We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, great location and price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
903 reviews
307 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 722 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, great location and price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Best Western Bay View Inn, Carmel, for one night. There is wireless only in the lobby, but guests can sign to borrow a LAN cable for free broadband access. The room heater is small, but it is effective, so it is best to turn it off before going to sleep; otherwise you could wake up in a sweat. Most Best Westerns have refrigerators in the room, but this one did not. We could hear the normal noises of neighbors, and the sound of water running through pipes was louder than in most hotels where we have stayed. Trucks going up the grade outside the hotel often were noisy as they downshifted and climbed the gentle slope. When we were there, the two attendants in the breakfast room chatted noisily rather than emptying the overflowing waste basket or replenishing juices. These these little nuisances are offset by the location and the price, which are outstanding. The hotel is next to a grocery store and just a short walk away from our favorite restaurant, Bouchee, on Mission Street. Hint; The gas fireplace is turned on by a light switch on the side of the chimney.

  • Liked — Walking distance to shops
  • Disliked — Noise from neighbors
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    447
    176
    45
    31
See reviews for
221
609
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2007

We stayed at the Best Western Bay View Inn in Carmel for a weekend getaway. The hotel is located right in the middle of Carmel - walking distances to lots of shops and restaurants (warning - Carmel is expensive and more than our budget so we ended up going to Monterey and Pacific Grove to eat most of the time). The architecture of the model is older (1960s) with exterior corridors, but the rooms have been refurbished, and have new bathrooms, clean carpet, and have acceptable furnishings. The bed was a bit soft for me. Breakfast was typical model-continental breakfast (nothing special, but sufficient).

  • Liked — Located in the middle of town
  • Disliked — The older 1960s architecture
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redanteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The big plus to staying here is the location. It is a GREAT location, can't beat it for the price (a little under $100/night)! You are right in the center of Carmel, where all the shops and restaurants are. We are within walking distance to everything. Also, from reading other reviews, this place offers FREE parking. The room itself is very simple and ordinary, nothing fancy. Room is clean, bathroom clean, okay for having a place to stay overnight. Again, this is not a 5-star place, so don't be expecting anything fancy. The complimentary breakfast is very simple, continental breakfast.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank like2trvl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Bay View Inn in Carmel for one night during a trip to California where we drove from San Francisco to San Diego with stops in Carmel and LA in between. The drive down "The 1" from San Francisco was spectacular; some of the most awe inspiring scenery I've ever seen. We traveled the 17 Mile Drive and arrived in Carmel around 530pm, which was later then we would have hoped. The hotel was easy to find and very centrally located. The room was clean but worn (we had a room by the pool with a king bed and a fireplace) with no air conditioning. It happened to be a warm day and early evening, so when we opened the door to the room it was HOT! But, we cranked the ceiling fan and opened a window and it cooled down eventually! I thought the room was clean enough, but it was definately nothing fancy or special, really. Just an average room in a beautiful town!

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sheilor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

My husband and I, family members and friends stayed from 3-7 days at this motel for my daughters wedding in Carmel. When reserving rooms for the wedding, we were given a very good group rate for the wedding block of rooms. Many of the rooms had been remodeled. We especially enjoyed the spacious 2 oceanview king suites, each included a long balcony with chairs, a fireplace, 2 full bathrooms, refrigerator, coffee pot, 2 closets, sofa sleeper, small table and chairs, and 2 televisions. The view and location was great, the room was clean, and the bed very comfortable. The bathrooms have been recently remodeled and updated. The continental breakfast was simple: cereal, juice, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, fresh pastries, sufficient to get you started in the morning. The front desk staff was friendly and most accomodating to any need we had.The grounds and flowers are very attractive, and clean. The market next door was quaint, had reasonable prices, and made a delicious custom sandwich tray for our guests one day. For all of us to able to stay together, affordably, within walking distance of the sites of Carmel, it was great. We would consider staying there for future visits to the area.

  • Liked — location and price in Carmel
  • Disliked — older "Motel" style, little outdated.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank brneyesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2007

We stayed in Carmel for 3 nights at the end of our tour of California. We paid extra to have a balcony and fire. conveniently this meant we were on the same floor as we could park and if it was really sunny the hotel just about managed to justify it's name of "Bay View"!

Really this is just a Best Western Motel in the middle or Carmel and that's fine. Room size was ok with ammenities you'd expect (though no shower gel which was weird and we had nearly run out after 2 weeks!)

One warning - there is no internet access! Not just in the hotel but in Carmel! We wanted to do our online check in before we left but apparently the hotel had no PC I could use, nor did the staff have access to the internet to do it for me! We chose Carmel to relax and wind down but there's a difference between being relaxing and being out of touch!!!

Carmel quite cute and a good base for playing golf (hubby managed to get on Pebble Beach by calling up the day before, though it was $500 and he had a tee time that wasn't guaranteed to finish).

Just a tip - if you are driving highway 1, leave yourself plenty of time and make sure you arrive before dark!

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

We had ocean view king rooms with fire and balcony and they were excellent. Only downside would be the beds which settled into two hammocks with a big lump in the middle - perhaps a reduction in the mattress toppers would solve the problem. On second day weather closed in so ocean view was out of equation but rooms were fine. Breakfast standard fare when provided free but a useful stop gap to get through early part of day.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing