rested for our overnight trip. Must go back again. We will definitely encourage people who are traveling to that area to definitely stop over at this hotel. Short distance walk to the beach and on the way, there a many shops to window shop restaurants have wonderful array of different food for your pallatte. We manage to see the McWay waterfall. Short hiks and easy terrain. Must see.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel itself was not too bad. Water in shower suddenly turned very hot and burnt my wife. Informed management and was told it would be fixed for next guest. How does that help my wife? One more thing I did not care for was the slamming of the doors. Could hear doors slam by maids who were cleaning rooms. Doesn't make for relaxing experience early in the morning. If you stay on the top floor, the view of the ocean is nice, however. Probably will not be staying at this motel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I found this hotel on the internet and after reading many positive reviews, I booked four nights for my wife and myself for a leisure trip to the area. We had a wonderful 4th floor corner room (47), which I requested based on reviews. It had a wonderful wrap around deck with lounge chairs and a . table with four chairs. Beautiful view from the room and deck of Carmel and the ocean. Easy 10 minute walk to beach. Very good deli and liquor stores right next to the hotel. Shops and restaurants all over. We are not really breakfast people, but you could smell the free breakfast in the air in the mornings and I'm sure it was very good also. If you want a room with a view, then you need to be on one of the top two floors. After staying at this hotel, based on the great staff, the great view room and location of this hotel, my wife and myself would stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend this hotel to anyone we know who might be thinking of going to the Carmel area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#18 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western + Iniative, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing