We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great value, but....”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Before the kids came along, we have stayed at the Carmel Bay View Inn numerous times. We had always requested rooms on the top floor (with views, room 58, 57 or 55), and have enjoyed the beautiful water view. Nine years later, we had decided to travel with our two kids to Carmel.

We booked the two bedroom suites and got a great price (for Carmel), and I did some research and read some of the reviews. I started to wonder, has our favorite place gone down hill? Well, the answer is - we have always stayed on the top floor, so it was us making the noise (to the people below). The walls are really thin. They should consider installing Quite Rock, or some kind of soundproofing. For the money and location, you can't beat it.

The two bedroom suites - it's weird! It was spacious (for Carmel standard), but the carpet was stained. The whole suite feels dirty. The living room was uninviting. There's a loveseat (hard, and uncomfortable to sit for more than a couple of minutes), and there's no TV in the living room. It looks like they had decided to turn this into a suite and threw furniture in there. You don't get that country feel at all. One of the bedroom has a king size bed, but since the room is below grade, it was dark and damp. If you do sleep in this room, be beware - you will hear the people upstair opening their patio door. That's how thin the walls are.

The bathroom didn't feel clean. The toilet was not flushing right. And finally, breakfast - well, read some of the rest of the reviews, and you'll get the picture.

All and all, great value for location, terrible for everything else. Will not stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aimee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    477
    187
    45
    31
See reviews for
234
649
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northeast USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Visited Carmel at Easter and stayed in this hotel..picked it off of the Trip Advisor site. Was very pleased. It is very centrally located, everything is in walking distance. Very clean, good breakfast. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Well maintained with beautiful flowers everywhere! Wish we could have stayed longer...

Room Tip: Rooms on back upper floors have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This Best Western was so incredibly nice! Room 43 was beautiful with a large wrap around patio where you can sit out and enjoy a nice view of the ocean in the distance. The bathroom is sparkling, like new, with lush spa towels and done in all white with a perfectly clear shower door. The gas fireplace in the room was wonderful and the beds were so comfortable with extra pillows and a wonderful duvet. This hotel gave me a new confidence in Best Western as a hotel that I would consider in my travel plans. We didn't walk to the shopping area in Carmel, but it was certainly an option if we had the time to do so. Breakfast was typical for a free hotel breakfast and served in a comfortable room. The hotel lobby was beautiful and staff were friendly and professional.
An absolutely great choice and great value for the heart of Carmel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsFuntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My family and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel is right within Carmel, walking distance to the stores and restaurant. Our room was spacious wih an outdoor sunning deck that included two loungers with a table and chairs. We enjoyed being out on the deck enjoing our view pf Carmel with the ocean in site. The room was equipped with a refrig and coffee maker in the room. The room and bathroom was updated with present day decorations, crown molding, etc., and the best was a gas light fire place. The hotel included a basic continental breakfast which was enough to get us going for several hours. The hotel clerk was very helpful with his suggestions for dinner, we took his advice and the oriental restaurant he recommended was delicious. We were very happy with our accommendations and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comesanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Europe
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding over two nights. Difficult to express any opinion really. Pleasant check-in?. Room was clean and spacious, nice big closet, bathroom fine, wifi worked. Breakfast ok. Anywhere in Carmel is going to be well located and this certainly was. Good Deli and local market next door and steps away from Carmel's main street. Given the location it lacked any personality, it could have been anywhere. If your looking for a bed for the night this will do the trick, if your looking for atmosphere look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norfolk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel was the lease expensive I found in Carmel. The room wasn't bad, but it had an odor we couldn't get rid of after 2 nights. There was a gas fireplace and the bathroom was nice. Next time I would probably try something else, for a few dollars more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akswmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We recently completed a four-night stay at the Best Western Bay View in Carmel. The hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious, and the location is great. Only one block from Ocean Avenue, you have an easy walk to the shopping district, and there is a grocery store bordering the hotel. However, the level of noise tha traveled into our hotel room was remarkable. The walls must be made of paper, because every outside noise enters the room. We could hear our neighbors' conversations loud and clear, and road traffic makes you think the city bus is in your room. My advice: book it, bit bring some good earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbh2pjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing