We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Carmel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed one night in standard Queen size room. Older style but very clean, comfortable with gas fireplace in convenient location to explore town on foot. Loved all the flowers. Breakfast was a nice bonus for this reasonably priced property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilbee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

The only good thing about our suite (#70) was that the bathroom and bedrooms were very clean.This Best Western Plus was expensive and not as advertised. There was no wifi in room, the "hot" breakfast was inadequate,the front desk staff was surly and unhelpful, and we were kept waiting while they were on personal cell phones or talking to each other. The room had mismatched and old furniture and the rug was old and frayed. The only way out to the street from the room was through a narrow passageway with bags of mulch piled up, landscaping plants and a trash can partly blocking it, some stairs led to eroded and rocky hill side (dangerous) and should have been blocked off. The lobby was being cleaned at 8am when guests were trying to use wifi (since it only worked in the lobby). This complaint is my first in 23 years of travel and hotel stays. If we had a choice we would not have stayed, but with our arrival time on a Sat. that was booked full everywhere we stayed, we did not use the front room of our suite, preferring to sit outside, even with our view obstructed by the roof of the rooms below.

Room Tip: Do not choose #70 - it has an obstructed view, awlful common room and is too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night and were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the room was. Conveniently located and reasonably priced, considering it's Carmel! Not the place you'd chose for a splurge, but fine if you're just passing through.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank EvenStev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is very well located. This is a old establishment but the rooms are good, with adequate bathrooms. The breakfast was above average for this price hotel. I must mention the staff who were really fantastic with helping us locate our next hotel and any query we had.

Room Tip: Our room was 55 which is in the corner with all day sun really enjoyed this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whangarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The accommodation is about 3 stars nothing to rave about but reasonably good, you can pay more and get better if you like. This is an expensive but beautiful little town, the accommodation served our purpose of visiting the surrounds and our stay for 3 days. No complaints, the staff were extremely friendly and bonus is parking is on site which is precious in a tight Carmel.

Breakfast is not worth waking up early for.

Room Tip: Very handy and walking distance to all downtown Carmel activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Punit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our room had a lovely view of Carmel Bay and was in a good location close to shops and restaurants.
Comfortable room and good value for this expensive town.
I could not fault the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is in the middle of it all. The rooms on the 5th floor have sea views and have been redone to include a gas fireplace. The bathrooms which are new are a bit small but clean and new.
Next door is Bruno's - a stop n shop with fresh sandwiches and beer/ wine. The location is great, very convienient to the shops and great restaurants!
Parking is tight as it is everywhere in Carmel. Breakfast is provided, it is basic but wil get you going.

Carmel is not to be missed, a little town that really lives up to the hype!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
900 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn

Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $155 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing