We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Carmel”
Review of Sea View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea View Inn
Ranked #17 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Gem in Carmel”
Reviewed April 20, 2009

My partner and I stayed at The Sea View Inn in Carmel on our way down the pacific coast. Although we only stayed one night, we were made to feel as if it was our home away from home.
The house is beautiful and located in a leafy road about 10 minutes walk from the main shopping avenue. Our room, although cosy, was ample, and the en-suite was clean with good water pressure in the shower.
Our hosts were tremendously friendly, and the breakfast provided was delicious. We would recommend trying a restaurant called 'AW Shucks' in the main avenue for a good burger and a coctail in the evening.
Recommended for a short or long stay!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weirdpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    56
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
203
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

My significant other and I stayed in the Sea View Inn over the turn of the year, and really liked the Inn quite a lot. We stayed in a shared bathroom room the first night (on the top floor) and then in a private bathroom room the second and third night (these are on the second floor).

On the upside, the staff are very nice, the breakfast is good, and the decor is nice/kitschy. There is free wine and cheese in the evenings, and the people staying there are really friendly and easy to strike up a conversation with. The first night we were there, the average age of the guests was about 55, but on the last night there were a few younger people as well.

On the downside, the shared bathroom room is really too small for two people. The roof is sloped, so you have to lean to a side if you're brushing your teeth (and I'm 5' 6", so if you're tall, this room would really be difficult for you). Also, there is really no "sea view" from the property. You are on Camino Real, which is about 3 blocks from the sea, but the view is obscured by three blocks of houses and huge trees. The inn is also about 7 blocks from Ocean street, which is the center of town, so it takes a while to walk into town. There are also no televisions in the room, so if you're a sports fan, I'd recommend staying in a hotel.

Overall, though, the inn is really lovely and I would definitely recommend it for a couple wanting to get away for a romantic weekend.

  • Liked — Wine in the evenings.
  • Disliked — Distance from the center of town.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pgh_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2008

We chose to stay at the Seaview Inn after checking out Trip Advisor reviews for just about every hotel and B&B in Carmel - and we found it absolutely delightful - and excellent value. The location is great - a few blocks from the main village and a very short walk to the ocean, in a quiet residential area.
The common areas - a lounge with open fireplace and the adjoining dining room - were beautifully decorated and furnished. The staff were welcoming, warm, helpful - we enjoyed superb breakfasts with fresh fruit, cereals, freshly toasted muffins, eggs - something different every day. In the afternoons they provided afternoon tea and cookies from 3 to 5pm, then wine and cheeses from 5 until 7pm.
Bedrooms and bathrooms can all be checked out on their website and the photos are accurate representations. We two Australians were travelling from LA to San Francisco with friends from England and we spent 3 nights at the Seaview Inn. We chose two rooms on the first floor - one with an ensuite and the other with a private bathroom across the corridor. The rooms were beautifully comfortable, fresh and sparkling clean.
We especially enjoyed our pre-breakfast walks along the seafront. Carmel village was fascinating and the 17-mile drive, with a visit to Pebble Beach Golf Club, was good fun. Monterey is well worth a visit, and the drive out to Salinas to visit the Steinbeck Centre was a highlight. There are lots of good restaurants to choose from in Carmel - Flaherty's is highly recommended - wonderful seafood.

  • Liked — Pleasant, warm, comfortable ambience, friendly staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinAndKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

I decided to stay here because of the reviews that I had seen on tripadvisor. I booked directly with the property with no problems.

We stayed for one night in room four, with a private bath, which is right at the top of the house. We were next to the rooms that had a shared bathroom. Our room was great - I could have stayed here longer! The only downside was the fact that the guests that used the bathroom and hairdryer at midnight. This, however, is not the fault of the accommodation but the guests.

Carmel is great place to stay and wish we had longer here. We walked into the main shopping/restaurant area and had a great meal at Flaherty's restaurant. The beach is very close by too. I would also recommend the 17 mile drive and also take a trip to nearby Monterey.

Just remember to ask at the inn for a torch at night as they do not have street lights and we had a hilarious night home the night we forgot ours!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 122309d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

Well, I can do nothing but concur with all the previous reviews, this charming inn is great; quaint, clean, friendly, quiet, lovely guests, helpful staff....I could go on!

We stayed in Room 8 which had the bathroom across the hall, dont let it put you off, never saw a soul when crossing the one step from our room to the bathroom. It was wonderful having no television in the room, just quiet time to read either in the room or welcomingly infront of the fire in the lounge.

Speaking of the lounge, afternoon coffee with biscuits and/or wine at 5pm is a must, great chance to mix with the other guests and hearing all their stories. And if not then breakfast, is a good opportunity to catch up, we met a lovely couple from texas and loved swapping tales!

The inn is only a 5 minute walk from the 'hub' of Carmel & 1 minute from the beach. be warned though Carmel have passed a law that does not allow street lights, so take a torch for walking home!

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — No coffee in room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank little-cinqueterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

My wife and I had a really nice two night stay at this B&B during our first trip to Carmel last week. Our room was charming- not modern , but very clean, comfortable, and relaxing. The staff were all very nice and eager to please. We took advantage of the free breakfast each morning and the wine and cheese reception each day at around 5PM. The free wine and snacks were such a nice touch. We were shocked to be the only guests taking advantage of this perk.

The hotel is about 2 blocks east of beautiful Carmel Beach and within walking distance of the shopping district. We walked down to the beach and turned left to go around "the point" where all of the charming beach-front homes are located. The scenery was beautiful.

From the hotel you can walk in one direction to Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch for dinner or drinks, or the other direction to Ocean Avenue, with dozens of restaurants and shops to choose from.

I highly recommend this quiet, relaxing, and charming B&B to anyone looking to get away.

  • Liked — The tranquility, our guest room and the free wine receptions
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cpschem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

The Sea View Inn can be described as absolutely charming. The hosts were warm, friendly and helpful with dining reservations and suggestions concerning Carmel. There was a fire in the fireplace in the afternoon, along with tea and cookies. Then later wine and cheese. The breakfast was nice, with fresh fruit, cereal, bagels, and yogart. The sit down breakfast was an opportunity to get to know other guests. The guests were nice and came from Texas and Germany. The beach was about two blocks away and it was easy to walk into town. I would highly recommend this place when visiting Carmel.

  • Liked — The friendly hosts and charming feel.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texas003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 26 in Carmel
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn

Property: Sea View Inn
Address: Camino Real Btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sea View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing