We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome room, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Awesome room, excellent service”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. Booked a king oceanview room with a patio and got that, but it was way better than expected - I think I did a little jig when I opened the door to the room and saw through the nicely decorated room to the amazing patio and view. Our room had a huge patio with a nice wooden table and chairs and two loungers. We didn't think to ask the first night, but when we did ask for mattresses / pads for the loungers the next day they arrived in minutes.

The view is lovely. Yes, the ocean in the view is in the distance, but that's a bit of a plus - the coast was cool and very windy when we were there - but back up the hill on the patio you could see the ocean, trees, hills, and the pretty town and be in the sun and warmth with just a nice breeze.

The hotel is perfectly located - easy to get to from the highway by car. Free parking, then leave the car and wander around Carmel. There are no streetlights so the walk home after dinner is a bit dark, but you get the bonus of on sitting on your patio and actually seeing the starts at night.

I didn't want to take off a full point for the only minor issue - the scrambled eggs at breakfast seemed liked some sort of alien food from the future. For an included breakfast it is actually pretty good - toaster with various bread choices, bacon or sausages, pancakes or french toast, cereal, oatmeal ... but I like my eggs in the morning and they were so bad (even when "fresh") that I almost had to take something off the rating - If I could take off only 1/4 star I would have.

But ... would stay here again without hesitation and would recommend it completely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    472
    184
    45
    31
See reviews for
231
642
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We got an upgrade to our room. The ocean view was great!! The hotel is right near all the great shops, restaurants, and art galleries of Carmel. It's fun to walk down to the beach and enjoy the ocean. Price is very reasonable. We had a great time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

One of the very best BW's.

Beautiful surrounding gardens carefully nurtured and quiet location add to the welcoming by a helpful and considerate reception team

Excellent large room, good night's sleeping in very comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. Bathroom toiletries above average and along with towels, everything thoughtfully presented.

Limited but a very tasty range of good quality breakfast options.

Definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Limited parking space with additional spaces on quiet street within feet of the hotel reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bconthepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights while exploring the Monterrey Bay area. The room and the bathroom are very large and very clean. The property is very pretty and well kept. The best part is the price and location. We were within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. It is also an easy walk to the Carmel beach. They even served a complimentary hot breakfast each morning. The gas fireplace was an added bonus to take the early morning chill off. I was concerned about staying in a motel, but this one is well above average. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are over covered parking spaces. It's not a deal killer, but some guy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, General Manager at Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 831-624-1831.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Joanna Napoli
General Manger
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Originally planned to stay for one night then move on to San Francisco, however upon seeing the lovely room decided to book in for the following night as well. The room was very modern and clean as was the bathroom but the coffee maker was located in the bathroom which was unusual to say the least! The breakfast was satisfactory especially on the first morning when we went in about 9.30am.
My biggest gripe was the car park - there were not enough spaces for the size of the hotel and our room was right above some of the parking spaces (room 18) and when cars left early in the morning they were extremely noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugaaaaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

we stayed only 1 night, nice big clean and modern room, very friendly staff, great heated outdoor pool surrounded by lovely pretty flowers, close to shops and restaurants, only complaint, breakfast served in nice top room average choice of hot or cold meals but what let it down was plastic plates and plastic knifes and forks come on plastic really!!!

Room Tip: we will stay here again great place great location! all rooms are good position
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WENDY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, General Manager at Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 831-624-1831.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Joanna Napoli
General Manger
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just a couple blocks from the main street (Ocean Ave.) Sea view from the upper rooms. Average breakfast fare and fresh. Do not get a room with a sleeper couch as it was our experience that it could have a pretty good sag in the center. Not so comfy! However, the king bed was VERY comfy : ) The hospitality staff was very nice and we cannot say enough about the great location!

Room Tip: We rate it very good because the location and comparable quality of the accomodation for the price r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franko360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 25 in Carmel
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing