We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It lived up to my expectations”
Review of Sea View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea View Inn
Ranked #18 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2008

I decided to stay here because of the reviews that I had seen on tripadvisor. I booked directly with the property with no problems.

We stayed for one night in room four, with a private bath, which is right at the top of the house. We were next to the rooms that had a shared bathroom. Our room was great - I could have stayed here longer! The only downside was the fact that the guests that used the bathroom and hairdryer at midnight. This, however, is not the fault of the accommodation but the guests.

Carmel is great place to stay and wish we had longer here. We walked into the main shopping/restaurant area and had a great meal at Flaherty's restaurant. The beach is very close by too. I would also recommend the 17 mile drive and also take a trip to nearby Monterey.

Just remember to ask at the inn for a torch at night as they do not have street lights and we had a hilarious night home the night we forgot ours!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 122309d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 265 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2008

Well, I can do nothing but concur with all the previous reviews, this charming inn is great; quaint, clean, friendly, quiet, lovely guests, helpful staff....I could go on!

We stayed in Room 8 which had the bathroom across the hall, dont let it put you off, never saw a soul when crossing the one step from our room to the bathroom. It was wonderful having no television in the room, just quiet time to read either in the room or welcomingly infront of the fire in the lounge.

Speaking of the lounge, afternoon coffee with biscuits and/or wine at 5pm is a must, great chance to mix with the other guests and hearing all their stories. And if not then breakfast, is a good opportunity to catch up, we met a lovely couple from texas and loved swapping tales!

The inn is only a 5 minute walk from the 'hub' of Carmel & 1 minute from the beach. be warned though Carmel have passed a law that does not allow street lights, so take a torch for walking home!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank little-cinqueterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

My wife and I had a really nice two night stay at this B&B during our first trip to Carmel last week. Our room was charming- not modern , but very clean, comfortable, and relaxing. The staff were all very nice and eager to please. We took advantage of the free breakfast each morning and the wine and cheese reception each day at around 5PM. The free wine and snacks were such a nice touch. We were shocked to be the only guests taking advantage of this perk.

The hotel is about 2 blocks east of beautiful Carmel Beach and within walking distance of the shopping district. We walked down to the beach and turned left to go around "the point" where all of the charming beach-front homes are located. The scenery was beautiful.

From the hotel you can walk in one direction to Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch for dinner or drinks, or the other direction to Ocean Avenue, with dozens of restaurants and shops to choose from.

I highly recommend this quiet, relaxing, and charming B&B to anyone looking to get away.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cpschem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

The Sea View Inn can be described as absolutely charming. The hosts were warm, friendly and helpful with dining reservations and suggestions concerning Carmel. There was a fire in the fireplace in the afternoon, along with tea and cookies. Then later wine and cheese. The breakfast was nice, with fresh fruit, cereal, bagels, and yogart. The sit down breakfast was an opportunity to get to know other guests. The guests were nice and came from Texas and Germany. The beach was about two blocks away and it was easy to walk into town. I would highly recommend this place when visiting Carmel.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Texas003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Just got back from Carmel. The Sea View Inn is by far one of the nicest B&B's in Carmel. It's a little bit further out than the others which are situated right on Ocean Avenue, but it's literally a five minute walk to the main street and even less to the beach front. The Inn is a lovely building, clean, tidy, great rooms and breakfast and very helpful staff. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank codavaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

The Sea View Inn is a sweet little B&B in a residential neighborhood in Carmel. It is very close to the beach, just a couple of blocks away. It's a bit farther from Ocean Avenue, the main drag in Carmel, but still within walking distance (though the side streets are not especially well-lit, so you may want to bring along a flashlight if you plan to walk home after dinner in the dark). The porch and common areas of the inn are quite cozy and comfortable. We stayed in Room 4, which was tiny but clean, comfortable, and within our budget. I felt like the website offered an honest portrayal of the room. Breakfast was not luxurious but certainly sufficient, and the friendly innkeeper offered great tips and advice about our trip down the coast. Some of the decor in the common areas is a bit shabby (e.g., threadbare rug on the stairs) and the walls are thin, but overall we were happy with our stay there and would return.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nenyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

I stayed at the Sea View Inn for two nights and I have nothing to complain about.
The inn has a very cozy atmosphere with a fire place in the living room, wine and crackers served in the afternoon, and nice decoration. Breakfast was not hot, but nevertheless very tasty and satisfying.
The staff was wonderful. They made me really feel at home.
My room was very cute. It was nicely decorated and inviting.
The location is great, too. Just a short distance from the small downtown of Carmel and the beach.
Of course, when booking a b&b, there are some things that you need to keep in mind, such as that the bathroom might not necessarily be in the room itself. But that is usually the case. People who are surprised about these kind of things have obviously never stayed in a b&b.
Myself, I enjoy the feeling to staying at someone's house instead of a big, anonymous hotel.
I think you cannot find a better place in Carmel, especially given the price.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JeanneBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
619 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#5 of 25 in Carmel
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn

Address: Camino Real Btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $179 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sea View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing