We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great price, not luxe.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Fresno, United States
2 reviews
“Great price, not luxe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is a clean hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. It is well located, just a short walk down the main street to the ocean and surrounded by places to eat and shop. The structure itself is dated; our room was freezing--the room was too large to be effectively heated by either the small wall fan or the gas fireplace.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    401
    158
    41
    28
See reviews for
201
547
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have stayed at the property many times over the past 15-years; consistantly good, this was a welcome retreat. We had Room #59 on the top floor. Fireplace with excellent ocean views over Carmel. The location is ideal. The staff extremely helpful (we had packages mailed in prior to our arrival) providing recommendations, directions and useful advise.

Clean and comfortable; the bathrooms have been updated but are still small and on the cool side in the morning. Breakfast is included and works nicely if you augment with some local shopping (we brought in our own sour dough bread and toasted there. Their yogurt over fresh fruit we brought in).

As area hotels can get rather pricy I suggest this remains a consistant value.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get something on the 5th floor for the view. We stayed in Room #59 which had fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. Great location. I love Carmel and this is a good choice. Perfect for families with kids with the pool. Everything is within walking distance. The staff is very helpful with suggestions on dining and things to do in Carmel. We even had an ocean peek-a-boo view with a spectacular sunset that night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is an excellent place to stay for business or leisure. We had the King Bed Suite with ocean view, balcony and fireplace. What an amazing experience. This had living room with sofa bed and bedroom. This also had two full bathrooms.Breakfast is ok but included in price. I am looking forward to going back to Carmel and staying at this place again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Samrat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is our second visit and we will return. We like Room 48 especially. A "suite" with two bedrooms, one a pull-out sofa, fireplace, balcony, convenient wet-bar, drive in to front door for excellent wheelchair access, walk in shower plus extra regular shower, great room service,a quiet oasis right at the approach to busy Ocean Avenue. Walking to innumerable restaurants and very reasonable rates. What more can you want ?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very nice and spacious room with a gas fireplace, balcony with ocean view. Room is nicely decorated & up tp date. Very clean and everything worked well. I especially liked the clean remote. The TV could be a bit larger though, since the room was so large.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Deanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn is a great place to stay. It's a great location- with views of the Bay and Pt. Lobos. Staff is VERY friendly, rooms are updated and clean. Best thing about Best Westerns: Free Breakfast and Wifi! You really can't beat the price and amenities. Bay view rooms have a great balcony!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank awhtmtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing