We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Bay View Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Is this a trendy hotel? no! Is it very clean, very convenient, with a comfortable bed and an excellent value? Definitely. Loved the fact that an upscale deli/grocery is right next store. TV was a lower end sharp but whose there to watch TV? room got a bit stuffy so we opened the window and it cooled quickly - It is the coast. Breakfast is very buffet style as you what you'd expect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a well located and well kept property. Within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and theater. The beauty of this property is that it has suites or separate bedrooms. Perfect for privacy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our second stay at the Best Western plus in Carmel- and it was perfect. The king ocean view room with the fire place is the bomb! The room is updated and comfortable along with great views of the water. Michael and the rest of the staff were great and helpful with their advice. We can't wait to come back and stay here- we Love Carmel!'m

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located just across the street from tons of restaurants and shops. Oh and just a couple of blocks from a gorgeous beach. The room was very clean and updated. The room was a little small, but the bathroom was bright and spacious. The only down sides were you weren't assured a parking spot in the parking lot and if your room is down by the pool you have to walk around the block to breakfast. Other than those two things it was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank countrygirl4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I spent one night in this motel with my two teenage kids. We wanted something that was in easy walking distance to downtown Carmel that was reasonably priced for the area. We had a large room on the same floor as the breakfast room. The room was very spacious, but it smelled musty and funky, like it hadn't been used in several years. The beds had heavy, musty bedspreads on them. The weather was very hot and muggy during our visit, and in spite of turning on the fan, the room never really seemed to "air out." We had a view of the Bay from outside our door, but it was over a tall wall overlooking the roof below. You couldn't sit on the balcony and see the view; you had to be standing up. The room was very quiet. You HAD to take the elevator to get up to the room. There was no stair access to that floor. If you wanted to walk, you had to go all the way around the block, uphill, and then come down from above. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool at the motel was nice, and the breakfast was the typical Best Western stuff. One of the really great things was the free parking. We would return, but we would request a different room on a different floor. The motel should think about updating it's decor. No need for musty old bedspreads. The sheets and coverlet underneath were fine.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wildwoodatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very good hotel for overnight stay, with excellent location in downtown Carmel Ca. Very up to date furnishing, very clean appearance and a decent included breakfast in am. Staff werte all quite accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank g dunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent three nights in this hillside retreat in downtown Carmel. Accommodations were excellent. The grounds were immaculate and especially pretty with flower beds tucked in around ithe hotel's hillside setting. We appreciated the in room gas fireplace one chilly morning! This hotel is on the upper edge of Carmel, but it was an easy walk to restaurants, shops, and the ocean! The breakfast was adequate but not exceptional. It was the same every day and the scrambled eggs were always not quite hot. I would definitely recommend this to hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EastcoastSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
724 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#20 of 25 in Carmel
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Bay View Inn

Address: Junipero Street, Between Fifth and Sixth Street, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $91 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Bay View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing