We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Is this a trendy hotel? no! Is it very clean, very convenient, with a comfortable bed and an excellent value? Definitely. Loved the fact that an upscale deli/grocery is right next store. TV was a lower end sharp but whose there to watch TV? room got a bit stuffy so we opened the window and it cooled quickly - It is the coast. Breakfast is very buffet style as you what you'd expect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    409
    160
    42
    28
See reviews for
207
554
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HUMBLE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a well located and well kept property. Within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and theater. The beauty of this property is that it has suites or separate bedrooms. Perfect for privacy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Best Western plus in Carmel- and it was perfect. The king ocean view room with the fire place is the bomb! The room is updated and comfortable along with great views of the water. Michael and the rest of the staff were great and helpful with their advice. We can't wait to come back and stay here- we Love Carmel!'m

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M-LOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located just across the street from tons of restaurants and shops. Oh and just a couple of blocks from a gorgeous beach. The room was very clean and updated. The room was a little small, but the bathroom was bright and spacious. The only down sides were you weren't assured a parking spot in the parking lot and if your room is down by the pool you have to walk around the block to breakfast. Other than those two things it was great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countrygirl4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
268 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I spent one night in this motel with my two teenage kids. We wanted something that was in easy walking distance to downtown Carmel that was reasonably priced for the area. We had a large room on the same floor as the breakfast room. The room was very spacious, but it smelled musty and funky, like it hadn't been used in several years. The beds had heavy, musty bedspreads on them. The weather was very hot and muggy during our visit, and in spite of turning on the fan, the room never really seemed to "air out." We had a view of the Bay from outside our door, but it was over a tall wall overlooking the roof below. You couldn't sit on the balcony and see the view; you had to be standing up. The room was very quiet. You HAD to take the elevator to get up to the room. There was no stair access to that floor. If you wanted to walk, you had to go all the way around the block, uphill, and then come down from above. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool at the motel was nice, and the breakfast was the typical Best Western stuff. One of the really great things was the free parking. We would return, but we would request a different room on a different floor. The motel should think about updating it's decor. No need for musty old bedspreads. The sheets and coverlet underneath were fine.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wildwoodatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very good hotel for overnight stay, with excellent location in downtown Carmel Ca. Very up to date furnishing, very clean appearance and a decent included breakfast in am. Staff werte all quite accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank g dunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent three nights in this hillside retreat in downtown Carmel. Accommodations were excellent. The grounds were immaculate and especially pretty with flower beds tucked in around ithe hotel's hillside setting. We appreciated the in room gas fireplace one chilly morning! This hotel is on the upper edge of Carmel, but it was an easy walk to restaurants, shops, and the ocean! The breakfast was adequate but not exceptional. It was the same every day and the scrambled eggs were always not quite hot. I would definitely recommend this to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastcoastSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,539 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing