We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“leisure stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Sacramento
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“leisure stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very good hotel for overnight stay, with excellent location in downtown Carmel Ca. Very up to date furnishing, very clean appearance and a decent included breakfast in am. Staff werte all quite accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank g dunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    401
    158
    41
    28
See reviews for
200
547
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent three nights in this hillside retreat in downtown Carmel. Accommodations were excellent. The grounds were immaculate and especially pretty with flower beds tucked in around ithe hotel's hillside setting. We appreciated the in room gas fireplace one chilly morning! This hotel is on the upper edge of Carmel, but it was an easy walk to restaurants, shops, and the ocean! The breakfast was adequate but not exceptional. It was the same every day and the scrambled eggs were always not quite hot. I would definitely recommend this to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastcoastSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were looking for a hotel with a location where we could walk to shops & restaurants in Carmel. This has a great location. You can walk to the beach from the hotel but the walk back is uphill so it's a little tough on older legs. Other than checking in we did not need the staff for anything. The front desk workers were friendly & helpful. The room was very clean but on the small side. It had a fireplace. Only thing I did not like was the coffee maker is in the bathroom. We ate a great restaurant right across the street called the Forge for dinner. It was excellent. We at breakfast at Katy's Place and it was very good. I recommend the 17 mile ride to everyone. We seen deer on the golf courses and a lot of seals on Seal Rock. I recommend a good zoom to see the seals at Seal Rock. Many places along the ride to take exceptional pictures. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We thought this hotel was a great value. We are a family of four, we stayed for a week, and we got one of the ocean view rooms -- lovely. The balcony was a very pleasant place to have lunch or dinner. The weather was much cooler than we expected, so we were grateful for the fireplace. Having a suite made everything easier, with kids. Pleasant staff and clean, nice rooms. It's right in the heart of Carmel, so easy walking distance to restaurants and the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The location is superb! You can walk all downtown Carmel from here. That's why we chose this place. And they have parking which is valuable in the summer. The place is old. Appearance is okay. Antiseptic smell in the rooms. Top linens felt & smelt musky. Not enough space. We had a king bed but there's no place to store your things.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I came across this place by chance, i was told it was near on impossible to get a hotel in Carmel at late notice, but i did and we came here, this is a treat from the room to the Breakfast in the morning, out of a 3 centre break to the US this was by far the best value for money and in a really convenient location. There was a deli next door and a liquor store 2 mins away, easy parking, heated pool, beach, Big Sur were minutes away. For foodies there was an abundance of different places to eat, the restaurants were busy till about 8.30 then quiet which is great for us europeans. Found a lovely Merlot J Lohr worth drinking if you are wondering on a decent red.

Room Tip: Room 24 was directly in front of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Was here for one night .The hotel is located about a 1/2 mile from ocean in midtown an easy walk to most areas and shops in Carmel.It is an older hotel that is kept up very nice,rooms are clean .Older tv,comfortable bed,gas fireplace,no air conditioning,ceiling fan.

Room Tip: Higher floors 4th and 5th ,have view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing