We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value in Carmel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
US
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

This Best Western was so incredibly nice! Room 43 was beautiful with a large wrap around patio where you can sit out and enjoy a nice view of the ocean in the distance. The bathroom is sparkling, like new, with lush spa towels and done in all white with a perfectly clear shower door. The gas fireplace in the room was wonderful and the beds were so comfortable with extra pillows and a wonderful duvet. This hotel gave me a new confidence in Best Western as a hotel that I would consider in my travel plans. We didn't walk to the shopping area in Carmel, but it was certainly an option if we had the time to do so. Breakfast was typical for a free hotel breakfast and served in a comfortable room. The hotel lobby was beautiful and staff were friendly and professional.
An absolutely great choice and great value for the heart of Carmel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsFuntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    424
    171
    44
    30
See reviews for
215
584
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

My family and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel is right within Carmel, walking distance to the stores and restaurant. Our room was spacious wih an outdoor sunning deck that included two loungers with a table and chairs. We enjoyed being out on the deck enjoing our view pf Carmel with the ocean in site. The room was equipped with a refrig and coffee maker in the room. The room and bathroom was updated with present day decorations, crown molding, etc., and the best was a gas light fire place. The hotel included a basic continental breakfast which was enough to get us going for several hours. The hotel clerk was very helpful with his suggestions for dinner, we took his advice and the oriental restaurant he recommended was delicious. We were very happy with our accommendations and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comesanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Europe
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding over two nights. Difficult to express any opinion really. Pleasant check-in?. Room was clean and spacious, nice big closet, bathroom fine, wifi worked. Breakfast ok. Anywhere in Carmel is going to be well located and this certainly was. Good Deli and local market next door and steps away from Carmel's main street. Given the location it lacked any personality, it could have been anywhere. If your looking for a bed for the night this will do the trick, if your looking for atmosphere look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norfolk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel was the lease expensive I found in Carmel. The room wasn't bad, but it had an odor we couldn't get rid of after 2 nights. There was a gas fireplace and the bathroom was nice. Next time I would probably try something else, for a few dollars more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akswmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We recently completed a four-night stay at the Best Western Bay View in Carmel. The hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious, and the location is great. Only one block from Ocean Avenue, you have an easy walk to the shopping district, and there is a grocery store bordering the hotel. However, the level of noise tha traveled into our hotel room was remarkable. The walls must be made of paper, because every outside noise enters the room. We could hear our neighbors' conversations loud and clear, and road traffic makes you think the city bus is in your room. My advice: book it, bit bring some good earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbh2pjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

My husband, I and freinds stayed here for 3 nights and loved it! We have been here before but brought our friends this time! Wonderful location....downtown is walking distance! Beds are very comfortable, room and bathroom is very nice and clean. Although the walls seem to be paper thin. Try getting the rooms by the pool their quieter. Breakfast was good! Very friendly front desk! Good price for the location also! Will diffently be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bunbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

The rooms were clean and comfortable, nice big beds with a good view. Very central but quiet, with good parking. Breakfast was terrible (unless you like mulled cider), and dining room was tiny with not enough sitting space for guests. No signs in lifts so it was difficult to figure out which floor to go to for your room!

Room Tip: Motel-like but good cheap option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
4.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing