We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea View Inn
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$159
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/26
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/30
Book now, pay at stay
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 05/27
$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
$150
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 05/27
Book now, pay at stay
$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/31
$144
$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
Free cancellation until 05/26
$520
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/27
$199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$605
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
189
56
15
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
56
15
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorglass of wineboiled eggssound of the waveswalk into townbreakfast was deliciousperfect staylovely roomvisit carmelfireplacemonterey
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 265 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent a night at the Sea View Inn and loved it. Our room (number 9) was really cute and comfy - shuttered windows, raised bed, roomy, en suite. On arrival, we were given a warm welcome and perfectly fine glass of wine (I read elsewhere that people thought it was poor - I like my wine). The inn is about a 10-15 min walk from the downtown and about 2 mins from the beach. It's super quiet and pitch black at night. Everyone in Carmel says hello and smiles but then I would do too if I was a gazillionaire living in an exclusive and secluded retreat (and if I was 60+). Don't hesitate in booking this inn!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamharrison31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Lovely front porch for hanging out, playing scrabble or eating a takeaway dessert, yummy breakfast, pleasant evening happy hour with wine and munchies. Room 9 was excellent, nice big room with en suite bathroom. Ladies recommended a lovely walk around the neighborhood which took us right down to the beach. Would recommend that you drive into Carmel, 5 mins, for dinner however as the town of Carmel does not use street lamps so it is very dark when walking back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pindawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at this incredibly charming B&B on the California road trip bit of our honeymoon. I found that the Monterey Peninsula was a tricky place to find the "perfect" place to stay - but got it right in the end with the Sea View Inn!

We booked room 9 which had an en-suite bathroom. It was finished in a gorgeous shade of green and you could hear the sea which made for a very soothing experience.

The overall experience of Sea View was just lovely; very friendly welcome from the hosts (and they had been great in the booking stages too), a beautiful home full on antiques, lots of information... and gorgeous breakfast in the dining room! We also loved the cheese and nibbles hour, before legging it down to the beach to watch the sunset.

Carmel felt like a very special place and the Sea View Inn really contributed to our experience.

Room Tip: We loved room 9 - not too small but not too pricey.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mervina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Such a wonderful inn. Margo is a fabulous host also! It has been an inn for at least 40 years so they know something about hospitality. Very comfortable and charming. We had the green room on the second floor in the front. Plenty of room and very comfortable. We love staying at B&B's as you meet the most interesting people. Warm and inviting living room/breakfast room. Deluxe continental breakfast with plenty of hot coffee. A short walk from the beach which we enjoyed so much. A very dog friendly town...at least 20 dogs romping on the beach when we were down there. Short walk to town and loved all of the adorable little houses and flowers. Thanks Margo...we'll be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Sea View Inn was a fantastic stay! I'll start by saying that Carmel is a beautiful location, the weather couldn't have been better, and it is definitely not an overcrowded area (which we loved). If you are seeking a romantic, scenic, low key getaway, Carmel is a place that you must visit. Based off of my visit, I highly recommend the Sea View Inn.

When my girlfriend and I arrived, we were greeted with a smile by a friendly woman named Margo. She proceeded to ask if we have ever visited the area before, and was more than willing to show us where certain places were for food as well as where the best views and locations are in the area. She was also kind enough to allow us to have an early check in.

We had a room on the 3rd floor with a partial ocean view and a private bathroom which was located in the room. The room was fantastic, very quaint and romantic, and you could hear the waves crash on the beach at night if you crack the window a bit which was amazing! I recommend booking an ocean view room on the 3rd floor if you don't mind walking up the stairs. The only critique I have of the Sea View Inn is that the walls are a bit thin. If you want to have intimate time, you may also end up shaking someone else's room (we were shook a bit at night by other guests, thought it was hilarious and continue to have the best sleep ever).

They offer a continental breakfast in the mornings from 8:30 to 9:30 AM and serve coffee as well. My favorite was when they offered a wine and cheese/crackers/salami tray from 5-7 PM. The wine was great, and everything they offered was presented in such a classy way and tasted fantastic. The bottom floor room for guests to hang out in is also very classy.

This place is certainly a throwback and the city is lovely. No big chain restaurants or starbucks coffee nearby, it is all locally owned businesses, which was very refreshing to see. I highly recommend giving Carmel a visit, and when you do, you would be selling yourself short if you didn't stay at the Sea View Inn.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room with partial ocean view and private bathroom is one I would highly recommend. Be careful selecting a room with a shared bathroom if you don't like to wait on others.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews