We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Location, GREAT Ocean View!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Bay View Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We've stayed here 3 times and have enjoyed every stay! The ocean view from the balcony on the top floor is wonderful. The location is perfect since the hotel is right in town. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast area is very convenient for hotel guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

What a lovely little hotel! I chose it based not only on price, but street-Googled the area and it seemed quite nice. After having been there though, any street in Carmel would have been wonderful. The room was quaint, comfortable and clean. I love the scent of the bath products and snagged the hand lotion for my purse. The young fellows at the front desk were very friendly and welcoming and seemed to really enjoy working there - rather than just putting on a good face for the guests. The beds were comfortable and I loved the little patio at the back. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. My only disappointment was that we only had one night in Carmel; I'm now planning for a week long vacation next year and will most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Love the room. Enjoy the area walk and also well rested for our overnight trip. Must go back again. We will definitely encourage people who are traveling to that area to definitely stop over at this hotel. Short distance walk to the beach and on the way, there a many shops to window shop restaurants have wonderful array of different food for your pallatte. We manage to see the McWay waterfall. Short hiks and easy terrain. Must see.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel itself was not too bad. Water in shower suddenly turned very hot and burnt my wife. Informed management and was told it would be fixed for next guest. How does that help my wife? One more thing I did not care for was the slamming of the doors. Could hear doors slam by maids who were cleaning rooms. Doesn't make for relaxing experience early in the morning. If you stay on the top floor, the view of the ocean is nice, however. Probably will not be staying at this motel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I found this hotel on the internet and after reading many positive reviews, I booked four nights for my wife and myself for a leisure trip to the area. We had a wonderful 4th floor corner room (47), which I requested based on reviews. It had a wonderful wrap around deck with lounge chairs and a . table with four chairs. Beautiful view from the room and deck of Carmel and the ocean. Easy 10 minute walk to beach. Very good deli and liquor stores right next to the hotel. Shops and restaurants all over. We are not really breakfast people, but you could smell the free breakfast in the air in the mornings and I'm sure it was very good also. If you want a room with a view, then you need to be on one of the top two floors. After staying at this hotel, based on the great staff, the great view room and location of this hotel, my wife and myself would stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend this hotel to anyone we know who might be thinking of going to the Carmel area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
4  Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Recent road trip from San Francisco to Santa Monica we stayed a night at Best Western Plus,
it was a great little place, just what we needed a nice room ( with fireplace ) and starch across the road for dinner, had a great breakfast and on the road again, nice hotel nice staff

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We only stayed one night on June 26 which I deeply regret. We were in room 63 with a view of the ocean while enjoying the cozy fire place, lovely balcony and a comfortable bed. This hotel is quaint, charming , clean and and much less than the other downtown hotels.. This hotel is only 1 block from the downtown and has a market attached to it for convenience too. We got everything we wanted and more. Room was perfect , staff was courteous and helpful. Even the breakfast was awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for the king Deluxe room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
724 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#20 of 25 in Carmel
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Bay View Inn

Address: Junipero Street, Between Fifth and Sixth Street, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $91 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Bay View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing